$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
234 reviews
Spotless hotel

This hotel is very clean and spotless throughout. I've stayed at many places in Guadalajara and... See full review

  • Ruthie Rod31
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Stay

I had a great stay and will return. This hotel was very clean and close to everything. See full review

  • Liza from Houston
  • Aug 17, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go Now
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great centrally located hotel with atmosphere

I found this hotel through an on-line service and booked it. It couldn't have been better! The hotel is in a converted colonial style house, with interior courtyards. Decorating is very tasteful and comfortable. The room was well lit. The breakfast buffet is a reasonable value, and the hotel is only 3 blocks from the cathedral. They have a small fitness center on the roof deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holmes 52
Augusta, GA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

In Guad for a wedding

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this delightful hotel and experienced none of the negatives that some of the other reviews have complained about. Our room was an outside balcony room with a double pane glass door. There was a little street noise, but it was not awful. Plus, you have to understand that in downtown Guad, in an old hotel you will not have total silence. The staff was courteous and prompt, and the room was spotless. Yes the room has a laminate floor, but for less than $80/ night is that really a big deal? The bullfight crowd tends to be a partying bunch so you might want to check to find out when that season is in full swing if you want to avoid rowdiness. Breakfast at La Chata. Get there before 9:00 AM for little or no wait

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

See Hospicio Cabanas orphanage for awesome Orozco murals

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canucks
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 6, 2011

Great hotel in Guadalajara

If you want to visit old Guadalajara (and there is a lot to see!), this location cannot be beat. You are within a walking distance to most tourist attractions, great restaurants, cafes, shops. The hotel is in an old but recently rennovated building, with very nice architectural features. Rooms are spacious and well appointed; very comfortable beds; clean bathrooms; well-working free internet (if you request a cable - wireless is not too great); TV with a reasonable selection of channels; a coffee maker in the room; you get two complementary bottles of water every day. Some rooms have only windows on the inside of the building (looking into a large but fully enclosed atrium) so you don't have any view and don't know if it is a night or a day. If this matters to you, you may want to specifically ask for a room with exterior windows (we asked and were moved on the second day). If you choose a room with exterior windows, you should expect quite a bit of noise from the street though, as the hotel is located near a busy intersection and there is a bar across the narrow street on one side of the building. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool on the third floor - nice but not heated, so the water was pretty cold in late October. The gym is basic but very little used so you can have it to yourself. The hotel has a restaurant - we only had breakfast there which was quite nice (probably the best breakfast buffet we have had in recent years for under $10). Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and helpful - we had a great stay and will choose this hotel again if we return to Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two great restaurants within a short distance: La Chata and La Gorda. They don't take reservations and there are at times long line-ups, but they move quite quickly and the food is definitely worth the wait! Everything is super fresh and delicious, the food is nicely presented and very reasonably priced. Friendly service (very little English but great attitude!) makes for a really pleasant experience. At La Chata a dish called pozole is a must - a traditional dish (soup-like) with corn and all sorts of meats (you can choose from pork, chicken, etc.). They also have great breakfasts. At La Gorda, we would recommend enchiladas with mole (the best mole we had in Mexico!)

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSFW
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 1, 2011

Value and Central Locatiojn

Great for us to visit all the historical sites and Central squares of this Old Colonial Town established in 1542. Catherdal built in 1531 across the street and only a few blocks from Theatre Delgado , Artisan Market, Museums and Legislative Bldgs. Cabanas ( old Orphanage) is a must see and still within 1k walking distance. Staff super friendly , private cars booked if needed. Inner courtyard on all floors a real Oasis and feeling of serenity in a crazy busy city. Negative is the street noise at night , but the quiet rooms without an outside window were musty. Pool on the roof really nice. For the price a great stay! Breakfasts and food, wholesome and very reasonable. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre Delgado a must see only 6 blocks away .. as is Cabanas , a longer walk ( approx another 800m )down the pedestrian mall; now a center for Arts and Culture. No Shopping I could recommend.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JQTraveler
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Beautiful

The best part about my stay was looking around the hotel. It is historic and very pretty. The bed was a little hard and my wife said the pillows were a little big and hard for her. I thought they were fine. Noise transfers pretty easily here but we weren't really bothered by it. The taco place across the street is incredible! As is the restaurant down the block to the right a little called Gorda-something. We were close walking distance to the center of town where we saw the mercado lots of sights. We would most likely stay there again if we were back in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The taco place across the street was soo good! Probably the best thing we had there was the tripa taco. The staff there was friendly and one guy spoke english well enough to describe the local dishes.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goalie Mom
Iowa
Oct 22, 2011

Hospitable

I enjoyed the area and all the interesting places within walking distance. It's a busy area but safe and polite to tourists. A few of the local restaurants had menus in English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chikys
Wilmington, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Perfect Place in Guadalajara

The hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Guadalajara. The hotel was near many wonderful sights. The stay there was amazing. The workers there were very attentive and respectful. They would always go clean our room, have our car ready, among many other things. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We truly recommend this hotel. Next time we go to Guadalajara, we will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

catedral,hospicio cabanas,and many other places.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MX traveler
Seattle WA
Sep 25, 2011

Central hotel that's close to everything

Our trip was a quick 2 day excursion to the major histiorical sites and shopping in the San Juan de Dios Mercado. The hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. It's a great historical building and our room was clean and updated. We had a great stay and would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the San Juan de Dios Mercado (artesanias, food, etc) and neighboring jewelry markets for great shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Art and Nicole
Long Beach, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great experience

We wanted to stay at a hotel that had more of a colonial feel. We saw pictures of the Morales hotel and couldn't believe it, especially after we priced it. We didn't want to get our hopes up, after all we were only paying $70 a night which is less than half the price of other hotels similar to the Morales. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the second we got there. We had a rough idea of what we wanted to do in Guadalajara but they sure guided us in the right direction. The room was very clean! Having a remote for the a/c was nice and was very quiet too. Gorgeous sitting area right in front of our room. We read reviews about the hotel being noisy at nights on the lower levels but we didn't experience any problems. We slept through our nights ok and noise was never an issue. The way the floor in the shower is built doesnt let the water drain correctly. It seems to puddle a bit when showering but still keeps water inside shower area. Not a big deal! Staying at hotel Morales was a great experience and would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try La Chata restaurant. Great food!!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teena
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

Even Better.

They have added a swimming pool and gym... so after all the good eating in Guadalajara you can work off a little of it... This is my second stay at this hotel and the customer service is excellent. I believe they work hard to make sure you have what you need. I will stay there again it is a perfect location to El Centro and to all the sightseeing spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search