$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
71 reviews
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location,... See full review

  • Elroy
  • Jul 31, 2013
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turbobore
San Antonio
Feb 25, 2013

Good choice for downtown.

I travel to GDL on a regular basis and stay in different central hotels each time and I enjoyed the Mendoza. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The room and public areas were very clean. The bathroom tub and sink had great water pressure and hot water was hot. The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was a bit to firm for me. Of course I have pillow top mattress at home and am used to that. We the complementary breakfast special with our deal and it was excellent. The Mexicana breakfast is great and included robust coffee. a plate of fresh and delicious fruit and a plate of beans Mexican eggs and chilikilis. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cnazta
gdl mex
Feb 20, 2013

breakfast included but no big bed

booked for a queen size bed and had 2 small ones no good 4 us being a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebadiya
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great location and thats about it....

Great central location to the GDL Centro but the rooms decor was aged and the beds were hard and i couldnt sleep....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP Mtz Aranda
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 19, 2011

Hotel de Mendoza

It seems that all rooms are being reconditioned. I had the bad luck of staying in an old room. The bed was very hard, and didnt like the rug but service was excellent, location perfect and the breakfast was really good. Price was very good for what we got. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit el Santo Coyote. Lerdo de Tejada #3239. Great internet site, but the place is great in deed, and dining is delicious and great service too.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corvallis, Oregon
Jun 20, 2010

A VERY nice hotel in the historical area

A very nice hotel and restraunt. The only slight downside, is that this hotel caters to government officals, and business people. I dressed 'nicely' in Docker shorts and shirt in the restaruant, and felt 'under-dressed'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great historical tours!

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corvallis, Oregon
Jun 20, 2010

A VERY nice hotel in the historical area

A very nice hotel and restraunt. The only slight downside, is that this hotel caters to government officals, and business people. I dressed 'nicely' in Docker shorts and shirt in the restaruant, and felt 'under-dressed'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great historical tours!

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Cerrito, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great central Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Cerrito, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great central Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio Texas
Dec 24, 2009

We loved it!

We thought this was a great hotel in a perfect location for first time visitors to Guadalajara. The staff was excellent, the on-site restaurant very good and overall we were very pleased and would stay here again.We recommend an upgrade to a suite (which we did)for about $20 USD per night. We found the standard room too small for our liking and were pleased with the suite we moved to.We also thought the bed was too firm but did still get a good nights rest.It is a downtown location so traffic sounds did disturb us on a couple of occasions but not to the point of being a major problem.Our room was neat and clean but not fancy. Don't stay here if you expect the luxury of a four or five star property Las Vegas style. Do stay here if you want a quaint, unique, pleasant vacation experience.We have traveled to many cities from New York to Miami to Las Vegas, San Francisco and Vancouver and found this hotel and location among the best for pure enjoyment, we highly recommend this hotel and Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great meal take about a five block walk to La Chata....absolutely great! Be prepared to wait in line during meal times. The wait is worth it and the restaurant will provide a free beer while you wait.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio Texas
Dec 24, 2009

We loved it!

We thought this was a great hotel in a perfect location for first time visitors to Guadalajara. The staff was excellent, the on-site restaurant very good and overall we were very pleased and would stay here again.We recommend an upgrade to a suite (which we did)for about $20 USD per night. We found the standard room too small for our liking and were pleased with the suite we moved to.We also thought the bed was too firm but did still get a good nights rest.It is a downtown location so traffic sounds did disturb us on a couple of occasions but not to the point of being a major problem.Our room was neat and clean but not fancy. Don't stay here if you expect the luxury of a four or five star property Las Vegas style. Do stay here if you want a quaint, unique, pleasant vacation experience.We have traveled to many cities from New York to Miami to Las Vegas, San Francisco and Vancouver and found this hotel and location among the best for pure enjoyment, we highly recommend this hotel and Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great meal take about a five block walk to La Chata....absolutely great! Be prepared to wait in line during meal times. The wait is worth it and the restaurant will provide a free beer while you wait.

Back to menu Return to top