$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
233 reviews
great

it nice just need some entermiment at night staff if good nice room interet good See full review

  • luis g.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great Vacation

The hotel was great. Room was very clean and comfortable and everyone was very friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Mayra
  • Jan 19, 2015
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
May 2, 2011

"The Most Beautiful Hotel"

I was amazed upon entering the hotel how beautiful and authentic to the history of the City this hotel portrayed. This was probably one of the best first impressions that I have had on a hotel and staff. Our room was equally as beautiful and comfortable after a long day of traveling just to get there. I could have just stayed in my room the entire time. The hotel is centrally based to where walking is easy (during the day) and taxi rides are inexpensive to get around. The streets are filled with locals going about their day and people watching in the square with live music is a must. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and will be passing along the "Must Stay" advice to any of my friends that plan on going on a trip to Guadalajara. Side Note: If you are going to the airport from this hotel definitely take the hotel shuttle van instead of a local taxi. For only 30 more peso's you get the comfort of air-conditioning and a super comfortable ride. The hotel and staff are a fantastic group of people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of walking to take you around the gorgeous city of Guadalajara and all its charm. You can easily get to all of the places the City has to offer from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teena
Business
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

Even Better.

They have added a swimming pool and gym... so after all the good eating in Guadalajara you can work off a little of it... This is my second stay at this hotel and the customer service is excellent. I believe they work hard to make sure you have what you need. I will stay there again it is a perfect location to El Centro and to all the sightseeing spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Sep 5, 2007

The experience was great ...

The experience was great from the staff, from the front desk to house keeping very friendly. The hotel was beautiful and it made you feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants are in walking distance, the church's and plaza are all in waking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 12, 2007

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Hotel Morales Historical was amazing. The architecture is very traditional of older Mexican buildings. The staff was very helpful and pleasant upon our arrival. It's location was great. We were able to walk to several of the city's attractions as they were only a few blocks away. Plenty of restuarants very close by. The room was very nice and very clean. The only downside to the hotel were the beds. The mattress was extremely firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks there are two restaurants that we really enjoyed. The food, the service, and the price were great. La Chata and La Gorda were some of our favorites. The food was delicious! There were others in the same area to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2008

Very family friendly

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial is conveniently located in downtown Guadalajara. My wife and I liked the fact that we could walk in any direction and immediately run into a tourist sights, and restaurants. The staff was great and very helpful. The bed was very comfortable. And I liked that they provided internet access and an iron and ironing board, and other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown plaza is only a shortwalk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel in Centro historico

This hotel is a gem. The locals we met agreed that it was a lovely property, much nicer than some of the more well-known hotels in Centro of Guadalajara. It is an historic building that sat empty for almost 30 years (because of the downturn in the downtown area) until it was completely restored in 2003-2005. Service was very friendly and helpful (even with my miserable Spanish, in a city that does not have as many English-speakers as some other cities in Mexico). It is close to everything downtown, as well as to stops for the major tourist bus routes. It is not a particularly large hotel, which is a plus in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2008

great locatiion and rich history

The Hotel Morales turned out to be better than I expected for the price. The room was comfortable and was clean. The room had all the amenities such as hanging space, dryer, iron and other. the location was great since it was walking distance to downtown. The only thing i found wrong was that It was noisy even after midnight, it seemed like many of the guests were still up and making noises. Overall I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are theaters, shopping places, restaurants and clubs nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schenectady
Aug 20, 2008

Very relaxing

The Hotel Morales is an oasis of peace in the jungle of asphalt and buildings that is typical of Guadalajara. The Check in and the cleaniness of the rooms are outstanding. Room service is very accurate and speedy. The Hotel is central and within walking distance to Guadalajara center. The only bad thing about the Hotel is the dining... a little overpriced and not really good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just outside the door you will find thousands of shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Imperial
Jul 9, 2008

Great Location!

Hotel Morales is within walking distance (3 blocks) from the main historic sites, theatre, museums...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the place across the hotel. They are open from 7am-1am daily. Great price and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 21, 2008

Amazing Accommodations

Hotel Moralis what centrally located and in the middle of everything. Beautiful architecture is the most stricky aspect of this place. I kept pinching myself to make sure I wasn't dream.. The room are very spacious and clean. Super FAST service for everything. The best stay I have had for the money. You can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You will be in te middle of everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top