$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul The Halibut King
Salem, Oregon
Jul 19, 2013

Great getaway

The staff were very personable and the rooms were exceptionally clean. We felt very comfortable and would recommend Hotel Morales to anyone. This was our first trip to Mexico and will not be the last. We are looking forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chata's restaurant has great food just 2 blocks away.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eli4591
Portland, Oregon
Jul 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel with amazing staff!

We were blown away by the beauty of the hotel & the amazing staff. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. We didn't get to try the pool but it was lovely. When our ride couldn't arrive until 4 hours after checkout, the reception staff offered to keep our suitcases in a safe room for free! Will definitely come back & stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennyfrijole
Sitka, Alaska
Jun 5, 2013

Everything But the Front Desk

Location was amazing, room was to die for, view even better. Loved the pool on the roof, the restaurant downstairs was good, and the building itself was so beautiful - a converted mansion, it was HUGE! The wait staff and maid staff were amazing and always incredibly helpful and willing to do just about anything you needed at a moments notice. Out the front door was an amazing old cathedral and you were just a couple blocks from some other amazing locations and museums. The only problem was the front desk staff. The few times we had to deal with them, we always seemed to catch major attitude, even though we were always nice and polite - my husband is from Mexico, so there wasn't a language barrier. Before we got there, we had requested an early check in since our flight was getting in at 5am and we would be getting to the hotel around 6am or 7am. We were assured a room would be ready for us. It literally takes over 24 hours to get from Alaska to Mexico so to say we were tired when we got there is an understatement - as we dragged ourselves in to the lobby, we were informed that not only was our room not ready, NO ROOMS would be ready until 1pm. When we asked what we were supposed to do for all that time and with all our luggage, we were smirked at and told to enjoy the hotel's facilities. It was still dark out, what were we supposed to do - lounge by the pool? If checking in early was gonna be a problem, we would have booked a separate hotel just for that morning, whatever it took, but we were ASSURED we would have a room, "no problem!". When we brought this situation up to the manager, we were offered a complimentary dinner on the hotel - but a couple days later when we went to have it, we were told that we would have to to wait for the manager to actually be at the hotel and he was out of town for the rest of week. I felt a little swindled. We were also not given instructions on how to use the hotel phone to call the US, given attitude when we asked, then no one told us we had to pay and that they wouldn't simply bill our room and we received a rude phone call demanding we come pay the phone bill in cash. We were also never told that the electricity isn't automatically on in the rooms - you must insert your room key into a device that turns it on (genius way to save power, though!); needless to say it took some bumbling around and a phone call to figure it out. The hotel was beautiful, but their front desk staff needs an overhaul. I don't like paying A LOT of money to get treated rudely for a week by the people I am paying. I don't know if I would stay here again - the hotel itself was absolutely amazing, a piece of 1920's Mexico brought to life, but the front desk staff might have ruined all that for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can see like four cathedrals/grand buildings from the balconies. You are surrounded by history, not to mention delicious restaurants and shops.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the backpack traveler
Los Angeles, California
May 19, 2013

great Location

this hotel was in located in the center of the city and I loved staying here. the rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here the next time I go to Guadalajara. The hotel has a colonial design and is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gormer
tucson, az.
Apr 27, 2013

it's ok but.............

needs to fix the bottom of the shower door (install gaskets) water drain out.... staff doing well! good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good enough!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estherg
Chicago
Apr 25, 2013

Great Place

The staff is very accommodating. I got wonderful service from the concierge Manuel Mejia even before I checked into the hotel. I had emailed him with questions and he really came through and really helped. The hotel has a great location and the hotel and layout of the hotel is unique. The only things that could be better are larger rooms and larger bathrooms. Also the restaurant (only had breakfast there once) I thought could have been better - or maybe I am just used to what I'm used to from the U.S. Overall, I would definitely recommend it for the ambiance, the uniqueness, accommodating staff, great location, and price. I would definitely go back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Institute of Cultural Cabanas, the Placio del Gobierno, the Cathedral and the Plaza de la Liberacion and Teatro Degollado. Make sure to get a guide to explain what you are seeing.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie in Chapala
Chapala, Jalisco Mexico
Apr 24, 2013

Great location

You can walk to everything in downtown Guadalajara from this location. Clean hotel. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops and plazas in walking distance.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turbobore
San Antonio
Apr 16, 2013

Not worth $200+

I have stayed here several times in the past two years. It is in a great location if you like the downtown area. The costs of my past stays has averaged $60 per night and this is a fair price for this hotel. They are now asking $200+ per night and there is no way this hotel is worth this. When I stayed here in Nov. 2012 the hot water for the tub ran so slow it took 30 minutes to fill the tub. Plus, I had to use a plastic bag to seal the drain. It is a nice historic hotel but if you are going to spend $100+ per night there are many better options to select from in this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael El Norteno
California
Mar 13, 2013

Great family vacation

It was a nice vacation...The people were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

San Juan de Dios, Degollado, Hospicio Cabanas, Churchs, Down town, Resturants, etc. were all walking distance

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gapguy1317
Dallas Tx
Mar 9, 2013

Fantastic

What a great location! Great Place! Had a wonderful time! I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the taco stand right across the street! Wow

Back to menu Return to top