$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
71 reviews
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great hotel in heart of city

Great helpful staff, good reasonable restaurant in hotel, fantastic safe and peaceful location,... See full review

  • Elroy
  • Jul 31, 2013
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cabo San Lucas, Mx
Mar 9, 2010

Great Location

We stayed at Hotel de Mendoza for 4 nights on a family trip. Our group was composed of 2 seniors, 3 adults and 1 year old and a 4 year old. The service was great, the rooms clean, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in Central Historico. They were very nice to us at breakfast each day, and when we needed a taxi they got one for us immediately. The only down side to this hotel is that the beds are like sleeping on concrete. I don't mind a hard bed, but others in the family had a couple of really uncomfortable nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio Texas
Dec 24, 2009

We loved it!

We thought this was a great hotel in a perfect location for first time visitors to Guadalajara. The staff was excellent, the on-site restaurant very good and overall we were very pleased and would stay here again.We recommend an upgrade to a suite (which we did)for about $20 USD per night. We found the standard room too small for our liking and were pleased with the suite we moved to.We also thought the bed was too firm but did still get a good nights rest.It is a downtown location so traffic sounds did disturb us on a couple of occasions but not to the point of being a major problem.Our room was neat and clean but not fancy. Don't stay here if you expect the luxury of a four or five star property Las Vegas style. Do stay here if you want a quaint, unique, pleasant vacation experience.We have traveled to many cities from New York to Miami to Las Vegas, San Francisco and Vancouver and found this hotel and location among the best for pure enjoyment, we highly recommend this hotel and Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great meal take about a five block walk to La Chata....absolutely great! Be prepared to wait in line during meal times. The wait is worth it and the restaurant will provide a free beer while you wait.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio Texas
Dec 24, 2009

We loved it!

We thought this was a great hotel in a perfect location for first time visitors to Guadalajara. The staff was excellent, the on-site restaurant very good and overall we were very pleased and would stay here again.We recommend an upgrade to a suite (which we did)for about $20 USD per night. We found the standard room too small for our liking and were pleased with the suite we moved to.We also thought the bed was too firm but did still get a good nights rest.It is a downtown location so traffic sounds did disturb us on a couple of occasions but not to the point of being a major problem.Our room was neat and clean but not fancy. Don't stay here if you expect the luxury of a four or five star property Las Vegas style. Do stay here if you want a quaint, unique, pleasant vacation experience.We have traveled to many cities from New York to Miami to Las Vegas, San Francisco and Vancouver and found this hotel and location among the best for pure enjoyment, we highly recommend this hotel and Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great meal take about a five block walk to La Chata....absolutely great! Be prepared to wait in line during meal times. The wait is worth it and the restaurant will provide a free beer while you wait.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 15, 2009

Unexpected cozy atmosphere

I was in Guadalajara to attend the Book Fair. The hotel is a bit far from the Expo building but on the other hand it is in the very middle of downtown Guadalajara. Very suitable for tourists. Funny Spanish colonial style. Somehow like being in a church, but I understand it used to be a convent and there is actually a church next door. It does deefiniteluy have a personality! You can have a drink at the restaurant, which is okay, but pity it misses a bar. Quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to restaurants and shops. Most historicaal monuments in the neighbourhood. It is a monument in itself, actually. Definitely perfect if you want to visit the city, but also quite acceptable for business travellers looking for something different.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 15, 2009

Unexpected cozy atmosphere

I was in Guadalajara to attend the Book Fair. The hotel is a bit far from the Expo building but on the other hand it is in the very middle of downtown Guadalajara. Very suitable for tourists. Funny Spanish colonial style. Somehow like being in a church, but I understand it used to be a convent and there is actually a church next door. It does deefiniteluy have a personality! You can have a drink at the restaurant, which is okay, but pity it misses a bar. Quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to restaurants and shops. Most historicaal monuments in the neighbourhood. It is a monument in itself, actually. Definitely perfect if you want to visit the city, but also quite acceptable for business travellers looking for something different.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 30, 2009

Family Vacation

We visited family and did sightseeing at the central downtown area. Loved the hotel, service was great, only downfall were the beds were too hard. Couldn't get a good night rest but housekeeping was kind enough to give us more blankets and pillows to soften the beds. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All historical bldgs are located within walking distance. There is always local entertainment in the streets and markets everywhere.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 30, 2009

Family Vacation

We visited family and did sightseeing at the central downtown area. Loved the hotel, service was great, only downfall were the beds were too hard. Couldn't get a good night rest but housekeeping was kind enough to give us more blankets and pillows to soften the beds. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All historical bldgs are located within walking distance. There is always local entertainment in the streets and markets everywhere.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Nov 24, 2009

nice hotel

very nice, rooms are simple and clean. quiet hotel on a quiet street. good location for seeing the historic downtown stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to "birreria las nueve esquinas" for good local food

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Nov 24, 2009

nice hotel

very nice, rooms are simple and clean. quiet hotel on a quiet street. good location for seeing the historic downtown stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to "birreria las nueve esquinas" for good local food

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler for fun
Riverside, ca
Oct 25, 2009

Great location

Everyone was friendly and willing to help with any questions that we had. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, and many of the great sites are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San juan de Dios flea market.

Back to menu Return to top