$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
71 reviews
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location,... See full review

  • Elroy
  • Jul 31, 2013
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
monterrey mexico
Mar 21, 2010

good hotel, clean and no better location

very nice stay, quiet and good location historic center attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lj_runner
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 15, 2009

Great location and price

When we decided to go to Guadalajara we weren't sure where to stay and mostly based our decision to stay at Hotel de Mendoza on the fact that they had a pool. Once we arrived, we were so pleased with our choice and even more so after we began touring the city and didn't see very many other hotels we would have wanted to stay at. The staff was great; The managers gave us tips on where to eat, called cabs for us, and set up day tours. The restaurant in the hotel was very good. The location is ideal as well. It is right between two large plazas and we walked everywhere. The hotel is located on a side street, so the traffic isn't as busy. Most of our days were spent touring the city, but by 3-4pm we were exhausted from the heat and made it back to the hotel to spend the rest of the evening by the pool. It is small, but so clean and relaxing. One can't even hear the city from the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed going on a tequila tour. We rode out to Tequila, MX with 4 others in a tour van. We stopped at two tequila factories and learned how the liquor was made. There was sampling as well. After the tours we had time for a nice lunch at a restaurant overlooking the city and then went to downtown Tequila to shop. It was a great way to spend a day.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riccan
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Fantastic

I had a wonderful time in my vacation and Hotel De Mendoza was a big part of my enjoyment in Guadalajara, good service and cofort are part of the everyday life in that great Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turbobore
San Antonio
Feb 25, 2013

Good choice for downtown.

I travel to GDL on a regular basis and stay in different central hotels each time and I enjoyed the Mendoza. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The room and public areas were very clean. The bathroom tub and sink had great water pressure and hot water was hot. The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was a bit to firm for me. Of course I have pillow top mattress at home and am used to that. We the complementary breakfast special with our deal and it was excellent. The Mexicana breakfast is great and included robust coffee. a plate of fresh and delicious fruit and a plate of beans Mexican eggs and chilikilis. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Nov 24, 2009

nice hotel

very nice, rooms are simple and clean. quiet hotel on a quiet street. good location for seeing the historic downtown stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to "birreria las nueve esquinas" for good local food

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Nov 24, 2009

nice hotel

very nice, rooms are simple and clean. quiet hotel on a quiet street. good location for seeing the historic downtown stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to "birreria las nueve esquinas" for good local food

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
alaska
Sep 11, 2009

unbeatable for the price

the tub need it to be better cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Excellent location in downtown Guadalajara. To be appreciated: Free Hi-Fi in the room. I missed a minibar in the room. It is a pity the hotel has no bar in the lobby. You can have a drink all right in the lobby and in the restaurant but it makes it less cozy. Service is friendly but a bit slow. There is a pool but it never gets sunshine!So, don´t go there for the pool... Neverthless,I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the bar this hotel is missing at nearby Hotel Francés. It is set in a colonial patio. There were even some musicians when I was there and the adjoining restaurant is just as good or better than De Mendoza´s.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP Mtz Aranda
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 19, 2011

Hotel de Mendoza

It seems that all rooms are being reconditioned. I had the bad luck of staying in an old room. The bed was very hard, and didnt like the rug but service was excellent, location perfect and the breakfast was really good. Price was very good for what we got. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit el Santo Coyote. Lerdo de Tejada #3239. Great internet site, but the place is great in deed, and dining is delicious and great service too.

Back to menu Return to top