$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarquezArchbald
Business
Ventura, California
Jan 26, 2013

Perfect location downtown historical Guadalajara

We loved the Hotel Morales! Its central location makes it a convenient base to explore the sights of the Centro Historico and experience some of the best hometown cooking in the city, such as Chata's just up the street. The exterior is stark but handsome with its volcanic stone texture. The interior spaces are revelations in old-Mexico style, including the recently refurbished section next-door. The main courtyard with its fountain and four-story atrium is a delight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience something other than a corporate or chain lodging. I have family in Guadalajara and I recommended that they, too, consider visiting the hotel to see the interiors. We did experience an air-conditioning malfunction yet were promptly moved to another room. The service staff at the desk were generally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll the Plaza Tapatia in the late afternoon to observe the locals doing their socializing and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfgemini
Business
Loreto, BSC
Jan 15, 2013

Great Downtown Location

We really enjoyed staying in this beautiful hotel. The staff, especially Manuel and Sergio were so helpful with our needs. The only thing the hotel needs to do is upgrade their WiiFi. We could not get it in our room at all and the reception, if you got it in the restaurant or lobby was very slow.....all in all. La Chata is a great restaurant just down the street. For a really nice dinner, try Lula Bistro, excellent food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tequila Train hosted by Hector was excellent, shopping in Tlaquepaque was awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macario
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 14, 2013

Beautiful place to stay and great location

Very friendly staff, the room was great and comfortable and it looked clean. But there were spider webs on the ceiling. I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tours and try the "tortas ahogadas"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
santope
Business
Seoul, Korea
Dec 31, 2012

Nice historical building, room not so good

The hotel was recently renovated so bathrooms and equipment are new. The building is very nicely done, in historical style with interior patios and antique-looking furniture. The other side of the coin is that both our rooms had windows into a ventilation shaft, which is probably inevitable in such a building. The advantage is no street noise. However, one room was on the top floor, and every time the lift moves you can hear a very loud noise from the machinery. This was not good for our sleep. Location-wise it was was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The government palace and museum are very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boobala
Business
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mx
Dec 6, 2012

Hotel Moarales Rocks

We had a great stay for two nights. My second time there and I would go back again. Just wish there was a fun bar/restaurant for happy hours close by.......:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time to Mexico
Business
Southwest Georgia
Nov 29, 2012

Thanksgiving trip

I never write reviews...if I did, I would probably only write if something was terrible to warn others. However, I want to share what a great time we had at the Hotel Morales. It could not have been any better. The hotel was wonderful! The lobby is beautiful, although a little dark. The rooms were large and very nice. The staff was excellent (and spoke English!). The hotel was very close to the places we wanted to visit, so we were able to walk to museums, tour bus locations, etc. We will 100% positively stay at the Morales on our next trip to Guadalajara! Loved it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K future mom
Business
Mexico
Nov 20, 2012

Wonderfull hotel!

Great location, close to centro. Very nice room and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpgitch
Business
L.A. CALIFORNIA
Nov 13, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times

This hotel is located in downtown Guadalajara, which is great for me. The hotel while clean needs to be updated. It looks a little tired. The bathroom shower needs bars to hold on too and something on the floor to prevent you from slipping when the floor is wet. Seniors be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Vacationer
Business
Washington
Oct 27, 2012

Great place to stay!

Only complaint is that the wifi was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lula bistro is the best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top