$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
71 reviews
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location,... See full review

  • Elroy
  • Jul 31, 2013
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDAnysUSA
Long Island, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Pass this one by

Was told there was Air Conditioning, but hotel had it's central air shutdown as they didn't think it was necessary, even though it was very humid and it would have helped. There was only one ice machine in the building and you had to walk down 3 flights to get to it in a back corridor by the kitchen. There were two bottles of water on the bathroom counter with a note that said use of more than one bottle would incur a charge of 15 pesos. Got the feeling that most of the staff was unhappy to be there. Had the same meal in the restaurant that I'd had in a different Mexican hotel the night before. The prior night's I would rate a 10, Mendoza's I would rate a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is in the Historic district.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDAnysUSA
Long Island, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Pass this one by

Was told there was Air Conditioning, but hotel had it's central air shutdown as they didn't think it was necessary, even though it was very humid and it would have helped. There was only one ice machine in the building and you had to walk down 3 flights to get to it in a back corridor by the kitchen. There were two bottles of water on the bathroom counter with a note that said use of more than one bottle would incur a charge of 15 pesos. Got the feeling that most of the staff was unhappy to be there. Had the same meal in the restaurant that I'd had in a different Mexican hotel the night before. The prior night's I would rate a 10, Mendoza's I would rate a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is in the Historic district.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Apr 26, 2010

people were nice , hotel was clean.

The staff was friendly and room was clean, good value for the price. I like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at the ~Theatre....

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Cerrito, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great central Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Apr 26, 2010

people were nice , hotel was clean.

The staff was friendly and room was clean, good value for the price. I like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at the ~Theatre....

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, DA
Oct 19, 2009

The Good and the Bad

We were out during day, came back to hotel to shower that was too hard to regulate hot/cold water, bathroom door that opened to hit toilet, mattress that was too hard. Location was great for downtown historic area and several large mercados.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercado San Juan de Dios just a short walk away! The most colorful, picturesque shopping place. Teatro Degollado just steps away for fantastick Mariachi and folkloric dancing.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara Guy
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2013

New Year's in Guadalajara!

Overall the hotel was a really nice hotel to stay in. The only negative I would have is that the staff is not very friendly or helpful (but not mean) and there were really tiny ants crawling in the bathroom. Luckily I had mosquito spray that quickly eradicated that problem?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Cerrito, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great central Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard J
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Location Is It's Biggest Assset

The Hotel de Mendoza couldn't be better located in the heart of the city's historic district. The hotel itself is average. The room I stayed in was spacious even if the bad was too small for me to sleep comfortably in. It was freshly repainted which was obvious from the smell when I checked in. The air conditioning did not work well, but luckily the nights well cool. The worst part of the room was the shower: there was absolutely no water pressure - I could have had a better shower using the sink. The staff is friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you the best they can. I have stayed here before and did not have these problems, so I wouldn't say they're indicative of the hotel in general - I may have perhaps been given a faulty room. I would consider staying here again, but I would insist on checking the AC and water pressure first next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebadiya
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great location and thats about it....

Great central location to the GDL Centro but the rooms decor was aged and the beds were hard and i couldnt sleep....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top