$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traxxed
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

Superb

Everything about this hotel is just superb. The live piano player in the lobby in the afternoons, the staff, the pool, the details. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercado de San Juan de Dios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arturo M
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 2, 2010

Great Experience at hotel Morales

Since we got to the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent. Everything was perfect, we were able to visit all the places we wanted, and we are really looking forward to going back and staying at the Hotel Morales, the best deal in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to Casa Bariachi, a great place to eat dinner while you enjoy a live show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjmic
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2011

Great stay!!!

Great stay. comfortable, beautiful, helpful, central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jul 26, 2010

Great location, lovely hotel!

Great hotel and they are adding 30 more rooms in the building next door. The staff was very helpful. A lively trio played in the lobby on Wednesday and Thursday evenings. I read previous reviews before making the reservations and the information was very useful. La Chata, and La Gorda were great places to enjoy well made typical food. The bubbling beef molcajete at the Maestranza (the famous bullfighting bar)was yummy and they had an enjoyable non traditional flamenco group performing. Bariachi with folkloric and mariachi performances was worth it. The filet in mole negro was fabulous. We went to two performances at the Teatro Degollado, a gem of a theater with excellent acoustics. Ask for a seat from which the stage view is not obstructed by the balcony pillars. The three of us agreed that the whole experience is worth a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel Marquez
Business
Ventura, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Surprise quality in Downtown Guadalajara

The bellhop, receptionist, and all other staff members with whom we interacted were very personable and friendly. The location of the hotel is terrific and the restoration of the interior and rooms was impeccable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Sep 24, 2010

gReaT!

THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME STAYING AT THIS HOTEL, THE HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL!.. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE VERY FRIENDLY !AND THE PRICE WAS PERFECT! VERY NICE & CLEAN ROOM ! AC WAS FANTASTIC! A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE WILL STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN ITS A 5 STAR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam M.
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great location and within walking distances to most historic attractions or short taxi ride, which were very available. The Hotel has been restored and upgraded beautifully. The lobby and sitting areas were amazing. Rooms were clean/staff very friendly and helpful. I had room in the back off the street, so very quiet and restful. Two computers in the business center were easily accessable. Went elsewhere to eat and for bar/lounge, as these two areas could use work. Food passable, but preferred La Goda or La Chata up the street. The one night we had drinks in the bar, it closed early. Mariachi entertainment only fair in the lounge. Appetisers were passable. Breakfast buffet passable, but again, would rather eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Open air market at Tonola was a gresat expierence. Biggest in world. Get there early, bring plenty of small denomination money. They often do not have change when they first open up. Bring a had, dress cool, and have a ball. Best market prices on items you will find, and plenty of them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deadstump
Business
Albuquerque
Jun 5, 2009

Cool Historic Hotel

Picked this hotel off previous reviews. Most reviews nailed it. This is a really picturesque hotel, very elegant and centrally located. The staff was friendly and helpful, although my needs are really simple. Got some good tips on dining, but they really aren't up to speed on nicer places nearby. If you like quaint hotels this is a good bet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's some great night spots with upstairs open air balcony just west of the plaza. It's a moderate walk but beats the boring restaurants near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MX traveler
Business
Seattle WA
Sep 25, 2011

Central hotel that's close to everything

Our trip was a quick 2 day excursion to the major histiorical sites and shopping in the San Juan de Dios Mercado. The hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. It's a great historical building and our room was clean and updated. We had a great stay and would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the San Juan de Dios Mercado (artesanias, food, etc) and neighboring jewelry markets for great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
May 2, 2011

"The Most Beautiful Hotel"

I was amazed upon entering the hotel how beautiful and authentic to the history of the City this hotel portrayed. This was probably one of the best first impressions that I have had on a hotel and staff. Our room was equally as beautiful and comfortable after a long day of traveling just to get there. I could have just stayed in my room the entire time. The hotel is centrally based to where walking is easy (during the day) and taxi rides are inexpensive to get around. The streets are filled with locals going about their day and people watching in the square with live music is a must. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and will be passing along the "Must Stay" advice to any of my friends that plan on going on a trip to Guadalajara. Side Note: If you are going to the airport from this hotel definitely take the hotel shuttle van instead of a local taxi. For only 30 more peso's you get the comfort of air-conditioning and a super comfortable ride. The hotel and staff are a fantastic group of people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of walking to take you around the gorgeous city of Guadalajara and all its charm. You can easily get to all of the places the City has to offer from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top