$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mcca
Jalisco, Mexico
Jun 13, 2014

Overnight in Guadalajara

Lovely old hotel. Staff is very attentive and helpful. Beautiful old building in walking distance of many places of interest. Room very large and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
'Nilla
Puerto Vallarta
May 15, 2014

Love this hotel

What an incredible hotel for the price! Second stay and it was just as nice as the first. Clean, comfortable, well appointed, friendly staff, and central location. I will be staying again my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diego325
SF, CA
May 7, 2014

Room For Improvement

While this hotel is centrally located and it's staff is generally professional (with the exception of a hotel clerk who carried my bag to my room upon my arrival only forget me the next day and accost me in the street demanding my room number because he suspected I didn't belong in the hotel), the room itself left a great deal to be desired. For one thing, the room safe was ridiculously complicated, requiring a series of steps to both lock and unlock it that I've not only never seen before in all my travels, but came without any instructions. As a result, I had to have someone come to my room twice to unjam the safe and to explain how to use it. Another problem with the room was that the bathroom had no shower curtain. As a result, the bathroom floor was absolutely soaked after I took a shower. Finally, while the room did have coffee maker, it's cord was so short that I couldn't plug it into the wall anywhere in the room (forcing me to make coffee in the bathroom!) To add insult to injury, when I finally went to pour myself a cup of coffee, the lid fell off the coffee pot because it had never been attached. When you combine all this with the fact that the walls in the room were very thin, it made for a somewhat unpleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise Boss
Yuma, Arizona
Apr 6, 2014

Arizona Girls Weekend

We visited from a Wednesday to Saturday and every second in the hotel was amazing. The hotel is beyond quaint and the staff is very friendly. The food is delicious though we only ate breakfast there. We were walking distance from the main center in town and its historic landmarks like El Teatro Degollado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant Barriachi has amazing food and service. Best mariachi in town and the restaurants decorated with amazing traditional pieces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequentworldtraveler
San Diego, California
Mar 27, 2014

Great hotel

Despite the unattractive outwardly appearance, the hotel is great with a nice touch. We had a room with the window that opened out, so we could see outside the hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.Pon
San Francisco ,CA
Mar 23, 2014

One of the BEST hotels I've ever stayed in !!!!

Checking in was a snap. I had read other reviews about this hotel. Not many bad reviews. All of the bad reviews never happened to us. Inside rooms hallway were not dark at all. Lights had motion sensors on them. Wifi signals were great on the inside room too !!! A plus for us. Front desk did say, if we didn't like the room. They would move us. I have travel a lot in my days but I have never slept this good away from home ever!!! Beds were great. Room was very clean. Restaurant downstairs had great service and good music on Tuesdays and Thursday. Great location !!! Close to everything !! Walking distance to Churches, shopping, currency exchange 2 blocks away, other good restaurants like El Gordo and Chata"s a block and half away from the Hotel. Can't say enough good things about the Hotel. The pool and gym was nice too. Just a wonderful place and great Vacation over all. Planning on coming back next year !!! Don't know why they gave this place a 4 star. I would have given this hotel more than 5 stars plus !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Currency exchange stores are 2 blocks away. Better exchange rates there for your money. The Hotel front desk will tell you that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey
Dallas, TX
Mar 22, 2014

great hotel in great location

Spent four nights here in March 2014.. Hotel is very attractive, built around interior courtyard with four floors. Restaurant with live piano music during the breakfast hours. Nice pool on the fourth floor with some sitting areas and a small gym. Roof terrace on the fifth floor with some okay views of Guadalajara and some good sitting areas. Room was average, nicely furnished with a good shower area. Would suggest that you get an outside room is you want to see outside.... there was some street noise with the doors open, but it was fairly quiet with the doors closed. The inside rooms only have a window on the corridors in the hotel, you would have to leave the drapes closed so that no one could look into the room. Location is excellant. Only 5 blocks south of the Cathedral and plazas.... near the market.... the plaza at San Francisco is across the street with lots of venders and some good food. Several gay bars just down the street for some late night action. A little distant to California bar, but I made the walk several times without a problem even late at night... about 15 blocks. Felt very safe and comfortable in all of the centro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2014

Solid choice for Guadalajara

This is a very well run hotel with an outstanding staff. I stayed for 10 days and everyone from the bellmen to the front desk were consistently helpful and pleasant. English is spoken, but they will also let you try out your Spanish if you like too. As in all things with this hotel, they are ready to work with you. Beautiful lobby and roof decks with swimming pool, gym and what even looks like a yoga room. Location is superb, but busy. Think midtown Manhattan. There are music clubs close by and they operate at night, but they play Mexican and Latin music, not thumbing bass dance music. I found it pleasant. Your mileage may vary. Speaking of music, when I was there every day they had a fantastic pianist in the lobby and at various times in the afternoons a small ensemble playing Mexican music. There is a restaurant, but there are also many solid food options within a block or two of the hotel. Room quality varies (layout and elevation) if there are options when you check it, explore them - and the higher up the better. Bottom line is the staff understands that they are there to serve - something very few hotels at any price range seem to "get" these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out the front door, turn right, walk two blocks. On the other side of the street is a very solid, reliable, super clean and well run restaurant serving typical Mexican food. You will recognize it my the small army of women in working in the open kitchen which you see when you walk in - and the long lines if you go at prime time. Sorry I don't remember the name, but you can't miss it. HIGHLT recommended esp. when you just arrive and are casting around for reliable eating options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTere
Las Vegas NV
Mar 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We love the location in center of everything! Walking distance to Historical sights great food and shopping definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Great option in Guadalajara

Outstanding customer service. They are ready to help and they address problems immediately. Also this is a great option for non-Spanish speakers or people whose Spanish is limited because there are many English speakers on the staff. It's a historic building with a beautiful classic lobby. I stayed in two different rooms. One was a little cramped, the other was fine. Lots of closet space. Walk in shower. The hotel has its own restaurant which is open long hours. The location is a mixed bag. You're right downtown and close to everything including lots of solid eating choices (two blocks east on Corona and on the north side of the the street there is a really good choice - sorry don't have name handy It's the one with the big open kitchen up front and tons of people cooking). The downside to the location is it's on the noisy side. Traffic, mechanical noises, some music clubs in the neighborhood. It's not terrible, but it's not bucolic. My baseline is NYC. If you're used to much quieter places it might be a bit much. That said, the quality of the customer service is excellent and that's something that is very much hit or miss in Mexican hotels (and hotels anywhere for that matter) This one is a solid hit. Try to get a room as high up as possible (the hotel has three floors). There are interior rooms that don't face the street but the only natural light source is from the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search