$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arturo M
San Diego, CA
Apr 2, 2010

Great Experience at hotel Morales

Since we got to the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent. Everything was perfect, we were able to visit all the places we wanted, and we are really looking forward to going back and staying at the Hotel Morales, the best deal in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to Casa Bariachi, a great place to eat dinner while you enjoy a live show

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TITO AUGIE
CHICAGO IL.
Dec 8, 2010

it is one of the best if not the best

it was very good it was centric, you can go anywhere from there was very clean @ afordable I hope to go there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
H the G
New York City
Jan 16, 2011

Hotel Morales

We stayed at Hotel Morales for 11 days and extended 2 more days because of a flight cancellation due to weather conditions. We had a quiet suite of two rooms and one bed. Room was immaculately clean and maid service daily and early in the day. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly from the bellboys to the waiters. Guests were international . Many Mexicans but Europeans and Asians as well. Americans and Canadians also. The lobby was decorated for Christmas and entertainment provided many nights. There was even a piano player for breakfast. There were several people always at the front as anyone came or left and all staff seem to know of all guests. Inner gate was locked at night for extra security and at least one person usually more was always at the front desk. Location could not be better. Only several blocks from the main plaza and another large plaza next to the hotel where buses depart for many locations. An express bus on Independencia was a ten minute walk from the hotel. There are a lot of things to do in Guadalajara. The hotel arranges all day tours to Lake Chapala and Tequila . A mini bus picks you up at the hotel and returns you in PM. Tours were well paced and tour guides knowledgable and fun. People on tour were international and tour relaxed and enjoyable.. There are inexpensive double decker bus tours to city, Zapopan, and Tlacapaque. Easy transportation by bus to Tonala close to hotel as well as to the zoo and El Mirador.Subway too. Market La Liberdad (huge and super clean) is within easy walking distance and one of the biggest in Mexico. Guadalajara is a beautiful walkable city. Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. The weather was in the 80's every day, a welcome respite from the cold northeast winters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an authentic meal, go to Las Nuevas Esquinas 5 blocks from the hotel on 285 Colon. Restaurant has inside and outside tables and owner is usually on site. Specialities are goat and lamb and delicious drinks served from large glass containers in full view. Multiple appetizers are offered to clients while awaiting your food.. beans, chips, pickled onion salad, pickled carrots. All delicious.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariachi lover
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2010

Great hotel and great service!

Beautiful hotel with great history; famous Toreros and actors such as Maria Felix have stayed there. They've done an awesome job with its upkeep since its restoration. Staff is very friendly and helpful, specially the front desk. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Historical District. In Mexico, one should always start one's conversation with a "Buenos dias, tardes, o noches" and "how is your day going?" Remember, a "But I'm an American" mentality will not get you far when you are visiting their country. This will make the biggest difference in your entire experience in Guadalajara. Minor downfall was taxi cab they called for us charged us double his normal rate. On our way to the airport, cab driver kept asking where we lived and once we told him, he changed the price he would normally charge his passengers. More our fault because we never asked a price from the beginning; we assumed he had a meter running. This hotel rates a 5 star in our opinion and should try to watch out for its clientele; knowing that most are from out of town and may be clueless how much one should pay for a cab ride. Our entire experience with this hotel was amazing and we will stay there every time we go to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are double decker buses that provide tours around the city. One stop you can jump on is located in "Rotonda de los Jaliscienses" right next to the Catedral Metropolitana.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Las Vegas
Oct 17, 2008

Great Place in Historic Center

The Hotel was beautiful,the staff was very attentive, We had a great housekeeper that was very attentive and professional. The hotel has free WIFI which was a great plus for me since I was able to to keep in touch with what I needed in the US. The only minus I could give this hotel and its only minor, was the fact that they don't have ice buckets or ice on the floors, room service was very helpful in bringing ice, but still is something that could be fixed easily. Banks are nearby and are very safe with guards all of the time. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, I'm sure to come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street on the corner you will find the best Tacos in town go towards downtown and you will find La Chata great for breakfast and lunch, all of these places are very clean and very inexpensive!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel Marquez
Ventura, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Surprise quality in Downtown Guadalajara

The bellhop, receptionist, and all other staff members with whom we interacted were very personable and friendly. The location of the hotel is terrific and the restoration of the interior and rooms was impeccable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the traveling deacon
Hayward, California
Jan 13, 2011

This is Colonial Guadalajara!

The moment you step into the atrium lobby you begin to realize how special this place is. The staff was great and I felt at home right from the start. I awoke early most mornings and the night bellman brought me coffee and we talked about the hotel and all about the treasures of Jalisco and all of Mexico. This is just an example of me feeling right at home in a place I had never been to before. If in Guadalajara STAY HERE !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Tequila, Lake Chapala and especially Mazamitla and also walk around town and take the Tapatio bus tour of the city.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LOS ANGELES, CA
Sep 24, 2010

gReaT!

THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME STAYING AT THIS HOTEL, THE HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL!.. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE VERY FRIENDLY !AND THE PRICE WAS PERFECT! VERY NICE & CLEAN ROOM ! AC WAS FANTASTIC! A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE WILL STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN ITS A 5 STAR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 12, 2007

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Hotel Morales Historical was amazing. The architecture is very traditional of older Mexican buildings. The staff was very helpful and pleasant upon our arrival. It's location was great. We were able to walk to several of the city's attractions as they were only a few blocks away. Plenty of restuarants very close by. The room was very nice and very clean. The only downside to the hotel were the beds. The mattress was extremely firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks there are two restaurants that we really enjoyed. The food, the service, and the price were great. La Chata and La Gorda were some of our favorites. The food was delicious! There were others in the same area to choose from.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top