$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesaron
Business
Ajijic, Mexico
Jul 9, 2011

A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

We have travelled for over 40 years in Mexico. We love the country very much...so much, in fact, we live in Mexico now. However, this hotel totally misrepresents itself other than that it is a beautiful restoration. It is a beautiful restoration with the exception of the LAMINATE FLOORING in the "suite". To call the room and "Imperial Suite" is a laugh! It's a very large room with a jacuzzi bath..but a suite indiates that one will have a separate sitting area. The suite is poorly designed. As I sit here now, writing this review, the toilet is still leaking, as well as the air conditioner. They did, however, replace the leaking refrigerator which was leaking inside the armoir. I'm still waiting for the breakfast menu that I ordered when we first sat down for breakfast. We've visited Guadalajara many times. This trip we were visiting family, visiting the historical buildings and made a trip to Mercado Librtad. After breakfast, I approached the front desk and asked for 4 bottles of water. I was told (with attitude) that I should go the restaurant and get it myself...I think not. At over $170 USD per night, I think that one deserves better service and respect. The management should be ashamed of itself or, better yet - REPLACED!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Guadalajara! It's a wonderful city with many, many things to do and sites to see. Everything is very convenient to visit from this location. ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HOTEL!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 11, 2011

Imperial Suite - Unsuitable for Royalty

1. some front desk personnel obnoxious - when we asked for bottled water, we were told to go and get it ourselves; 2. our "Imperial Suite" had leaking a/c - leaking commode - leaking refrigerator; and, whoever would expect our "Imperial Suite" to be covered with laminate flooring (hardly appropriate for the period of restoration); ceramic tile would have been the flooring of choice; large room (not suite) appeared sparsely filled with furnishings - much wasted floor space for amount of furnishings used; 3. for the $170.00 we paid per night for our 3-day stay was way over-priced and much more enjoyment could have been found in less expensive establishments; 4. the nicest employee was the housekeeper who was reponsible for our room (she deserves a raise in pay and/or promotion). Her smile said it all! 5. true, the decor in the common areas was very nice, however, one can't spend 24-hours roaming the halls and admiring the renovated surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manteca
Dec 9, 2008

A sad experience

I purchased the best room that was available at the Hotel. Above the room where we stayed there is a meeting room with no insulation for sound between the ceiling of our room and the meeting room. On Saturday afternoon my wife came down with a terrible headache so we had to return to our room for the evening. At approximately 6 PM that night a Party began and the noise from the danciong and the loud voices where so loud that we could not even hear the television. I complained but was told that there was no where else that they could move us and that the Party would be over at 10 PM. The Party ended at about 10:30 PM and then the staff was walking, talking, moving furniture until about 11:45PM. Again the noise was unbearable. Then again at 7 AM the Staff started with the noise all over again. The meals that they served for room service was bearly edible. The room was constantly shaking with all of the traffic in the street. I asked for the Manager and he was never available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the Hotel was very good for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Jan 3, 2011

Very bad service staff

Free internet was not available in the rooms and the reception in the lobby was very slow. Valet parking took at least 20 minutes because the elevator is slow and your car was returned a half a block away, not at the front entry where you gave it to the attendant. The front desk wanted a 100 peso deposit for a second key (plastic card)for the room and they never worked. The first two times going back to the front desk they said I was in the other room and subsequent trips it was because I put the key in my wallet and finally they said the second key never works. One elevator for such a large hotel is not adequate for all the guests and staff. While the room was pleasant, I would never stay there again. There are much better choices in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two typical and popular Mexican restaurants are nearby. La Chata and La Gorda. Hotel restaurant was fine for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
willier
Business
SouthGate Californian
Mar 19, 2012

family getaway

Had a bad experience on my last night. The hotel hosts banquets and the music is super loud. I could not sleep until 3am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thumperjohn
Business
California
Apr 12, 2011

Can be hit and miss

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales, can be very hit and miss on quality. I knew street side rooms were noisy from last visit, so asked for interior room at check in. Much quieter at night inside, but you do hear noise from lobby during daytime. It is an historic hotel, with some modern amenities. Internet is available with an ethernet cable in the room, or wifi that ONLY works in the lobby areas and not above the first floor. The Air Conditioning didn't work in my room, they let me borrow a fan and said someone would be up to fix the AC in the morning. Late the next afternoon they started work on the AC and then left, with AC still disassembled, for at least an hour. Staff can be friendly, some speak English. Others seem kind of offended when you ask if they speak English. I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fellow mexicans
Business
Mexico city
Jun 7, 2009

Very disappointing management

The hotel is beautiful and greatly located, however we had a very bad experience there. Our cell phone dissapeared from our room, and noone wanted to be responsible, we were left to pay it by ourselves. They claimed that the staff is very trustfull and that they didn't see the cell phone and they are not responsible for "anything" left in the room even while you are still using it.....I don't think this should be the treatment that a hotel of this category should give.. as if we were lying about our missing phone...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest from Arizona
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Great Hotel and location, Staff so rude

We got to the Hotel and our room wasn't ready. Front desk staff was rude, we spoke to them in english and they seem to care less and were not helpful to us. The times we call the front dest for different items, not once did we receive anything. For ice we had to go across the streett o buy ice because we never got it from the staff at the hotel or restaurant. front desk staff twice made fun at us and we brougth it to the attendtion of the hotel manager per written letter and never got a call from him. We felt real bad at this hotel. We will never go to this location again and we do travel to Guadalajara once a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic center is within waking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diego325
Business
SF, CA
May 7, 2014

Room For Improvement

While this hotel is centrally located and it's staff is generally professional (with the exception of a hotel clerk who carried my bag to my room upon my arrival only forget me the next day and accost me in the street demanding my room number because he suspected I didn't belong in the hotel), the room itself left a great deal to be desired. For one thing, the room safe was ridiculously complicated, requiring a series of steps to both lock and unlock it that I've not only never seen before in all my travels, but came without any instructions. As a result, I had to have someone come to my room twice to unjam the safe and to explain how to use it. Another problem with the room was that the bathroom had no shower curtain. As a result, the bathroom floor was absolutely soaked after I took a shower. Finally, while the room did have coffee maker, it's cord was so short that I couldn't plug it into the wall anywhere in the room (forcing me to make coffee in the bathroom!) To add insult to injury, when I finally went to pour myself a cup of coffee, the lid fell off the coffee pot because it had never been attached. When you combine all this with the fact that the walls in the room were very thin, it made for a somewhat unpleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Lovely architecture and location

We stayed two days. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. The only downside was that we were in a non-smoking section, but smoke wafted up from the inner patio on lower floors. Also, the air conditioner was extremely loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top