$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
q00flash
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City

I booked a night at the Hotel Morales based on the previous reviews and I was impressed beyond what I had expected. The interior courtyard is beautifully appointed in a classical Mexican style that embodies what Guadalajara is all about. The service was courteous and friendly, the only complaint I have is that the internet in my room wasn't functioning and I called the desk who said they would send someone to fix it and they never arrived. I was able to get what I needed done using the wifi in the lobby, but was disappointed that I was left hanging. A second issue that dropped this from a 5 is that the bed was not great. It was ok, and I slept well, but I just spent a few nights in a hotel with a spectacular bed and so it was a bit of a downer after falling in love with the ambiance and location of the hotel. I also tried the restaurant La Chata that was mentioned in some reviews and it is excellent. If you want classic Mexican dishes, pozole is amazing if you haven't tried it, La Chata is possibly the best around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azmn
Business
Arizona, EEUU
Feb 26, 2012

Convenient location

This was a very clean and lovely hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shandu
Business
Canada
Aug 17, 2012

Exceptional hotel for travel and business needs

Thr hotel was in a perfect location for walking to all sites . Staff were welcoming, friendly, and efficient . The hotel restaurant food and drink were reasonably priced and good quality. Wireless Internet was available in some rooms without a cable which the hotel supplied as necessary. We enjoyed the larger room with a balcony. All in all, we recommend this hotel and plan to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean Gabriel
Business
Montreal, canada
Aug 20, 2012

We would go back again

This was our second stay at the Hotel Morales, 30 days and another 9 days. Location, quietness and desire to meet your expectations. Shower a bit noisy but very clean Bravo!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEEJae
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 18, 2012

3rd stay

This hotel has the best location... many good places close by for eating... within walking distances for most sites to see in El Centro. We were there over Mexican Independence Day... it was a great time to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjb9
Business
ca
Sep 25, 2012

Hotel Morales Guadalajara

My room was very nice and was kept clean and well stocked. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool was quite nice. The restaurant was good with a nice breakfast buffet. The doormen know the local information and are eager to help. The location is very near the central cultural district which is only two blocks away, the virtual heart of the city. 4.5 stars Wifi is iffy at best. There is no wifi in the rooms and access is sometimes available on the floors in the public areas but mostly not. The lobby has wifi but it is not working right, login with 3 strong bars but fail to access the internet, and then get bumped off and then repeat over and over. Compounding the problem the personnel at the front desk indicate that everyone else is using it, but when you ask everyone else they all say they are having the same problem. There are two computers (one out of order) with wired internet access that had good internet connection, when they were not in use by others. But it would be nice if there was an option to print from them (boarding passes, maps, etc.). 2 stars total 4 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata, 1.5 blocks towards downtown, ask the doorman, good food, clean and quick, moderate price, the only drawback are the constant lines, but they move quickly

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Vacationer
Business
Washington
Oct 27, 2012

Great place to stay!

Only complaint is that the wifi was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lula bistro is the best!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpgitch
Business
L.A. CALIFORNIA
Nov 13, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times

This hotel is located in downtown Guadalajara, which is great for me. The hotel while clean needs to be updated. It looks a little tired. The bathroom shower needs bars to hold on too and something on the floor to prevent you from slipping when the floor is wet. Seniors be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boobala
Business
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mx
Dec 6, 2012

Hotel Moarales Rocks

We had a great stay for two nights. My second time there and I would go back again. Just wish there was a fun bar/restaurant for happy hours close by.......:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time to Mexico
Business
Southwest Georgia
Nov 29, 2012

Thanksgiving trip

I never write reviews...if I did, I would probably only write if something was terrible to warn others. However, I want to share what a great time we had at the Hotel Morales. It could not have been any better. The hotel was wonderful! The lobby is beautiful, although a little dark. The rooms were large and very nice. The staff was excellent (and spoke English!). The hotel was very close to the places we wanted to visit, so we were able to walk to museums, tour bus locations, etc. We will 100% positively stay at the Morales on our next trip to Guadalajara! Loved it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top