$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In town 2days
Corona CA
Aug 10, 2011

Very nice..

Although this trip was very short, most employees at the hotel were very nice and accommodating, w/the exception of one courtesy desk employee, although he was accommodating he was not very pleasant. Kudos to the bell boys.. Yes I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the Historical sites are very local.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary Gringo
Medford, OR
Nov 21, 2011

A Week In Jalisco

The hotel is a beautiful restoration. The staff was courteous and friendly. If we needed something, it was given to us very quickly. They have a shuttle to and from the airport and the driver meets you with a sign as you exit the terminal. This is really helpful after a whole day with plane changes and security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpgitch
L.A. CALIFORNIA
Nov 13, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times

This hotel is located in downtown Guadalajara, which is great for me. The hotel while clean needs to be updated. It looks a little tired. The bathroom shower needs bars to hold on too and something on the floor to prevent you from slipping when the floor is wet. Seniors be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2011

Charming hotel, attentive staff

This an attractive, charming hotel built in the 19th century and recently restored. The staff are helpful, the food is very good, and the location is in the heart of the historical district. My room was comfortable and well-kept. There were some problems with the wireless internet connection in my room and others. The thick walls block the signal. If you need internet (I was there on business and required it), ask for an ethernet cable at the dest, or bring one yourself. There was an ethernet jack in my room. They will provide you a cable for a refundable deposit of 100 pesos. I enjoyed my stay and looked forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Gorda" restaurant has great food and good prices. It's just one block down the street from the front door of the hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan Sinaloa
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Old Hotel.

With choice of a old hotel you have to give up some of the nice modern things. Like showers working well, doors closing well, floor nosiey and just being old. The hotel is old and have to relize that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to everything. Gold and Silver market a must see. Tons of shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Fantastic!

Absolutely beautiful, well maintained, professional staff and perfect location. We did, however, get a weird look when we asked for an extra set of bath towels on the afternoon of a really hot day. Not rude, but we may have been the only ones to ask for a fresh set. Not very green of us, I guess. Felt very safe and loved that there was a doorman 24/7 and security for the busy weekend of the festival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vallartense
los angeles, ca
Jan 5, 2011

Great Historical Hacienda

The Hacienda Hotel was just beyond beautiful. Small boutique like hotel with great displays of artwork, old furniture and the hacienda feel to the hotel made our stay just wonderful. The only thing missing was a swimming pool & jacuzzi. Although, they are expanding and I hear the new building will have a state of the art pool and gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JQTraveler
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Beautiful

The best part about my stay was looking around the hotel. It is historic and very pretty. The bed was a little hard and my wife said the pillows were a little big and hard for her. I thought they were fine. Noise transfers pretty easily here but we weren't really bothered by it. The taco place across the street is incredible! As is the restaurant down the block to the right a little called Gorda-something. We were close walking distance to the center of town where we saw the mercado lots of sights. We would most likely stay there again if we were back in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The taco place across the street was soo good! Probably the best thing we had there was the tripa taco. The staff there was friendly and one guy spoke english well enough to describe the local dishes.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Jun 10, 2011

Bonito Hotel

This hotel is located in the center of the Historical Center. Shopping everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios a must see very large and has everything.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
murrieta, CA
Sep 5, 2010

our gdl trip

the location of this hotel is Great-can walk to many restaurants, all the plazas are close by,Really enjoyed the trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Madrid has excellant simple authentic mexican food @ great prices

Back to menu Return to top