$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.Pon
Business
San Francisco ,CA
Mar 23, 2014

One of the BEST hotels I've ever stayed in !!!!

Checking in was a snap. I had read other reviews about this hotel. Not many bad reviews. All of the bad reviews never happened to us. Inside rooms hallway were not dark at all. Lights had motion sensors on them. Wifi signals were great on the inside room too !!! A plus for us. Front desk did say, if we didn't like the room. They would move us. I have travel a lot in my days but I have never slept this good away from home ever!!! Beds were great. Room was very clean. Restaurant downstairs had great service and good music on Tuesdays and Thursday. Great location !!! Close to everything !! Walking distance to Churches, shopping, currency exchange 2 blocks away, other good restaurants like El Gordo and Chata"s a block and half away from the Hotel. Can't say enough good things about the Hotel. The pool and gym was nice too. Just a wonderful place and great Vacation over all. Planning on coming back next year !!! Don't know why they gave this place a 4 star. I would have given this hotel more than 5 stars plus !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Currency exchange stores are 2 blocks away. Better exchange rates there for your money. The Hotel front desk will tell you that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 22, 2014

great hotel in great location

Spent four nights here in March 2014.. Hotel is very attractive, built around interior courtyard with four floors. Restaurant with live piano music during the breakfast hours. Nice pool on the fourth floor with some sitting areas and a small gym. Roof terrace on the fifth floor with some okay views of Guadalajara and some good sitting areas. Room was average, nicely furnished with a good shower area. Would suggest that you get an outside room is you want to see outside.... there was some street noise with the doors open, but it was fairly quiet with the doors closed. The inside rooms only have a window on the corridors in the hotel, you would have to leave the drapes closed so that no one could look into the room. Location is excellant. Only 5 blocks south of the Cathedral and plazas.... near the market.... the plaza at San Francisco is across the street with lots of venders and some good food. Several gay bars just down the street for some late night action. A little distant to California bar, but I made the walk several times without a problem even late at night... about 15 blocks. Felt very safe and comfortable in all of the centro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2014

Solid choice for Guadalajara

This is a very well run hotel with an outstanding staff. I stayed for 10 days and everyone from the bellmen to the front desk were consistently helpful and pleasant. English is spoken, but they will also let you try out your Spanish if you like too. As in all things with this hotel, they are ready to work with you. Beautiful lobby and roof decks with swimming pool, gym and what even looks like a yoga room. Location is superb, but busy. Think midtown Manhattan. There are music clubs close by and they operate at night, but they play Mexican and Latin music, not thumbing bass dance music. I found it pleasant. Your mileage may vary. Speaking of music, when I was there every day they had a fantastic pianist in the lobby and at various times in the afternoons a small ensemble playing Mexican music. There is a restaurant, but there are also many solid food options within a block or two of the hotel. Room quality varies (layout and elevation) if there are options when you check it, explore them - and the higher up the better. Bottom line is the staff understands that they are there to serve - something very few hotels at any price range seem to "get" these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out the front door, turn right, walk two blocks. On the other side of the street is a very solid, reliable, super clean and well run restaurant serving typical Mexican food. You will recognize it my the small army of women in working in the open kitchen which you see when you walk in - and the long lines if you go at prime time. Sorry I don't remember the name, but you can't miss it. HIGHLT recommended esp. when you just arrive and are casting around for reliable eating options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTere
Business
Las Vegas NV
Mar 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We love the location in center of everything! Walking distance to Historical sights great food and shopping definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Great option in Guadalajara

Outstanding customer service. They are ready to help and they address problems immediately. Also this is a great option for non-Spanish speakers or people whose Spanish is limited because there are many English speakers on the staff. It's a historic building with a beautiful classic lobby. I stayed in two different rooms. One was a little cramped, the other was fine. Lots of closet space. Walk in shower. The hotel has its own restaurant which is open long hours. The location is a mixed bag. You're right downtown and close to everything including lots of solid eating choices (two blocks east on Corona and on the north side of the the street there is a really good choice - sorry don't have name handy It's the one with the big open kitchen up front and tons of people cooking). The downside to the location is it's on the noisy side. Traffic, mechanical noises, some music clubs in the neighborhood. It's not terrible, but it's not bucolic. My baseline is NYC. If you're used to much quieter places it might be a bit much. That said, the quality of the customer service is excellent and that's something that is very much hit or miss in Mexican hotels (and hotels anywhere for that matter) This one is a solid hit. Try to get a room as high up as possible (the hotel has three floors). There are interior rooms that don't face the street but the only natural light source is from the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SEATAC
Business
Seattle WA
Mar 8, 2014

Excellent experience!!!!

Great Hotel to stay in Guadalajara I would recommend it 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMeads
Business
Mexico City
Feb 15, 2014

Overnite in Guadalajara

We booked at last minute. Historic colonial hotel right in the center of the historic district. Staff was wonderful, informative, spoke good English. Interior rooms are a bit dark and exterior room is a bit noisy as there is a lot of action on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ Visiting Mom
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect for Touring Guadalajara

Loved the historical feel to the whole hotel! Loved the beautiful views from my balcony! Loved the location... Great walking to everything! Loved the staff, always so nice & helpful! Loved Hotel Morales, will stay here again on my next trip to Guadalajara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must see the beautiful Cathdrals, Theater, Parks, Cantina and all the street vendor shopping. Oh don't forget to try the Papas w/hot suace sold all over from the street vendors, it's a must! Loved them, my favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy bien viaje
Business
Hawaii
Jan 10, 2014

Good Hotel; didn't love the city

The hotel offered everything we needed. They helped us with bus and taxi info. The city itself was too crowded and dirty for my tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Temoc
Business
Redwood city ca
Jan 9, 2014

Family

Fantastic the best like always, perfect location and for me 5 stars hotel, very nice is my second time stay here and I will be the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top