$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Castro Travels
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco
Jan 3, 2014

Fabulous short stay

With the exception of the receptionist at the time of our checking-in our stay was exceptional. From the decor to the location we enjoyed our brief stay, wishing we could have stayed longer. The valet that greeted us upon our arrival gave us a brief tour and assured us we would be safe. We walked around the city had a fun time and didn't worry about a thing.The location was the main reason for our safety and enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to will and deal and sample many of the different Mexican treats. Yummy stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerToo
Business
California
Dec 31, 2013

Great location in historic area!

Loved this hotel! Recommending it to family & friends. Had a balcony room with excellent service. Only reason not 5 star because the bed was too small for 2 large Americans. But we didn't want to move to an inside room because we love the city sounds. Loved the breakfast buffet & got hooked on green celery juice. Too bad they don't offer a continental breakfast special though. We especially loved the piano player in am, & mariachi's in the evenings. We want to return to Guadalajara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The taco restaurant across on the corner serves good tacos almost all night. Also, up one block is Gorditas regional food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanchezho
Business
Mexico
Dec 3, 2013

BEST LOCATION

It has the best location for first time tourists, since it's walking distance to all the historic landmarks, horse carriage rides, local food favorites, just take into consideration it is downtown traffic if you plan using a car. It is an all-suite hotel, very well adapted to the original colonial mansion it is built over. Staff should be friendlier for a 5 star venue. Great value if booked in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a horse carriage ride around the city, the driver is a well trained guide and for about 30 USD it is the best way to know what there is to see; you can always revisit your favorites on foot and take all the time you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo S.
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location

This Hotel is centrally located in the Historical district of Guadalajara. The service was amazing.. The concierge, Manuel, went above and beyond to take care of guests. The rooms are older, but you can tell that the staff pay attention to the details. This hotel is not Mandarin Oriental luxury, but it is a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan your stops before leaving the hotel. There is a lot to see, and you should plan a walking route in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dago Ibarra
Business
El Paso, Texas
Nov 19, 2013

Great Place to stay in Downtown Guadalajara

This is a great hotel if you want to visit downtown sites. You can walk anyway from here, convenient located near main avenues. Hotel is good, but avoid the rooms near the elevator. I stayed in room 202 close to it. It's too much nouse. You hear the mechanism all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cathedral, main square, Hospicio Cabanas, food everywhere !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traxxed
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

Superb

Everything about this hotel is just superb. The live piano player in the lobby in the afternoons, the staff, the pool, the details. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercado de San Juan de Dios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JEANSAN
Business
NOGALES, AZ
Oct 8, 2013

GREAT GETAWAY

HOTEL HAS BEEN REMOLDED AND IT IS VERY NICE, THE ROOM ARE BIG AND BEAUTIFULY DECORATED, THE PERSONNEL ARE VERY NICE AND HELPFUL, I WOULD REALLY RECOMMED THIS HOTEL...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lito96
Business
Nevada, USA
Sep 28, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

I had a great experience. The room was clean, hotel was quiet and overall it's a beautiful hotel with attentive staff. There is an elevator which is great, a restaurant and bar in the beautiful lobby. The rooms seem to have been recently remodeled. The hotel is just a couple of blocks away from Degollado which was great. I just had a great experience and will definitelly return to this hotel on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul The Halibut King
Business
Salem, Oregon
Jul 19, 2013

Great getaway

The staff were very personable and the rooms were exceptionally clean. We felt very comfortable and would recommend Hotel Morales to anyone. This was our first trip to Mexico and will not be the last. We are looking forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chata's restaurant has great food just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eli4591
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff!

We were blown away by the beauty of the hotel & the amazing staff. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. We didn't get to try the pool but it was lovely. When our ride couldn't arrive until 4 hours after checkout, the reception staff offered to keep our suitcases in a safe room for free! Will definitely come back & stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top