$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennyfrijole
Business
Sitka, Alaska
Jun 5, 2013

Everything But the Front Desk

Location was amazing, room was to die for, view even better. Loved the pool on the roof, the restaurant downstairs was good, and the building itself was so beautiful - a converted mansion, it was HUGE! The wait staff and maid staff were amazing and always incredibly helpful and willing to do just about anything you needed at a moments notice. Out the front door was an amazing old cathedral and you were just a couple blocks from some other amazing locations and museums. The only problem was the front desk staff. The few times we had to deal with them, we always seemed to catch major attitude, even though we were always nice and polite - my husband is from Mexico, so there wasn't a language barrier. Before we got there, we had requested an early check in since our flight was getting in at 5am and we would be getting to the hotel around 6am or 7am. We were assured a room would be ready for us. It literally takes over 24 hours to get from Alaska to Mexico so to say we were tired when we got there is an understatement - as we dragged ourselves in to the lobby, we were informed that not only was our room not ready, NO ROOMS would be ready until 1pm. When we asked what we were supposed to do for all that time and with all our luggage, we were smirked at and told to enjoy the hotel's facilities. It was still dark out, what were we supposed to do - lounge by the pool? If checking in early was gonna be a problem, we would have booked a separate hotel just for that morning, whatever it took, but we were ASSURED we would have a room, "no problem!". When we brought this situation up to the manager, we were offered a complimentary dinner on the hotel - but a couple days later when we went to have it, we were told that we would have to to wait for the manager to actually be at the hotel and he was out of town for the rest of week. I felt a little swindled. We were also not given instructions on how to use the hotel phone to call the US, given attitude when we asked, then no one told us we had to pay and that they wouldn't simply bill our room and we received a rude phone call demanding we come pay the phone bill in cash. We were also never told that the electricity isn't automatically on in the rooms - you must insert your room key into a device that turns it on (genius way to save power, though!); needless to say it took some bumbling around and a phone call to figure it out. The hotel was beautiful, but their front desk staff needs an overhaul. I don't like paying A LOT of money to get treated rudely for a week by the people I am paying. I don't know if I would stay here again - the hotel itself was absolutely amazing, a piece of 1920's Mexico brought to life, but the front desk staff might have ruined all that for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can see like four cathedrals/grand buildings from the balconies. You are surrounded by history, not to mention delicious restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the backpack traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 19, 2013

great Location

this hotel was in located in the center of the city and I loved staying here. the rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here the next time I go to Guadalajara. The hotel has a colonial design and is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gormer
Business
tucson, az.
Apr 27, 2013

it's ok but.............

needs to fix the bottom of the shower door (install gaskets) water drain out.... staff doing well! good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good enough!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estherg
Business
Chicago
Apr 25, 2013

Great Place

The staff is very accommodating. I got wonderful service from the concierge Manuel Mejia even before I checked into the hotel. I had emailed him with questions and he really came through and really helped. The hotel has a great location and the hotel and layout of the hotel is unique. The only things that could be better are larger rooms and larger bathrooms. Also the restaurant (only had breakfast there once) I thought could have been better - or maybe I am just used to what I'm used to from the U.S. Overall, I would definitely recommend it for the ambiance, the uniqueness, accommodating staff, great location, and price. I would definitely go back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Institute of Cultural Cabanas, the Placio del Gobierno, the Cathedral and the Plaza de la Liberacion and Teatro Degollado. Make sure to get a guide to explain what you are seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie in Chapala
Business
Chapala, Jalisco Mexico
Apr 24, 2013

Great location

You can walk to everything in downtown Guadalajara from this location. Clean hotel. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops and plazas in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turbobore
Business
San Antonio
Apr 16, 2013

Not worth $200+

I have stayed here several times in the past two years. It is in a great location if you like the downtown area. The costs of my past stays has averaged $60 per night and this is a fair price for this hotel. They are now asking $200+ per night and there is no way this hotel is worth this. When I stayed here in Nov. 2012 the hot water for the tub ran so slow it took 30 minutes to fill the tub. Plus, I had to use a plastic bag to seal the drain. It is a nice historic hotel but if you are going to spend $100+ per night there are many better options to select from in this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael El Norteno
Business
California
Mar 13, 2013

Great family vacation

It was a nice vacation...The people were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

San Juan de Dios, Degollado, Hospicio Cabanas, Churchs, Down town, Resturants, etc. were all walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gapguy1317
Business
Dallas Tx
Mar 9, 2013

Fantastic

What a great location! Great Place! Had a wonderful time! I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the taco stand right across the street! Wow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martinra1968
Business
Atlanta
Mar 4, 2013

Great place to stay!!!

Subtle, not flashy yet very comfortable,elegant,old world class!!! Would definitely stay again. Great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anders J
Business
Chippewa Falls, WI
Mar 3, 2013

One of the Best Values in Mexico

This hotel really is in a beautifully restored colonial style building with courtyards and fountains. The only things I would generally complain about is that the wi-fi does not reach into most of the rooms, but sitting in the courtyards or lobby on the laptop is actually very pleasant. I personally did not like the pillows on the bed; they were memory foam. There is a good mix of people at this hotel, business, tourists, Mexican, USA, Canadian, European, etc. It is not overly touristy or business-like which is a nice change from other places I have stayed in Mexico. I went to Guadalajara for business and leisure and the location and services at the hotel were very good for both, and the location is great for tourists and business because most of the main attractions are within walking distance of the hotel and most of the major roads in town originate near the hotel so business travel is relatively quick. The taqueria across the street is also excellent, even if the seats are a little awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Banamex bank on the corner of Av Juarez and Corona has the lowest ATM fee near the hotel, and there is usually no line because they have 5 ATMs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top