$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
View map of Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Nice people in a historic hotel

The staff is very friendly and they look for accomodate your individual needs under their... See full review

  • Duboncito
  • Jul 17, 2015
Excellent location

This hotel is right next to the Degollado theater, in the downtown area and walking distance from... See full review

  • anchicle
  • Apr 26, 2015
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 48
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ter trob
Business
MENLO PARK
Apr 13, 2015

Fun Guadalajara

Great location right across the street from main plaza in town. Lots of museums opera house with free music events 2Xs a week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara Guy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2013

New Year's in Guadalajara!

Overall the hotel was a really nice hotel to stay in. The only negative I would have is that the staff is not very friendly or helpful (but not mean) and there were really tiny ants crawling in the bathroom. Luckily I had mosquito spray that quickly eradicated that problem?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard J
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Location Is It's Biggest Assset

The Hotel de Mendoza couldn't be better located in the heart of the city's historic district. The hotel itself is average. The room I stayed in was spacious even if the bad was too small for me to sleep comfortably in. It was freshly repainted which was obvious from the smell when I checked in. The air conditioning did not work well, but luckily the nights well cool. The worst part of the room was the shower: there was absolutely no water pressure - I could have had a better shower using the sink. The staff is friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you the best they can. I have stayed here before and did not have these problems, so I wouldn't say they're indicative of the hotel in general - I may have perhaps been given a faulty room. I would consider staying here again, but I would insist on checking the AC and water pressure first next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Business
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 2, 2011

Very Nice

Room was clean, bed was comfortable and had a nice TV. It is conveniently located, has a beautiful look and feel, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The wifi could have been better, or this review would be a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mercado R
Business
Las Vegas nv
Nov 1, 2010

unbeatable location & price!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great Hotel,service and great location for sites of interest!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wethersfield, CT
Jun 5, 2010

Nice location!

Our stay was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very willing to help with whatever we needed. The only problem we encountered was the wi-fi was temporarily down one evening (hardly a problem). I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 15, 2009

Unexpected cozy atmosphere

I was in Guadalajara to attend the Book Fair. The hotel is a bit far from the Expo building but on the other hand it is in the very middle of downtown Guadalajara. Very suitable for tourists. Funny Spanish colonial style. Somehow like being in a church, but I understand it used to be a convent and there is actually a church next door. It does deefiniteluy have a personality! You can have a drink at the restaurant, which is okay, but pity it misses a bar. Quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to restaurants and shops. Most historicaal monuments in the neighbourhood. It is a monument in itself, actually. Definitely perfect if you want to visit the city, but also quite acceptable for business travellers looking for something different.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDAnysUSA
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Pass this one by

Was told there was Air Conditioning, but hotel had it's central air shutdown as they didn't think it was necessary, even though it was very humid and it would have helped. There was only one ice machine in the building and you had to walk down 3 flights to get to it in a back corridor by the kitchen. There were two bottles of water on the bathroom counter with a note that said use of more than one bottle would incur a charge of 15 pesos. Got the feeling that most of the staff was unhappy to be there. Had the same meal in the restaurant that I'd had in a different Mexican hotel the night before. The prior night's I would rate a 10, Mendoza's I would rate a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is in the Historic district.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sea view
Business
seattle
May 25, 2009

Sun, plazas, fountains

Great hotel with modest rooms, clean and functional with effective air conditioning (which is essential). Charming courtydard pool looks up at dome of old cathedral. Location is superb for walking among historic bldgs. Hotel restaurant is well appointed with decent menu. Free wireless a pleasant suprise - checked my email by the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top