$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald Huschle
Single
Garland Texas
Feb 16, 2013

Excellent

I stay at the Morales whenever I overnight in Guadalajara. There is no reason to look anywhere else. You are made to feel at home the minute you walk in and feel you are truly their guest until you leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Win123
Couples
San Pancho, NAY
Feb 11, 2013

Elegant hotel at a good price

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the historical center. Because we were driving an oversized van and were unable to find parking, the hotel let us stay in their loading zone for 3 days. The staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWJL
Couples
Canada
Feb 8, 2013

Great location

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to museums old churches. And many parks with lots of activities. Ideal tourist location. A nice restaurant with very reasonable prices T-bone steak $120 pesos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the T-bone steak

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donmigueldelrio
Couples
Salem OR
Feb 8, 2013

The best historic center Hotel.

I chose Hotel Morales based on internet research and location. Hotel Morales is an exceptional hotel: friendly and efficient staff, a welcome reception, an excellent restaurant, immaculate rooms and common areas, live piano music at breakfast, informed concierge,..the list goes on and on. I would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make a point to taxi to restaurant El Bariachi for the Mariachi music. Performances at 3;30 pm and 9:30 pm. Don't miss it.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juia
Family
San Diego, California
Jan 29, 2013

good stay

i really liked that downtown was just around the corner, all the places to eat and everything was really close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarquezArchbald
Couples
Ventura, California
Jan 26, 2013

Perfect location downtown historical Guadalajara

We loved the Hotel Morales! Its central location makes it a convenient base to explore the sights of the Centro Historico and experience some of the best hometown cooking in the city, such as Chata's just up the street. The exterior is stark but handsome with its volcanic stone texture. The interior spaces are revelations in old-Mexico style, including the recently refurbished section next-door. The main courtyard with its fountain and four-story atrium is a delight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience something other than a corporate or chain lodging. I have family in Guadalajara and I recommended that they, too, consider visiting the hotel to see the interiors. We did experience an air-conditioning malfunction yet were promptly moved to another room. The service staff at the desk were generally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll the Plaza Tapatia in the late afternoon to observe the locals doing their socializing and shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Single
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfgemini
Couples
Loreto, BSC
Jan 15, 2013

Great Downtown Location

We really enjoyed staying in this beautiful hotel. The staff, especially Manuel and Sergio were so helpful with our needs. The only thing the hotel needs to do is upgrade their WiiFi. We could not get it in our room at all and the reception, if you got it in the restaurant or lobby was very slow.....all in all. La Chata is a great restaurant just down the street. For a really nice dinner, try Lula Bistro, excellent food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tequila Train hosted by Hector was excellent, shopping in Tlaquepaque was awesome!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macario
Couples
San Diego, California
Jan 14, 2013

Beautiful place to stay and great location

Very friendly staff, the room was great and comfortable and it looked clean. But there were spider webs on the ceiling. I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tours and try the "tortas ahogadas"

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
santope
Family
Seoul, Korea
Dec 31, 2012

Nice historical building, room not so good

The hotel was recently renovated so bathrooms and equipment are new. The building is very nicely done, in historical style with interior patios and antique-looking furniture. The other side of the coin is that both our rooms had windows into a ventilation shaft, which is probably inevitable in such a building. The advantage is no street noise. However, one room was on the top floor, and every time the lift moves you can hear a very loud noise from the machinery. This was not good for our sleep. Location-wise it was was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The government palace and museum are very nice.

Back to menu Return to top