$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foreign D.
San Francisco, CA
Mar 22, 2010

Hotel Morales in March

Great deal for the room and fantastic location. It is walking distance from several historic sights. The interior of the hotel is quite beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. On Thursday there was a mariachi band that played in the lobby until 10, which was a bit loud but I don't know how often they have live music. The rooms were a decent size and bigger than other places I have stayed. I highly recommend staying there for at least one night and I find it to be a great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a Guadalajara free weekly guidebook and use the map. A lot of the sites in downtown, such as cathedrals, theater, etc. are within blocks of each other and you will come across a lot of interesting statues and fountains along the way. The hotel staff is also good at giving recommendations. If interested in visiting Tequila, the bus to Tequila is a short taxi ride away.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teena
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

Even Better.

They have added a swimming pool and gym... so after all the good eating in Guadalajara you can work off a little of it... This is my second stay at this hotel and the customer service is excellent. I believe they work hard to make sure you have what you need. I will stay there again it is a perfect location to El Centro and to all the sightseeing spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brookline, MA
Mar 13, 2010

Hotel Merales excellant

This was my first trip to Guadalajara. The Hotel was close to everything. I don't know why it's rated 3 star. We were pleasantly surprised to find out what a beautiful hotel it was. Everything was great. The breakfast buffet for 99 pesos was also good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Guadalajara. Perfect location, close to restaurants, shops, and the beautiful downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We liked the la Gorda restaurant better than the la Chata (accross the street) that everyone raved about. (I apologize form my spelling).

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam M.
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great location and within walking distances to most historic attractions or short taxi ride, which were very available. The Hotel has been restored and upgraded beautifully. The lobby and sitting areas were amazing. Rooms were clean/staff very friendly and helpful. I had room in the back off the street, so very quiet and restful. Two computers in the business center were easily accessable. Went elsewhere to eat and for bar/lounge, as these two areas could use work. Food passable, but preferred La Goda or La Chata up the street. The one night we had drinks in the bar, it closed early. Mariachi entertainment only fair in the lounge. Appetisers were passable. Breakfast buffet passable, but again, would rather eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Open air market at Tonola was a gresat expierence. Biggest in world. Get there early, bring plenty of small denomination money. They often do not have change when they first open up. Bring a had, dress cool, and have a ball. Best market prices on items you will find, and plenty of them!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 23, 2008

good location

this hotel is in a good location, it is clean and very nice for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

it is close to the historic downtown area.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
weekend travelers
Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico
Mar 1, 2012

GDL Weekend Getaway

Beautiful Hotel!!! Close to Cathedral and Turibus. The room was very clean, quiet and air conditioning worked great!! Free bottled water in the room. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and the food is delicious, prices are good too. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the TuriBus system. Pay once and ride all day. Great shopping in Tlaquepaque and on Sundays in Tonala!!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hayward California
Jun 30, 2010

hotel morales gudalajara mexico

I enjoyed the location. the set up of the room was really nice. i stayed n room 212. it had a king bed and tv with closet in safe 2 nightstands beuautiful furniture. and a tv in room with bed. then u walk toward the back behind the bed area was a table with two chairs and another tv and bathroom n shower n sink. i like the idea of the shower being seperate from the toilet and the sink was seperate from the toilet n shower area. but the two tvs were awesome becuz if two guests were in the room u can watch different stuff. or if one guest wanted to sleep the other could go in the back an watch tv. awesome. and i luv the fact they spoke english very well.it had two little balconys one by the bed area and one in the back by the table. they were small balconys. u can only stand there , it would of been nice to pull a chair out n sit. there was a roof top viewing area which was beautiful for pictures and sitting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the cocina restaurant i think thats the name of it. the steak was great the cheese apetizers great.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dancing tom
Guadalajara, JA Mexico
Jun 22, 2012

Old-World flavor with modern ammenities

Walking into the lobby of this hotel is like taking a trip back in time. The architecture and interior lighting is stunning. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was completely adequate for me as well as a two day visit from my Mother. I can only imagine what the bigger rooms and suites are like. The staff were professional, friendly, and accessible. I had several special requests (information and services) and each of them were researched and attended to. If you want to really feel and live the history and culture of this magnificent town, a stay in this hotel will be the spice that brings it alive! PS. Had there were a choice of six stars,.. my rating might have been a bit higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Always carry a personal sized packet of tissues. Toilet paper can be hard to find in public places.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maricosa
Los Angeles
Aug 30, 2012

Great mini vacation

It was great, we went for a wedding and got an experience we will never forgot. It's located right in the middle. Restaurants, parks, museums are all walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at "El Mexicano" great restaurant. It has great staff, food and drinks.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTere
Las Vegas NV
Mar 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We love the location in center of everything! Walking distance to Historical sights great food and shopping definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top