$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Mar 9, 2009

great value!

We had a great time. Street in front of the hotel was being torn up because of 2010 PAN AM games construction . But room was large and comfortable and extremely reasonable-staff was friendly and location was perfect for exploring the historic district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pitufo
Business
Los angeles
May 8, 2011

again, very convenient

everything was perfect, service, attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2011

Charming hotel, attentive staff

This an attractive, charming hotel built in the 19th century and recently restored. The staff are helpful, the food is very good, and the location is in the heart of the historical district. My room was comfortable and well-kept. There were some problems with the wireless internet connection in my room and others. The thick walls block the signal. If you need internet (I was there on business and required it), ask for an ethernet cable at the dest, or bring one yourself. There was an ethernet jack in my room. They will provide you a cable for a refundable deposit of 100 pesos. I enjoyed my stay and looked forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Gorda" restaurant has great food and good prices. It's just one block down the street from the front door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan Sinaloa
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Old Hotel.

With choice of a old hotel you have to give up some of the nice modern things. Like showers working well, doors closing well, floor nosiey and just being old. The hotel is old and have to relize that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to everything. Gold and Silver market a must see. Tons of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Gate, CA
Jun 2, 2009

Great Holiday

We had a great stay at this Hotel. We went to Guadaljara for a wedding and the Hotel's location was center of all our weekend activities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel's location was center of all our weekend activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
May 11, 2011

Old Hotel with new upgrades

Very old hotel but nice. Walking distance to most things you would want to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a large market with lots to buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firemankerry
Business
Sunnyvale, CA.
Jan 24, 2010

great hotel with a couple of minuses

Mixed reviews on the front desk staff. The previous hotel in Ajijic had retained our Visa card in error. They sent a driver but the front desk at Hotel Morales refused to accept responsibility and the driver had to make a second trip the next day. Also, for an upscale hotel, they should be able to change dollars into pesos (they ran out). The hotel only has two computers for internet access and they were down a lot of the time. The bell staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel is beautiful and in a central, safe location. The Cathedral and most of the historic buildings are only 3 blocks away. The food in the restaurant is excellent and only about 15% more that the restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The San Juan De Dios Market is about a 20 minute walk or a $2.00 cab ride. The cab ride coming back is $4.00 as it takes a long time to turn around (no U-turns allowed)in Guadalajara. There is a good selection of local wares and great food stalls. Leather purses are a particularly good value. Don't miss the ceiling mural of Father Hidalgo in the Governors Headquarters. Another don't miss is Tlaquepaque which is a medium distance taxi ride. We took the Hop on Hop off bus that only charges $9.00. Go in the late afternoon and stay until evening. If we had it to do over, we would have stayed at least one night in Tlaquepaque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In town 2days
Business
Corona CA
Aug 10, 2011

Very nice..

Although this trip was very short, most employees at the hotel were very nice and accommodating, w/the exception of one courtesy desk employee, although he was accommodating he was not very pleasant. Kudos to the bell boys.. Yes I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the Historical sites are very local.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2007

Great value for the money!!!

This hotel is very grand looking in the Lobby. There are breautiful arches, and a magnificant fountain in the lobby. The location is great and cabs are always at the door. It is very close to some great resttuarants. The restuarant is OK for breakfast, but if you wanyt a great evcening meal, there are better places than the hotel. The rooms are adequate, but the beds are extrememly HARD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The front desk was very gracious in locating some beautiful restuarants, and the cab fair was always less thean $10.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Morales -- Very Good for the Price

This was our second stay at Hotel Morales. We chose Hotel Morales for it high ratings, decent price and its downtown location, which is close to family we were visiting. The building has been beautifully restored to its (perceived) original colonial past, though I doubt it was as nice back then. On our first stay in a junior suite, we had a balcony overlooking the street. It was nice to have a window but the streets get noisy in rush hour. We took a regular suite on our second stay. This room was among the many rooms that have no outdoor view due it being adjacent to another building. This room was much more quiet, but not being able to see the sun come up can be disconcerting. It is similar to an inside cabin on a cruise ship. We tended to sleep later than we wanted but were well rested. The toilet leaked when we first arrived. They fixed it while we were gone for the day and had no further trouble. The A/C had a mildew smell. We didn't ask them to fix it. I figured there wouldn't be much they could do about it. Typical of Mexico, they're cost conscious, we always had to ask for more than the two sets towels provided (4 of us), and you have to put your hotel key in a slot to keep the electricity on, and they don't provide you with enough drinking water, but at least it was free unlike most hotels. Plenty of people speak English. The food is good and reasonably priced -- I didn't get sick this trip, which means I was lucky everywhere I ate this trip. Finally, our room was cleaned up well each day thanks to the daily small tip to the housekeeper. We'll almost certainly stay there again next time we go visit family in Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the restaurants with lots of people waiting to get inside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top