$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donmigueldelrio
Salem OR
Feb 8, 2013

The best historic center Hotel.

I chose Hotel Morales based on internet research and location. Hotel Morales is an exceptional hotel: friendly and efficient staff, a welcome reception, an excellent restaurant, immaculate rooms and common areas, live piano music at breakfast, informed concierge,..the list goes on and on. I would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make a point to taxi to restaurant El Bariachi for the Mariachi music. Performances at 3;30 pm and 9:30 pm. Don't miss it.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Art and Nicole
Long Beach, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great experience

We wanted to stay at a hotel that had more of a colonial feel. We saw pictures of the Morales hotel and couldn't believe it, especially after we priced it. We didn't want to get our hopes up, after all we were only paying $70 a night which is less than half the price of other hotels similar to the Morales. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the second we got there. We had a rough idea of what we wanted to do in Guadalajara but they sure guided us in the right direction. The room was very clean! Having a remote for the a/c was nice and was very quiet too. Gorgeous sitting area right in front of our room. We read reviews about the hotel being noisy at nights on the lower levels but we didn't experience any problems. We slept through our nights ok and noise was never an issue. The way the floor in the shower is built doesnt let the water drain correctly. It seems to puddle a bit when showering but still keeps water inside shower area. Not a big deal! Staying at hotel Morales was a great experience and would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try La Chata restaurant. Great food!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 13, 2010

Great place to stay!

Very nice rooms for the price! The hacienda-style atmosphere with its great colors and columns was more than expected. I'd definitely return for another stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great access to the downtown area catherdrals and other attractions!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
Mar 27, 2008

Prime location

The Hotel Morales was very comfortable and clean. The rooms were well appointed. The staff was friendly and courteous. This historic building is beautiful and located just minutes (walking) from other historical buildings, i.e., museums, cathedrals, government buildings. There are very good restaurants and shopping nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Netherlands
Dec 28, 2010

Very nice hotel

Very beautiful and nice place to stay. Especially because of it´s history and walking distance to the main squares and cathedrale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the traveling deacon
Hayward, California
Jan 13, 2011

This is Colonial Guadalajara!

The moment you step into the atrium lobby you begin to realize how special this place is. The staff was great and I felt at home right from the start. I awoke early most mornings and the night bellman brought me coffee and we talked about the hotel and all about the treasures of Jalisco and all of Mexico. This is just an example of me feeling right at home in a place I had never been to before. If in Guadalajara STAY HERE !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Tequila, Lake Chapala and especially Mazamitla and also walk around town and take the Tapatio bus tour of the city.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Win123
San Pancho, NAY
Feb 11, 2013

Elegant hotel at a good price

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the historical center. Because we were driving an oversized van and were unable to find parking, the hotel let us stay in their loading zone for 3 days. The staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2007

Great location in a beautiful structure

Hotel Morales is an older building with a colorful past. It was a favorite hotel for visiting bullfighters and entertainment stars. The hotel has recently undergone an extensive remodeling and renovation that has retained the charm and architectural integrity of the historic building. The place is beautiful and has all the modern amenities that one would need. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in making dining recommendations and fulfilling our requests. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The only complaint is the beds are very firm; although I slept well, my wife said she did not due to the matress. The location of the Morales is great for those interested in the historic center of Guadalajara. You are within easy walking distance to the cathedral (only 3 blocks), other historic churches, restaurants, beautiful parks, the market(largest in the world), and other shopping. More trendy upscale restaurants and modern shopping malls are in the Chapultepec Minerva area of town just a short taxi ride away. Also the hotel has free internet service for guests and will happily arrange tours to Tequila, Lake Chapala and other places. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a taxi to Tonala (small town that is now a suburb of Guadalajara) on Thursday or Sunday for market day. Arrive by 9:00 as it becomes very crowded. This is a huge market with everything from handicrafts to t-shirts. Taxi will cost about $6. Good traditional mexican food can be found at La Chata only one block from Hotel Morales.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nube viajera
Los Angeles
Jun 29, 2014

Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything. The room was very comfortable. The facilities are impeccable and the staff was great. Definitely will go back !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjmic
los angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2011

Great stay!!!

Great stay. comfortable, beautiful, helpful, central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top