$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
weekend travelers
Business
Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico
Mar 1, 2012

GDL Weekend Getaway

Beautiful Hotel!!! Close to Cathedral and Turibus. The room was very clean, quiet and air conditioning worked great!! Free bottled water in the room. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and the food is delicious, prices are good too. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the TuriBus system. Pay once and ride all day. Great shopping in Tlaquepaque and on Sundays in Tonala!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lonny Too
Business
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Mar 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

I return to this hotel always when I stay in Guadalajara. This Hotel is very Eligant!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a must see. It is a short walk but this Market is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucsab
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

I love this hotel

It's the second time that i stay at Hotel Morales, and i love staying there as i did the first time. The rooms are confortable and clean, my only complaint is that they are a little dark, the beds are soft, the bathrooms are new. The architecture of the building is amazing, the staff is very nice. I love the 24hr room service, if you get hungry at 2am there's food available. The location is great, you are close to everything, just 3 blocks away from the Cathedral and all the buses stop close to the hotel. I will stay there again if i go back to Gdl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magobrillo
Business
Orange, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Third Stay at Hotel Morales

Very nice decor -- colonial style, columns, arches, antique style furniture. Free internet, and the speed was excellent -- better than my cable modem at home. Small pool and weight room on the roof. Larger than normal safe, and nothing disappeared during our stay. Ask for a window as not all rooms have a window. The advantage of not having a window is no street noise, so you need to decide what is more important to you. The main problem with no window in the room is no sense of the time of day, which may be perfect if you want to sleep in with no sound. Food is good but not the best. Go to La Chata down the street on the opposite side of the road for excellent, excellent, affordable food (but be prepared to wait in a long line). The taco shop across from the hotel is also good and inexpensive, but sit away from the sidewalk to avoid beggers. We typically ate breakfast at Hotel Morales for the convenience of their buffet, which again was decent (much better than what you would get at a typical US hotel). Lots of good stores and shops within walking distance as well as the Guadalajara downtown sites to see. On this trip, everything worked on our trip. It seems common in Mexico that at least something needs to be serviced in your room no matter what hotel it is -- not this time, but I think that was just good luck. We have stayed at other hotels in Guadalajara, but we always stay at Hotel Morales if there is space available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dancing tom
Business
Guadalajara, JA Mexico
Jun 22, 2012

Old-World flavor with modern ammenities

Walking into the lobby of this hotel is like taking a trip back in time. The architecture and interior lighting is stunning. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was completely adequate for me as well as a two day visit from my Mother. I can only imagine what the bigger rooms and suites are like. The staff were professional, friendly, and accessible. I had several special requests (information and services) and each of them were researched and attended to. If you want to really feel and live the history and culture of this magnificent town, a stay in this hotel will be the spice that brings it alive! PS. Had there were a choice of six stars,.. my rating might have been a bit higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Always carry a personal sized packet of tissues. Toilet paper can be hard to find in public places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larskey
Business
kansas city, mo
Aug 17, 2012

great find

Liked everything about it except the bar. Never seemed to have a bartender, clean. Comfy. Helpful staff. Good food. Exceptional room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maricosa
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 30, 2012

Great mini vacation

It was great, we went for a wedding and got an experience we will never forgot. It's located right in the middle. Restaurants, parks, museums are all walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at "El Mexicano" great restaurant. It has great staff, food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heybrian.com
Business
San Francisco
Sep 5, 2012

Excellent ambiance, location, price, vibe

For my first time to Guadalajara for tourism, this place was perfect. It has the wow factor when you walk in, it's clean, the rooms are nice, and they even have a heated pool on the roof. You can walk everywhere, and there is a taqueria across the street. We took a corner room, #218, that had three balconies. Noise was no issue in this room as the balcony doors were all double glass. It's a great hotel, the staff are nice and for anyone staying for pleasure, I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location with great restaurants and sights nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K future mom
Business
Mexico
Nov 20, 2012

Wonderfull hotel!

Great location, close to centro. Very nice room and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top