$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Art and Nicole
Couples
Long Beach, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great experience

We wanted to stay at a hotel that had more of a colonial feel. We saw pictures of the Morales hotel and couldn't believe it, especially after we priced it. We didn't want to get our hopes up, after all we were only paying $70 a night which is less than half the price of other hotels similar to the Morales. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the second we got there. We had a rough idea of what we wanted to do in Guadalajara but they sure guided us in the right direction. The room was very clean! Having a remote for the a/c was nice and was very quiet too. Gorgeous sitting area right in front of our room. We read reviews about the hotel being noisy at nights on the lower levels but we didn't experience any problems. We slept through our nights ok and noise was never an issue. The way the floor in the shower is built doesnt let the water drain correctly. It seems to puddle a bit when showering but still keeps water inside shower area. Not a big deal! Staying at hotel Morales was a great experience and would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try La Chata restaurant. Great food!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Mar 11, 2010

Business trip with a cultural ingredient

Great location, great service, frendly employees, and the price combined with the airfare is great. Downtown Guadalajara is beautifull and like in every city you have to be carfull if you go out at nights. The Hotel by itself is very nice with a colonial theam. They have Mexican music, good food, and tequila, what else do you expect?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can go everywhere from there through their taxi service at a dicent cost.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

Hotel Merales excellant

This was my first trip to Guadalajara. The Hotel was close to everything. I don't know why it's rated 3 star. We were pleasantly surprised to find out what a beautiful hotel it was. Everything was great. The breakfast buffet for 99 pesos was also good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Guadalajara. Perfect location, close to restaurants, shops, and the beautiful downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We liked the la Gorda restaurant better than the la Chata (accross the street) that everyone raved about. (I apologize form my spelling).

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
claudia e.
Couples
chula vista, ca
Mar 8, 2010

Lovely vacation. Hotel great location

We went to visit different cities around. Everything was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 21, 2007

Spanish style, Friendly, Clean

We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Morales in downtown Guadalajara. It was decorated in typical spanish style. The rooms were very clean and neat. It was near shopping and sights to see in the downtown area. The staff was very kind and helpful. The food in the hotel restraunt was very good. Also, there were good places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globe Travel
Friends
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Very close to all the action

I totally recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near all the action during the day and some night time party spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central texas
May 17, 2010

Great Place to stay

this hotel is a great stay and worth every pesos! it is save and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Juan, PR
Aug 2, 2007

Excellent stay

Hotel Morales is a very charming colonial hotel. Located in Central Guadalajara, its cleanliness and beauty contrast a little bit with the rest of the area. Room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was ok. I would certainly be back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Loreto
Jun 18, 2007

Great traveler's amenities

The Hotel Morales is a beautifully restored historic building, centrally located in Guadalahara centro. It is within walking distance to all of the major city sites, museums, cathedrals,etc. It is close to shooping, the mercado, and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant which we did not try. The rooms are spacious, well appointed. The bathrooms are clean with separate doors for shower and toilet. The hotel provides an inroom safe for valuables that responds to the key card. The lobby is very comfortable as well. We travel with our laptops and the wifi access was excellent in a room on the 3rd floor, with no pesky passwords. Staff was friendly and helpful with some English language speakers. There was an art exhibit off the lobby of local artists. We liked it so well that we have come back for another 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Great shopping and dining side trips are to Tlaquepaque and Tonala. It's a $6 cab ride to Tlaquepaque for good restaurants and all of the Mexican crafts, furnishing and dining that you can imagine. A little further out, for a $10 cab ride is Tonala with a great Sunday market.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Netherlands
Dec 28, 2010

Very nice hotel

Very beautiful and nice place to stay. Especially because of it´s history and walking distance to the main squares and cathedrale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top