$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2007

Great value for the money!!!

This hotel is very grand looking in the Lobby. There are breautiful arches, and a magnificant fountain in the lobby. The location is great and cabs are always at the door. It is very close to some great resttuarants. The restuarant is OK for breakfast, but if you wanyt a great evcening meal, there are better places than the hotel. The rooms are adequate, but the beds are extrememly HARD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The front desk was very gracious in locating some beautiful restuarants, and the cab fair was always less thean $10.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Morales -- Very Good for the Price

This was our second stay at Hotel Morales. We chose Hotel Morales for it high ratings, decent price and its downtown location, which is close to family we were visiting. The building has been beautifully restored to its (perceived) original colonial past, though I doubt it was as nice back then. On our first stay in a junior suite, we had a balcony overlooking the street. It was nice to have a window but the streets get noisy in rush hour. We took a regular suite on our second stay. This room was among the many rooms that have no outdoor view due it being adjacent to another building. This room was much more quiet, but not being able to see the sun come up can be disconcerting. It is similar to an inside cabin on a cruise ship. We tended to sleep later than we wanted but were well rested. The toilet leaked when we first arrived. They fixed it while we were gone for the day and had no further trouble. The A/C had a mildew smell. We didn't ask them to fix it. I figured there wouldn't be much they could do about it. Typical of Mexico, they're cost conscious, we always had to ask for more than the two sets towels provided (4 of us), and you have to put your hotel key in a slot to keep the electricity on, and they don't provide you with enough drinking water, but at least it was free unlike most hotels. Plenty of people speak English. The food is good and reasonably priced -- I didn't get sick this trip, which means I was lucky everywhere I ate this trip. Finally, our room was cleaned up well each day thanks to the daily small tip to the housekeeper. We'll almost certainly stay there again next time we go visit family in Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the restaurants with lots of people waiting to get inside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jun 2, 2010

Great hotel... just hunted...

I went to Guadalajara on vacation with my girlfriend and some friends.I looked online for the best deal and [...] had it.Great location, great rooms, spacious bathroom shower, classical decor, valet parking, great service, very clean...Everything is walking distance, you're located in downtown.Only problem was that the hotel was hunted. We heard a lot of noises, the door knob being moved every night, steps outside our room, a little kid reported to be playing around the halls. We couldn't sleep the last night, we heard the doors being forced and no-one was there when we ran to check for people... They told us that 3rd and 4th floors are the ones that report these activities, so I'd recommend staying in the 1st or 2nd floor (we were in the 3rd floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata, you gotta try this place, it was amazing. If there's a line, don't worry, you'll get free beer while waiting in line. Also, give a try to JugoTortiPollo, they have great morning start selection (fruits -juice and salad, sandwiches and chicken); the place next door is also good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmoothDog
Business
Los Angeles, vicinty
Nov 1, 2010

Centrally located

The hotel has a good resturant, good food & good cocktails. There's a pool table to relax and enjoyed some drinks. On the rooftop there's some chairs to sit back and see the city while having some food or drinks. The only discrepancy is that we would have liked a kingsize bed, we had to settle for two queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good place to eat a dish called Barbacoa just a few minutes away at the "Nueve Esquinas Birria". (9 corners Birria) also try "La Gorda" and "La Chata". Take a taxi to San Pedro Parian if you want to listen to mariachi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Driftless Don
Business
Gays Mills, Wisconsin
Jan 16, 2011

Old Mexico ambience, updated standards

Staff was great, helpful, bilingual. They got us a taxi to the airport at a better price than we were getting on our own. The room was more than adequate, the ambience sedate, breakfast piano was nice touch. A little more Americanized than we usually travel, but good for our circumstances. Fair price. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Zocalo, Cathedral, Pedestrian mall, Mercato Libertad, and Hospicio Cabana are all within walking reach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 18, 2010

Very nice historic hotel

This is a wonderful, renovated historic hotel. It is located in the middle of busy, urban Guadalajara and I enjoyed being able to walk to many shops, museums, parks, tiendas, and restaurants. If you're looking for a super quiet place, this is not the hotel for you but the hotel can't control the outside night life noise (which wasn't that bad but is something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sea/Maz
Jan 8, 2011

Great Place with a Glitch

This was our second time staying here. The hotel has been kept up very well. It is perfectly located to enjoy the sights and people of Guadalajara.My only complaint is that the hotel did not receive my [...]reservation and stuck us in a corner/hole room. It would have been nice if we could have enjoyed the same accommodations as last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly located to see the historic areas of Guadalajara, catch the bus to Tonala & Tlaquepaque, eat at good eating places and get to all the different shopping areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vallartense
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 5, 2011

Great Historical Hacienda

The Hacienda Hotel was just beyond beautiful. Small boutique like hotel with great displays of artwork, old furniture and the hacienda feel to the hotel made our stay just wonderful. The only thing missing was a swimming pool & jacuzzi. Although, they are expanding and I hear the new building will have a state of the art pool and gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorena
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 28, 2011

Great location

Very centrally located. It's about 30 minutes from the airport but worth the trip. Very cool historic building with large and clean rooms. It's quiet at night even though it's downtown. staff is also helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an outstanding taco restaurant across the street from the hotel call Las Fornelas. A great place to grab lunch or dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Feb 10, 2010

great location

this is a very nice hotel in a great location, next to alot of restaurants. an walkin distance to the catheral and all the colonial sites. its very clean and a very nice hotel. the only bad thing is that they r under costruction right next door. they are building more rooms. so you will be waken up by nine am. no sleeping late here, other than that its a great hotel. good staff very helpful:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top