$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heybrian.com
San Francisco
Sep 5, 2012

Excellent ambiance, location, price, vibe

For my first time to Guadalajara for tourism, this place was perfect. It has the wow factor when you walk in, it's clean, the rooms are nice, and they even have a heated pool on the roof. You can walk everywhere, and there is a taqueria across the street. We took a corner room, #218, that had three balconies. Noise was no issue in this room as the balcony doors were all double glass. It's a great hotel, the staff are nice and for anyone staying for pleasure, I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location with great restaurants and sights nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 27, 2007

Great location; everything you could need.

The location of the Hotel Morales and it's amenities including internet was terrific. We were able to make all our necessary connections and appointments during our 2 day stay. Our last day there we stayed at another hotel and we were not as comfortable. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sites and historacal attractions are close if you have a few extra minutes. The Catedral and town square are literally within 2-3 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Jul 23, 2007

fun place to stay

Great Staff, Clean Rooms, Good Location, Friendly Atmosphere and Very Helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

easy shopping and good well priced resturaunts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 21, 2008

Clean and personel very friendly

What's there to say? I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Best Place to stay in Guadalajara MX

We loved everything about the Hotel, the buffet in the morning was top notch. The location of the Hotel is great for walking around this great city. They picked us up at the Airport and were very friendly. They did everything they could to make our stay with them a great experience. We will be back to this Hotel soon. Them music in the lobby at night was great. They speak great English and do everything possable to m ake you happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at "La Chata" it is about 2 short blocks from the Hotel and it is great. The fresh made corn tortilla are to die for. The service and food is Bomb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariachi lover
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2010

Great hotel and great service!

Beautiful hotel with great history; famous Toreros and actors such as Maria Felix have stayed there. They've done an awesome job with its upkeep since its restoration. Staff is very friendly and helpful, specially the front desk. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Historical District. In Mexico, one should always start one's conversation with a "Buenos dias, tardes, o noches" and "how is your day going?" Remember, a "But I'm an American" mentality will not get you far when you are visiting their country. This will make the biggest difference in your entire experience in Guadalajara. Minor downfall was taxi cab they called for us charged us double his normal rate. On our way to the airport, cab driver kept asking where we lived and once we told him, he changed the price he would normally charge his passengers. More our fault because we never asked a price from the beginning; we assumed he had a meter running. This hotel rates a 5 star in our opinion and should try to watch out for its clientele; knowing that most are from out of town and may be clueless how much one should pay for a cab ride. Our entire experience with this hotel was amazing and we will stay there every time we go to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are double decker buses that provide tours around the city. One stop you can jump on is located in "Rotonda de los Jaliscienses" right next to the Catedral Metropolitana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the sisters
Business
Las Vegas Nevada
Jul 18, 2010

wonderful experience

Friendly staff, and wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Christina
Business
Berkeley, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Absolutely Fabulous Hotel!

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel in one of Mexico's most beautiful and exciting cities! Located in the historical center, the location could not be better. You can walk to all the sights (and there are many), and great restaurants and shopping are everywhere. The hotel itself is a colonial beauty in excellent condition. The rooms are large and lovely and the beds and pillows are luxurious. Most of all, the staff was super friendly and helpful and committed to meeting our every need. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mercado Libertad is a short walk away and is an excellent place to eat breakfast (I would not recommend the hotel restaurant). If you like local color and excitement along with great food at rock bottom prices, you'll enjoy this experience. Mmmm... chilaquiles with eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice for less than a small latte at Starbucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phattyflowers
Business
Iowa
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel Morales

I stayed here last year also! Again- they are a great staff and wonderful place to stay. Everyone practically treats you like royalty! The restaurant/bar are great and pricing is more than fair. I would not stay anyplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chikys
Business
Wilmington, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Perfect Place in Guadalajara

The hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Guadalajara. The hotel was near many wonderful sights. The stay there was amazing. The workers there were very attentive and respectful. They would always go clean our room, have our car ready, among many other things. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We truly recommend this hotel. Next time we go to Guadalajara, we will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

catedral,hospicio cabanas,and many other places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go Now
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great centrally located hotel with atmosphere

I found this hotel through an on-line service and booked it. It couldn't have been better! The hotel is in a converted colonial style house, with interior courtyards. Decorating is very tasteful and comfortable. The room was well lit. The breakfast buffet is a reasonable value, and the hotel is only 3 blocks from the cathedral. They have a small fitness center on the roof deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top