$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Mar 14, 2011

Beautiful building in a historic area

Upside : Hotel building is so pretty and located in a historic area. So we could walk around in the evening to see all the lighted pretty historic places. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel staff was really nice and friendly. And they helped me to find my lost item. Downside : There are not enough rack or space to put things and towel. As it is located in a popular area, street was noisy at night. I used ear plug during our whole stay. Don't leave your cloth on the bed when you go out. They took my cloth with sheets altogether. But on the later day, I could find my jacket luckily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the historic places are within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
May 4, 2009

Fantastic Stay!

Great Room! Spacious and fabulous air conditioning. The location is near the historical center of the city. Because our room faced the very busy street, we did experience noisiness especially weekend nights. But otherwise, we had a wonderful time! The fitness center consists of three outdated machines, you are better off walking around the city for exercise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want a simple & comfortable guided tour of Tequila, save your money and don't book the Tequila Express. Ask the hotel's concierge, you can book a tour through "Panoramic" for about $20!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great location and price and charming

The staff was very helpful and the hotel is very charming old world look. It is somewhat noisy though only because you can here people closing their room doors and some close them very hard which woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are not many good restaurants in walking distance.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Morales -- Very Good for the Price

This was our second stay at Hotel Morales. We chose Hotel Morales for it high ratings, decent price and its downtown location, which is close to family we were visiting. The building has been beautifully restored to its (perceived) original colonial past, though I doubt it was as nice back then. On our first stay in a junior suite, we had a balcony overlooking the street. It was nice to have a window but the streets get noisy in rush hour. We took a regular suite on our second stay. This room was among the many rooms that have no outdoor view due it being adjacent to another building. This room was much more quiet, but not being able to see the sun come up can be disconcerting. It is similar to an inside cabin on a cruise ship. We tended to sleep later than we wanted but were well rested. The toilet leaked when we first arrived. They fixed it while we were gone for the day and had no further trouble. The A/C had a mildew smell. We didn't ask them to fix it. I figured there wouldn't be much they could do about it. Typical of Mexico, they're cost conscious, we always had to ask for more than the two sets towels provided (4 of us), and you have to put your hotel key in a slot to keep the electricity on, and they don't provide you with enough drinking water, but at least it was free unlike most hotels. Plenty of people speak English. The food is good and reasonably priced -- I didn't get sick this trip, which means I was lucky everywhere I ate this trip. Finally, our room was cleaned up well each day thanks to the daily small tip to the housekeeper. We'll almost certainly stay there again next time we go visit family in Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the restaurants with lots of people waiting to get inside!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dago Ibarra
El Paso, Texas
Nov 19, 2013

Great Place to stay in Downtown Guadalajara

This is a great hotel if you want to visit downtown sites. You can walk anyway from here, convenient located near main avenues. Hotel is good, but avoid the rooms near the elevator. I stayed in room 202 close to it. It's too much nouse. You hear the mechanism all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cathedral, main square, Hospicio Cabanas, food everywhere !

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael El Norteno
California
Mar 13, 2013

Great family vacation

It was a nice vacation...The people were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

San Juan de Dios, Degollado, Hospicio Cabanas, Churchs, Down town, Resturants, etc. were all walking distance

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Mar 9, 2008

Beautiful, but beds are hard

The hotel is lovely, beautifully maintained, immaculately clean and a good value for the price. Nice amenities, but the beds were very very firm. After the first night they softened it some by placing a folded blanket under the sheet, but it was still firmer that I typically like, and I thought I like a firm mattress. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was wonderful- walking distance from all of the major attractions in downtown Guadalajara. If you stay here try to walk (about 10 minutes) to the Bierria Las 9 Esquinas, beautiful, inexpensive and wonderful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2009

Great Hotel beautiful part of town

Stayed one night on the way to other Spa in mountains. Location in Historic downtown was great and our room only had an indoor window towards an indoor courtyard which was just fine because of all the traffic and buses in the area. Was totally quiet and comfortably large. We preferred this hotel over the one near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to a great restaurant like a tropical garden nearby. Our brunch at the Hotel was really great.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Feb 18, 2010

Very nice historic hotel

This is a wonderful, renovated historic hotel. It is located in the middle of busy, urban Guadalajara and I enjoyed being able to walk to many shops, museums, parks, tiendas, and restaurants. If you're looking for a super quiet place, this is not the hotel for you but the hotel can't control the outside night life noise (which wasn't that bad but is something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Feb 10, 2010

great location

this is a very nice hotel in a great location, next to alot of restaurants. an walkin distance to the catheral and all the colonial sites. its very clean and a very nice hotel. the only bad thing is that they r under costruction right next door. they are building more rooms. so you will be waken up by nine am. no sleeping late here, other than that its a great hotel. good staff very helpful:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top