$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maricosa
Los Angeles
Aug 30, 2012

Great mini vacation

It was great, we went for a wedding and got an experience we will never forgot. It's located right in the middle. Restaurants, parks, museums are all walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at "El Mexicano" great restaurant. It has great staff, food and drinks.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
May 22, 2010

pretty good

the bellboys were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at la gorda or la chata. ask the bellboys where they are.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin13
redwood city, ca
Mar 31, 2011

Not so great!!!

I have read really good reviews about the hotel in different websites but the truth is that is not something out of the ordinary. At least not worth the price. I do have to say that the location was very good since it is located in downtown Guadalajara. In general it is a nice hotel that with colonial features but not worth $1000 pesos a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

All tourist points are really close by since it is downtown GDL.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beegees4life
Turlock, Ca
Mar 23, 2011

The 'Okay' Experience We Had

It was all good except there were some thngs that were missing. Like curtosy and good costermer service that a four star hotel SHOULD have. There was no internet in the rooms as promised and we had to actually lend us a cable for a deposit down stairs. Another example;one time when we placed the card inside of the room(which you must for the power) the wind blew the door and we were stuck outside. We had to PURCHASE another piece of plastic for they asked for a 'deposit' of five USD. The staff was 'okay'. Not wonderful as you expect a four star hotel to be. Their was just something missing... The resturant down stairs... I wouldn't recomend you to eat there. It was plain awefull. I had lost my appetite as soon as I placed that piece of food in my mouth. I would have to say the ONLY good thing about this hotel is that its in a historical downtown area and is close to historical monuments. Overall; I rate this hotel 3 1/2 Stars. I am very dissapointed. I expected more from this FOUR star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping here was good. Many plazas near by. I'll tell you one thing; it was a good experience.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKMartin
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2013

Lots of historic charm

The location is perfect And close to lots of historic tourist sites. The hotel itself is historic and very charming, the staff is great and the entire hotel is spotless. My only complaint is that the room is a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach,CA
Aug 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel but terible acoustics

Hotel is in a great location. Its beautiful and very confortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside we found was that even tho we were in the 3rd floor we could hear people talking and laughing in the lobby, the elevator humming as it went up & down,closing / opening of doors ect .... very glad that it all stopped at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cathedral, Teatro de Gollado, & Ospicio Cabanas are a few blocks away

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Lovely architecture and location

We stayed two days. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. The only downside was that we were in a non-smoking section, but smoke wafted up from the inner patio on lower floors. Also, the air conditioner was extremely loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buddd
Panama city, Panama
Nov 17, 2010

Marvelous Morales

My family and I enjoyed our hotel stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location of the hotel was perfect because it was near restaurants and shops and there was plenty of tourist activity to see and do. The only knock that we have is that there were never enough towels which made us constantly call room service and one day when we returned from breakfast the faulty toilet seat had been removed and not replaced which meant you guessed it--another call to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMOMEXICO
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great Location for downtown GDL

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales and I forgot how thin the walls are. I was given a cornor room (right next to the elevator), where you could hear the elevator go and down, and people talking. Other then that the service was really good, clean rooms, good food, and walking distance to all historic downtown life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit La Chata or La Chata. Great places to have breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
May 22, 2010

pretty good

the bellboys were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at la gorda or la chata. ask the bellboys where they are.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like Nice People
Chicago
Feb 16, 2009

Great Space, Poor Front Desk

I was very pleased to see the restored lobby with its huge fountain. The physical location was great, the bell staff helpful, the food just so-so, but each time I had an "encounter" with the front desk, I was sorely disappointed in the lack of interest. I felt like they were doing me a big favor just talking to me--taking away time from them gossiping with eachother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata just donw the street, 2 blocks, was great.

Back to menu Return to top