$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magobrillo
Orange, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Third Stay at Hotel Morales

Very nice decor -- colonial style, columns, arches, antique style furniture. Free internet, and the speed was excellent -- better than my cable modem at home. Small pool and weight room on the roof. Larger than normal safe, and nothing disappeared during our stay. Ask for a window as not all rooms have a window. The advantage of not having a window is no street noise, so you need to decide what is more important to you. The main problem with no window in the room is no sense of the time of day, which may be perfect if you want to sleep in with no sound. Food is good but not the best. Go to La Chata down the street on the opposite side of the road for excellent, excellent, affordable food (but be prepared to wait in a long line). The taco shop across from the hotel is also good and inexpensive, but sit away from the sidewalk to avoid beggers. We typically ate breakfast at Hotel Morales for the convenience of their buffet, which again was decent (much better than what you would get at a typical US hotel). Lots of good stores and shops within walking distance as well as the Guadalajara downtown sites to see. On this trip, everything worked on our trip. It seems common in Mexico that at least something needs to be serviced in your room no matter what hotel it is -- not this time, but I think that was just good luck. We have stayed at other hotels in Guadalajara, but we always stay at Hotel Morales if there is space available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucsab
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

I love this hotel

It's the second time that i stay at Hotel Morales, and i love staying there as i did the first time. The rooms are confortable and clean, my only complaint is that they are a little dark, the beds are soft, the bathrooms are new. The architecture of the building is amazing, the staff is very nice. I love the 24hr room service, if you get hungry at 2am there's food available. The location is great, you are close to everything, just 3 blocks away from the Cathedral and all the buses stop close to the hotel. I will stay there again if i go back to Gdl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lonny Too
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Mar 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

I return to this hotel always when I stay in Guadalajara. This Hotel is very Eligant!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a must see. It is a short walk but this Market is a must see.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
willier
SouthGate Californian
Mar 19, 2012

family getaway

Had a bad experience on my last night. The hotel hosts banquets and the music is super loud. I could not sleep until 3am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
weekend travelers
Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico
Mar 1, 2012

GDL Weekend Getaway

Beautiful Hotel!!! Close to Cathedral and Turibus. The room was very clean, quiet and air conditioning worked great!! Free bottled water in the room. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and the food is delicious, prices are good too. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the TuriBus system. Pay once and ride all day. Great shopping in Tlaquepaque and on Sundays in Tonala!!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azmn
Arizona, EEUU
Feb 26, 2012

Convenient location

This was a very clean and lovely hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
q00flash
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City

I booked a night at the Hotel Morales based on the previous reviews and I was impressed beyond what I had expected. The interior courtyard is beautifully appointed in a classical Mexican style that embodies what Guadalajara is all about. The service was courteous and friendly, the only complaint I have is that the internet in my room wasn't functioning and I called the desk who said they would send someone to fix it and they never arrived. I was able to get what I needed done using the wifi in the lobby, but was disappointed that I was left hanging. A second issue that dropped this from a 5 is that the bed was not great. It was ok, and I slept well, but I just spent a few nights in a hotel with a spectacular bed and so it was a bit of a downer after falling in love with the ambiance and location of the hotel. I also tried the restaurant La Chata that was mentioned in some reviews and it is excellent. If you want classic Mexican dishes, pozole is amazing if you haven't tried it, La Chata is possibly the best around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no name 123
Canada
Jan 28, 2012

noisy location...

Very lovely hotel and staff very nice but location just a little too busy for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend if you are looking for a location in the centre of Guadalajara and dont mind lots of busy people looking for fun!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJdavey
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Charming stay in Guadalajara

We stayed 3 nights and loved the staff and location best. Charming and warm furnishings Walk everywhere from here. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMOMEXICO
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great Location for downtown GDL

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales and I forgot how thin the walls are. I was given a cornor room (right next to the elevator), where you could hear the elevator go and down, and people talking. Other then that the service was really good, clean rooms, good food, and walking distance to all historic downtown life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit La Chata or La Chata. Great places to have breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Back to menu Return to top