$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
View map of Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Mexico
Aug 26, 2010

Excellent location and service

Definitely a hotel I would both recommend and visit again. The service was wonderful and I really enjoyed the uniqueness of the jr. suite. The location could not have been better as it was right in the heart of the plaza area and within walking distance of the main market, restaurants, museums, theatres and cathedrals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shopping was found on the side streets around the market and only 2-3 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Jun 20, 2010

A VERY nice hotel in the historical area

A very nice hotel and restraunt. The only slight downside, is that this hotel caters to government officals, and business people. I dressed 'nicely' in Docker shorts and shirt in the restaruant, and felt 'under-dressed'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great historical tours!

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wethersfield, CT
Jun 5, 2010

Nice location!

Our stay was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very willing to help with whatever we needed. The only problem we encountered was the wi-fi was temporarily down one evening (hardly a problem). I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Apr 26, 2010

people were nice , hotel was clean.

The staff was friendly and room was clean, good value for the price. I like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at the ~Theatre....

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Cerrito, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great central Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2010

classic hotel

easy access to restaurants, historic sites, and buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
monterrey mexico
Mar 21, 2010

good hotel, clean and no better location

very nice stay, quiet and good location historic center attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabo San Lucas, Mx
Mar 9, 2010

Great Location

We stayed at Hotel de Mendoza for 4 nights on a family trip. Our group was composed of 2 seniors, 3 adults and 1 year old and a 4 year old. The service was great, the rooms clean, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in Central Historico. They were very nice to us at breakfast each day, and when we needed a taxi they got one for us immediately. The only down side to this hotel is that the beds are like sleeping on concrete. I don't mind a hard bed, but others in the family had a couple of really uncomfortable nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio Texas
Dec 24, 2009

We loved it!

We thought this was a great hotel in a perfect location for first time visitors to Guadalajara. The staff was excellent, the on-site restaurant very good and overall we were very pleased and would stay here again.We recommend an upgrade to a suite (which we did)for about $20 USD per night. We found the standard room too small for our liking and were pleased with the suite we moved to.We also thought the bed was too firm but did still get a good nights rest.It is a downtown location so traffic sounds did disturb us on a couple of occasions but not to the point of being a major problem.Our room was neat and clean but not fancy. Don't stay here if you expect the luxury of a four or five star property Las Vegas style. Do stay here if you want a quaint, unique, pleasant vacation experience.We have traveled to many cities from New York to Miami to Las Vegas, San Francisco and Vancouver and found this hotel and location among the best for pure enjoyment, we highly recommend this hotel and Guadalajara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great meal take about a five block walk to La Chata....absolutely great! Be prepared to wait in line during meal times. The wait is worth it and the restaurant will provide a free beer while you wait.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 15, 2009

Unexpected cozy atmosphere

I was in Guadalajara to attend the Book Fair. The hotel is a bit far from the Expo building but on the other hand it is in the very middle of downtown Guadalajara. Very suitable for tourists. Funny Spanish colonial style. Somehow like being in a church, but I understand it used to be a convent and there is actually a church next door. It does deefiniteluy have a personality! You can have a drink at the restaurant, which is okay, but pity it misses a bar. Quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to restaurants and shops. Most historicaal monuments in the neighbourhood. It is a monument in itself, actually. Definitely perfect if you want to visit the city, but also quite acceptable for business travellers looking for something different.

Back to menu Return to top