$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
View map of Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 30, 2009

Family Vacation

We visited family and did sightseeing at the central downtown area. Loved the hotel, service was great, only downfall were the beds were too hard. Couldn't get a good night rest but housekeeping was kind enough to give us more blankets and pillows to soften the beds. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All historical bldgs are located within walking distance. There is always local entertainment in the streets and markets everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Nov 24, 2009

nice hotel

very nice, rooms are simple and clean. quiet hotel on a quiet street. good location for seeing the historic downtown stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to "birreria las nueve esquinas" for good local food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler for fun
Business
Riverside, ca
Oct 25, 2009

Great location

Everyone was friendly and willing to help with any questions that we had. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, and many of the great sites are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San juan de Dios flea market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, DA
Oct 19, 2009

The Good and the Bad

We were out during day, came back to hotel to shower that was too hard to regulate hot/cold water, bathroom door that opened to hit toilet, mattress that was too hard. Location was great for downtown historic area and several large mercados.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercado San Juan de Dios just a short walk away! The most colorful, picturesque shopping place. Teatro Degollado just steps away for fantastick Mariachi and folkloric dancing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UG&AO
Business
Boston, MA.
Sep 18, 2009

Outstanding Hotel and absolutely typical

The location is absolutely GREAT - within walking distance to shopping, dining and sightseeing! The hotel has a wonderful restaurant and outstanding staff. We were VERY pleased and would highly recommend it to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO.
Sep 14, 2009

Great location

We scheduled tours and walked all around the downtown area of the city. This hotel is a very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were numerous taco stands all around the city, on every street, and very cheap. The two of us eat very well for $5-$8 with beers, for both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alaska
Sep 11, 2009

unbeatable for the price

the tub need it to be better cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDAnysUSA
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Pass this one by

Was told there was Air Conditioning, but hotel had it's central air shutdown as they didn't think it was necessary, even though it was very humid and it would have helped. There was only one ice machine in the building and you had to walk down 3 flights to get to it in a back corridor by the kitchen. There were two bottles of water on the bathroom counter with a note that said use of more than one bottle would incur a charge of 15 pesos. Got the feeling that most of the staff was unhappy to be there. Had the same meal in the restaurant that I'd had in a different Mexican hotel the night before. The prior night's I would rate a 10, Mendoza's I would rate a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is in the Historic district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico DF
Aug 3, 2009

Hotel de Mendoza Stay

Great Servide, and nice old classic hotel. Great location to walk around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lj_runner
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 15, 2009

Great location and price

When we decided to go to Guadalajara we weren't sure where to stay and mostly based our decision to stay at Hotel de Mendoza on the fact that they had a pool. Once we arrived, we were so pleased with our choice and even more so after we began touring the city and didn't see very many other hotels we would have wanted to stay at. The staff was great; The managers gave us tips on where to eat, called cabs for us, and set up day tours. The restaurant in the hotel was very good. The location is ideal as well. It is right between two large plazas and we walked everywhere. The hotel is located on a side street, so the traffic isn't as busy. Most of our days were spent touring the city, but by 3-4pm we were exhausted from the heat and made it back to the hotel to spend the rest of the evening by the pool. It is small, but so clean and relaxing. One can't even hear the city from the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed going on a tequila tour. We rode out to Tequila, MX with 4 others in a tour van. We stopped at two tequila factories and learned how the liquor was made. There was sampling as well. After the tours we had time for a nice lunch at a restaurant overlooking the city and then went to downtown Tequila to shop. It was a great way to spend a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top