$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Morales -- Very Good for the Price

This was our second stay at Hotel Morales. We chose Hotel Morales for it high ratings, decent price and its downtown location, which is close to family we were visiting. The building has been beautifully restored to its (perceived) original colonial past, though I doubt it was as nice back then. On our first stay in a junior suite, we had a balcony overlooking the street. It was nice to have a window but the streets get noisy in rush hour. We took a regular suite on our second stay. This room was among the many rooms that have no outdoor view due it being adjacent to another building. This room was much more quiet, but not being able to see the sun come up can be disconcerting. It is similar to an inside cabin on a cruise ship. We tended to sleep later than we wanted but were well rested. The toilet leaked when we first arrived. They fixed it while we were gone for the day and had no further trouble. The A/C had a mildew smell. We didn't ask them to fix it. I figured there wouldn't be much they could do about it. Typical of Mexico, they're cost conscious, we always had to ask for more than the two sets towels provided (4 of us), and you have to put your hotel key in a slot to keep the electricity on, and they don't provide you with enough drinking water, but at least it was free unlike most hotels. Plenty of people speak English. The food is good and reasonably priced -- I didn't get sick this trip, which means I was lucky everywhere I ate this trip. Finally, our room was cleaned up well each day thanks to the daily small tip to the housekeeper. We'll almost certainly stay there again next time we go visit family in Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the restaurants with lots of people waiting to get inside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacay Bud
Business
Imperial Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Great Location and Wonderful Get-a-way

The hotel was very clean and centrally located to many historical sights. It was clean and the staff was very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jul 26, 2010

Great location, lovely hotel!

Great hotel and they are adding 30 more rooms in the building next door. The staff was very helpful. A lively trio played in the lobby on Wednesday and Thursday evenings. I read previous reviews before making the reservations and the information was very useful. La Chata, and La Gorda were great places to enjoy well made typical food. The bubbling beef molcajete at the Maestranza (the famous bullfighting bar)was yummy and they had an enjoyable non traditional flamenco group performing. Bariachi with folkloric and mariachi performances was worth it. The filet in mole negro was fabulous. We went to two performances at the Teatro Degollado, a gem of a theater with excellent acoustics. Ask for a seat from which the stage view is not obstructed by the balcony pillars. The three of us agreed that the whole experience is worth a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam M.
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great location and within walking distances to most historic attractions or short taxi ride, which were very available. The Hotel has been restored and upgraded beautifully. The lobby and sitting areas were amazing. Rooms were clean/staff very friendly and helpful. I had room in the back off the street, so very quiet and restful. Two computers in the business center were easily accessable. Went elsewhere to eat and for bar/lounge, as these two areas could use work. Food passable, but preferred La Goda or La Chata up the street. The one night we had drinks in the bar, it closed early. Mariachi entertainment only fair in the lounge. Appetisers were passable. Breakfast buffet passable, but again, would rather eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Open air market at Tonola was a gresat expierence. Biggest in world. Get there early, bring plenty of small denomination money. They often do not have change when they first open up. Bring a had, dress cool, and have a ball. Best market prices on items you will find, and plenty of them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the sisters
Business
Las Vegas Nevada
Jul 18, 2010

wonderful experience

Friendly staff, and wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel in Centro historico

This hotel is a gem. The locals we met agreed that it was a lovely property, much nicer than some of the more well-known hotels in Centro of Guadalajara. It is an historic building that sat empty for almost 30 years (because of the downturn in the downtown area) until it was completely restored in 2003-2005. Service was very friendly and helpful (even with my miserable Spanish, in a city that does not have as many English-speakers as some other cities in Mexico). It is close to everything downtown, as well as to stops for the major tourist bus routes. It is not a particularly large hotel, which is a plus in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, Ca
Jul 15, 2010

Beautiful

This place is so beautiful, gave me a sense of peace , and happiness. I enjoyed sitting in the lobby, the color scheme is so enviting. I would return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward California
Jun 30, 2010

hotel morales gudalajara mexico

I enjoyed the location. the set up of the room was really nice. i stayed n room 212. it had a king bed and tv with closet in safe 2 nightstands beuautiful furniture. and a tv in room with bed. then u walk toward the back behind the bed area was a table with two chairs and another tv and bathroom n shower n sink. i like the idea of the shower being seperate from the toilet and the sink was seperate from the toilet n shower area. but the two tvs were awesome becuz if two guests were in the room u can watch different stuff. or if one guest wanted to sleep the other could go in the back an watch tv. awesome. and i luv the fact they spoke english very well.it had two little balconys one by the bed area and one in the back by the table. they were small balconys. u can only stand there , it would of been nice to pull a chair out n sit. there was a roof top viewing area which was beautiful for pictures and sitting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the cocina restaurant i think thats the name of it. the steak was great the cheese apetizers great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Central location, clean rooms

Hotel Morales is in a central location that allows you to walk to many of the historical and government buildings in the area. However, note that the area can be a bit loud (lots of bus traffic on the corner). This hotel is not for a tranquil get away but is a great choice if you're comfortable walking and exploring the city. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are quite nice (the bed was softer than most beds we had while traveling through Mexico). The one down side was that we did occasionally smell sewage... we were able to fix this by throwing a towel over one of the floor drains in the bathroom. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the more seasoned travelers who like to check out cities on their own and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ho-hum... but there are some amazing restaurants in Guadalajara. "Asador La Vaca Argentina" is a great Argentinian steak house about a 40 minute walk through the city (take a cab there and you can easily walk back along one of the main roads). There was also a Swiss restaurant in the block ("Luscherly") that was hands down delicious! These two eateries are musts while you're in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Lovely architecture and location

We stayed two days. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. The only downside was that we were in a non-smoking section, but smoke wafted up from the inner patio on lower floors. Also, the air conditioner was extremely loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top