$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpgitch
Business
L.A. CALIFORNIA
Nov 13, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times

This hotel is located in downtown Guadalajara, which is great for me. The hotel while clean needs to be updated. It looks a little tired. The bathroom shower needs bars to hold on too and something on the floor to prevent you from slipping when the floor is wet. Seniors be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Vacationer
Business
Washington
Oct 27, 2012

Great place to stay!

Only complaint is that the wifi was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lula bistro is the best!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjb9
Business
ca
Sep 25, 2012

Hotel Morales Guadalajara

My room was very nice and was kept clean and well stocked. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool was quite nice. The restaurant was good with a nice breakfast buffet. The doormen know the local information and are eager to help. The location is very near the central cultural district which is only two blocks away, the virtual heart of the city. 4.5 stars Wifi is iffy at best. There is no wifi in the rooms and access is sometimes available on the floors in the public areas but mostly not. The lobby has wifi but it is not working right, login with 3 strong bars but fail to access the internet, and then get bumped off and then repeat over and over. Compounding the problem the personnel at the front desk indicate that everyone else is using it, but when you ask everyone else they all say they are having the same problem. There are two computers (one out of order) with wired internet access that had good internet connection, when they were not in use by others. But it would be nice if there was an option to print from them (boarding passes, maps, etc.). 2 stars total 4 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata, 1.5 blocks towards downtown, ask the doorman, good food, clean and quick, moderate price, the only drawback are the constant lines, but they move quickly

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEEJae
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 18, 2012

3rd stay

This hotel has the best location... many good places close by for eating... within walking distances for most sites to see in El Centro. We were there over Mexican Independence Day... it was a great time to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heybrian.com
Business
San Francisco
Sep 5, 2012

Excellent ambiance, location, price, vibe

For my first time to Guadalajara for tourism, this place was perfect. It has the wow factor when you walk in, it's clean, the rooms are nice, and they even have a heated pool on the roof. You can walk everywhere, and there is a taqueria across the street. We took a corner room, #218, that had three balconies. Noise was no issue in this room as the balcony doors were all double glass. It's a great hotel, the staff are nice and for anyone staying for pleasure, I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location with great restaurants and sights nearby.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maricosa
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 30, 2012

Great mini vacation

It was great, we went for a wedding and got an experience we will never forgot. It's located right in the middle. Restaurants, parks, museums are all walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at "El Mexicano" great restaurant. It has great staff, food and drinks.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean Gabriel
Business
Montreal, canada
Aug 20, 2012

We would go back again

This was our second stay at the Hotel Morales, 30 days and another 9 days. Location, quietness and desire to meet your expectations. Shower a bit noisy but very clean Bravo!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dancing tom
Business
Guadalajara, JA Mexico
Jun 22, 2012

Old-World flavor with modern ammenities

Walking into the lobby of this hotel is like taking a trip back in time. The architecture and interior lighting is stunning. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was completely adequate for me as well as a two day visit from my Mother. I can only imagine what the bigger rooms and suites are like. The staff were professional, friendly, and accessible. I had several special requests (information and services) and each of them were researched and attended to. If you want to really feel and live the history and culture of this magnificent town, a stay in this hotel will be the spice that brings it alive! PS. Had there were a choice of six stars,.. my rating might have been a bit higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Always carry a personal sized packet of tissues. Toilet paper can be hard to find in public places.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magobrillo
Business
Orange, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Third Stay at Hotel Morales

Very nice decor -- colonial style, columns, arches, antique style furniture. Free internet, and the speed was excellent -- better than my cable modem at home. Small pool and weight room on the roof. Larger than normal safe, and nothing disappeared during our stay. Ask for a window as not all rooms have a window. The advantage of not having a window is no street noise, so you need to decide what is more important to you. The main problem with no window in the room is no sense of the time of day, which may be perfect if you want to sleep in with no sound. Food is good but not the best. Go to La Chata down the street on the opposite side of the road for excellent, excellent, affordable food (but be prepared to wait in a long line). The taco shop across from the hotel is also good and inexpensive, but sit away from the sidewalk to avoid beggers. We typically ate breakfast at Hotel Morales for the convenience of their buffet, which again was decent (much better than what you would get at a typical US hotel). Lots of good stores and shops within walking distance as well as the Guadalajara downtown sites to see. On this trip, everything worked on our trip. It seems common in Mexico that at least something needs to be serviced in your room no matter what hotel it is -- not this time, but I think that was just good luck. We have stayed at other hotels in Guadalajara, but we always stay at Hotel Morales if there is space available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucsab
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

I love this hotel

It's the second time that i stay at Hotel Morales, and i love staying there as i did the first time. The rooms are confortable and clean, my only complaint is that they are a little dark, the beds are soft, the bathrooms are new. The architecture of the building is amazing, the staff is very nice. I love the 24hr room service, if you get hungry at 2am there's food available. The location is great, you are close to everything, just 3 blocks away from the Cathedral and all the buses stop close to the hotel. I will stay there again if i go back to Gdl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top