$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
71 reviews
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location,... See full review

  • Elroy
  • Jul 31, 2013
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 71
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elroy
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2013

Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location, nice comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy multitude of shops and street vendors

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara Guy
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2013

New Year's in Guadalajara!

Overall the hotel was a really nice hotel to stay in. The only negative I would have is that the staff is not very friendly or helpful (but not mean) and there were really tiny ants crawling in the bathroom. Luckily I had mosquito spray that quickly eradicated that problem?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard J
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Location Is It's Biggest Assset

The Hotel de Mendoza couldn't be better located in the heart of the city's historic district. The hotel itself is average. The room I stayed in was spacious even if the bad was too small for me to sleep comfortably in. It was freshly repainted which was obvious from the smell when I checked in. The air conditioning did not work well, but luckily the nights well cool. The worst part of the room was the shower: there was absolutely no water pressure - I could have had a better shower using the sink. The staff is friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you the best they can. I have stayed here before and did not have these problems, so I wouldn't say they're indicative of the hotel in general - I may have perhaps been given a faulty room. I would consider staying here again, but I would insist on checking the AC and water pressure first next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 2, 2011

Very Nice

Room was clean, bed was comfortable and had a nice TV. It is conveniently located, has a beautiful look and feel, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The wifi could have been better, or this review would be a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 2, 2011

Very Nice

Room was clean, bed was comfortable and had a nice TV. It is conveniently located, has a beautiful look and feel, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The wifi could have been better, or this review would be a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mercado R
Las Vegas nv
Nov 1, 2010

unbeatable location & price!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great Hotel,service and great location for sites of interest!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mercado R
Las Vegas nv
Nov 1, 2010

unbeatable location & price!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great Hotel,service and great location for sites of interest!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wethersfield, CT
Jun 5, 2010

Nice location!

Our stay was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very willing to help with whatever we needed. The only problem we encountered was the wi-fi was temporarily down one evening (hardly a problem). I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wethersfield, CT
Jun 5, 2010

Nice location!

Our stay was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very willing to help with whatever we needed. The only problem we encountered was the wi-fi was temporarily down one evening (hardly a problem). I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top