$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
219 reviews
Short stay

Great hotel, very spacious room and close to everything. I wish we could have stay longer. See full review

  • Marcos G.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Great location

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in the downtown area. Easy walk to restaurants and enjoy... See full review

  • Robert
  • Jul 8, 2015
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demaws
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location

You get to stay in this nicely remodeled historical building - gorgeously architected and tastefully decorated. Location is perfect for tourists, central to all the sights and all the neighborhoods. Staff is very friendly and helpful - more geared towards providing great service than out to make a buck (hello Puerto Vallarta hotels). Stayed for 3 nights in Jan 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata on the same street is definitely the best Mexocsn food I've had..

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequentworldtraveler
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 27, 2014

Great hotel

Despite the unattractive outwardly appearance, the hotel is great with a nice touch. We had a room with the window that opened out, so we could see outside the hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.Pon
Business
San Francisco ,CA
Mar 23, 2014

One of the BEST hotels I've ever stayed in !!!!

Checking in was a snap. I had read other reviews about this hotel. Not many bad reviews. All of the bad reviews never happened to us. Inside rooms hallway were not dark at all. Lights had motion sensors on them. Wifi signals were great on the inside room too !!! A plus for us. Front desk did say, if we didn't like the room. They would move us. I have travel a lot in my days but I have never slept this good away from home ever!!! Beds were great. Room was very clean. Restaurant downstairs had great service and good music on Tuesdays and Thursday. Great location !!! Close to everything !! Walking distance to Churches, shopping, currency exchange 2 blocks away, other good restaurants like El Gordo and Chata"s a block and half away from the Hotel. Can't say enough good things about the Hotel. The pool and gym was nice too. Just a wonderful place and great Vacation over all. Planning on coming back next year !!! Don't know why they gave this place a 4 star. I would have given this hotel more than 5 stars plus !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Currency exchange stores are 2 blocks away. Better exchange rates there for your money. The Hotel front desk will tell you that too.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise Boss
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Apr 6, 2014

Arizona Girls Weekend

We visited from a Wednesday to Saturday and every second in the hotel was amazing. The hotel is beyond quaint and the staff is very friendly. The food is delicious though we only ate breakfast there. We were walking distance from the main center in town and its historic landmarks like El Teatro Degollado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant Barriachi has amazing food and service. Best mariachi in town and the restaurants decorated with amazing traditional pieces.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phattyflowers
Business
Iowa
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel Morales

I stayed here last year also! Again- they are a great staff and wonderful place to stay. Everyone practically treats you like royalty! The restaurant/bar are great and pricing is more than fair. I would not stay anyplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chikys
Business
Wilmington, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Perfect Place in Guadalajara

The hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Guadalajara. The hotel was near many wonderful sights. The stay there was amazing. The workers there were very attentive and respectful. They would always go clean our room, have our car ready, among many other things. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We truly recommend this hotel. Next time we go to Guadalajara, we will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

catedral,hospicio cabanas,and many other places.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go Now
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great centrally located hotel with atmosphere

I found this hotel through an on-line service and booked it. It couldn't have been better! The hotel is in a converted colonial style house, with interior courtyards. Decorating is very tasteful and comfortable. The room was well lit. The breakfast buffet is a reasonable value, and the hotel is only 3 blocks from the cathedral. They have a small fitness center on the roof deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lonny Too
Business
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Mar 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

I return to this hotel always when I stay in Guadalajara. This Hotel is very Eligant!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a must see. It is a short walk but this Market is a must see.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucsab
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

I love this hotel

It's the second time that i stay at Hotel Morales, and i love staying there as i did the first time. The rooms are confortable and clean, my only complaint is that they are a little dark, the beds are soft, the bathrooms are new. The architecture of the building is amazing, the staff is very nice. I love the 24hr room service, if you get hungry at 2am there's food available. The location is great, you are close to everything, just 3 blocks away from the Cathedral and all the buses stop close to the hotel. I will stay there again if i go back to Gdl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magobrillo
Business
Orange, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Third Stay at Hotel Morales

Very nice decor -- colonial style, columns, arches, antique style furniture. Free internet, and the speed was excellent -- better than my cable modem at home. Small pool and weight room on the roof. Larger than normal safe, and nothing disappeared during our stay. Ask for a window as not all rooms have a window. The advantage of not having a window is no street noise, so you need to decide what is more important to you. The main problem with no window in the room is no sense of the time of day, which may be perfect if you want to sleep in with no sound. Food is good but not the best. Go to La Chata down the street on the opposite side of the road for excellent, excellent, affordable food (but be prepared to wait in a long line). The taco shop across from the hotel is also good and inexpensive, but sit away from the sidewalk to avoid beggers. We typically ate breakfast at Hotel Morales for the convenience of their buffet, which again was decent (much better than what you would get at a typical US hotel). Lots of good stores and shops within walking distance as well as the Guadalajara downtown sites to see. On this trip, everything worked on our trip. It seems common in Mexico that at least something needs to be serviced in your room no matter what hotel it is -- not this time, but I think that was just good luck. We have stayed at other hotels in Guadalajara, but we always stay at Hotel Morales if there is space available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top