$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarquezArchbald
Ventura, California
Jan 26, 2013

Perfect location downtown historical Guadalajara

We loved the Hotel Morales! Its central location makes it a convenient base to explore the sights of the Centro Historico and experience some of the best hometown cooking in the city, such as Chata's just up the street. The exterior is stark but handsome with its volcanic stone texture. The interior spaces are revelations in old-Mexico style, including the recently refurbished section next-door. The main courtyard with its fountain and four-story atrium is a delight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience something other than a corporate or chain lodging. I have family in Guadalajara and I recommended that they, too, consider visiting the hotel to see the interiors. We did experience an air-conditioning malfunction yet were promptly moved to another room. The service staff at the desk were generally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll the Plaza Tapatia in the late afternoon to observe the locals doing their socializing and shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dago Ibarra
Business
El Paso, Texas
Nov 19, 2013

Great Place to stay in Downtown Guadalajara

This is a great hotel if you want to visit downtown sites. You can walk anyway from here, convenient located near main avenues. Hotel is good, but avoid the rooms near the elevator. I stayed in room 202 close to it. It's too much nouse. You hear the mechanism all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cathedral, main square, Hospicio Cabanas, food everywhere !

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traxxed
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

Superb

Everything about this hotel is just superb. The live piano player in the lobby in the afternoons, the staff, the pool, the details. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercado de San Juan de Dios

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JEANSAN
Business
NOGALES, AZ
Oct 8, 2013

GREAT GETAWAY

HOTEL HAS BEEN REMOLDED AND IT IS VERY NICE, THE ROOM ARE BIG AND BEAUTIFULY DECORATED, THE PERSONNEL ARE VERY NICE AND HELPFUL, I WOULD REALLY RECOMMED THIS HOTEL...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lito96
Business
Nevada, USA
Sep 28, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

I had a great experience. The room was clean, hotel was quiet and overall it's a beautiful hotel with attentive staff. There is an elevator which is great, a restaurant and bar in the beautiful lobby. The rooms seem to have been recently remodeled. The hotel is just a couple of blocks away from Degollado which was great. I just had a great experience and will definitelly return to this hotel on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul The Halibut King
Business
Salem, Oregon
Jul 19, 2013

Great getaway

The staff were very personable and the rooms were exceptionally clean. We felt very comfortable and would recommend Hotel Morales to anyone. This was our first trip to Mexico and will not be the last. We are looking forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chata's restaurant has great food just 2 blocks away.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eli4591
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff!

We were blown away by the beauty of the hotel & the amazing staff. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. We didn't get to try the pool but it was lovely. When our ride couldn't arrive until 4 hours after checkout, the reception staff offered to keep our suitcases in a safe room for free! Will definitely come back & stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennyfrijole
Business
Sitka, Alaska
Jun 5, 2013

Everything But the Front Desk

Location was amazing, room was to die for, view even better. Loved the pool on the roof, the restaurant downstairs was good, and the building itself was so beautiful - a converted mansion, it was HUGE! The wait staff and maid staff were amazing and always incredibly helpful and willing to do just about anything you needed at a moments notice. Out the front door was an amazing old cathedral and you were just a couple blocks from some other amazing locations and museums. The only problem was the front desk staff. The few times we had to deal with them, we always seemed to catch major attitude, even though we were always nice and polite - my husband is from Mexico, so there wasn't a language barrier. Before we got there, we had requested an early check in since our flight was getting in at 5am and we would be getting to the hotel around 6am or 7am. We were assured a room would be ready for us. It literally takes over 24 hours to get from Alaska to Mexico so to say we were tired when we got there is an understatement - as we dragged ourselves in to the lobby, we were informed that not only was our room not ready, NO ROOMS would be ready until 1pm. When we asked what we were supposed to do for all that time and with all our luggage, we were smirked at and told to enjoy the hotel's facilities. It was still dark out, what were we supposed to do - lounge by the pool? If checking in early was gonna be a problem, we would have booked a separate hotel just for that morning, whatever it took, but we were ASSURED we would have a room, "no problem!". When we brought this situation up to the manager, we were offered a complimentary dinner on the hotel - but a couple days later when we went to have it, we were told that we would have to to wait for the manager to actually be at the hotel and he was out of town for the rest of week. I felt a little swindled. We were also not given instructions on how to use the hotel phone to call the US, given attitude when we asked, then no one told us we had to pay and that they wouldn't simply bill our room and we received a rude phone call demanding we come pay the phone bill in cash. We were also never told that the electricity isn't automatically on in the rooms - you must insert your room key into a device that turns it on (genius way to save power, though!); needless to say it took some bumbling around and a phone call to figure it out. The hotel was beautiful, but their front desk staff needs an overhaul. I don't like paying A LOT of money to get treated rudely for a week by the people I am paying. I don't know if I would stay here again - the hotel itself was absolutely amazing, a piece of 1920's Mexico brought to life, but the front desk staff might have ruined all that for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can see like four cathedrals/grand buildings from the balconies. You are surrounded by history, not to mention delicious restaurants and shops.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the backpack traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 19, 2013

great Location

this hotel was in located in the center of the city and I loved staying here. the rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here the next time I go to Guadalajara. The hotel has a colonial design and is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gormer
Business
tucson, az.
Apr 27, 2013

it's ok but.............

needs to fix the bottom of the shower door (install gaskets) water drain out.... staff doing well! good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good enough!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estherg
Business
Chicago
Apr 25, 2013

Great Place

The staff is very accommodating. I got wonderful service from the concierge Manuel Mejia even before I checked into the hotel. I had emailed him with questions and he really came through and really helped. The hotel has a great location and the hotel and layout of the hotel is unique. The only things that could be better are larger rooms and larger bathrooms. Also the restaurant (only had breakfast there once) I thought could have been better - or maybe I am just used to what I'm used to from the U.S. Overall, I would definitely recommend it for the ambiance, the uniqueness, accommodating staff, great location, and price. I would definitely go back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Institute of Cultural Cabanas, the Placio del Gobierno, the Cathedral and the Plaza de la Liberacion and Teatro Degollado. Make sure to get a guide to explain what you are seeing.

Back to menu Return to top