$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
View map of Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ericc
Business
Mexique
Apr 22, 2012

family getaway

very well located hotel. close to the main downtown places. Rooms were clean but the hotel was a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebadiya
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great location and thats about it....

Great central location to the GDL Centro but the rooms decor was aged and the beds were hard and i couldnt sleep....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riccan
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Fantastic

I had a wonderful time in my vacation and Hotel De Mendoza was a big part of my enjoyment in Guadalajara, good service and cofort are part of the everyday life in that great Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mps242
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2011

Perfect Location

Best location in the city, right next to the theater, a block from the cathedral, and a couple of blocks from the cultural center and market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great sit down meal hit Chata. For a phenomenal pork sandwich that's around $3 hit Lonches Amparit on the pedestrian walkway between the theater and cutural center. It's a small window on a side street that's easy to miss except for the line of locals forming up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP Mtz Aranda
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 19, 2011

Hotel de Mendoza

It seems that all rooms are being reconditioned. I had the bad luck of staying in an old room. The bed was very hard, and didnt like the rug but service was excellent, location perfect and the breakfast was really good. Price was very good for what we got. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit el Santo Coyote. Lerdo de Tejada #3239. Great internet site, but the place is great in deed, and dining is delicious and great service too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP Mtz Aranda
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 19, 2011

Hotel de Mendoza

It seems that all rooms are being reconditioned. I had the bad luck of staying in an old room. The bed was very hard, and didnt like the rug but service was excellent, location perfect and the breakfast was really good. Price was very good for what we got. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit el Santo Coyote. Lerdo de Tejada #3239. Great internet site, but the place is great in deed, and dining is delicious and great service too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 2, 2011

Very Nice

Room was clean, bed was comfortable and had a nice TV. It is conveniently located, has a beautiful look and feel, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The wifi could have been better, or this review would be a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gay Carl
Business
Vancouver, BC
May 15, 2011

Great Location

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Mendoza. It was also great for us a gay travelers as the GLBT area is walking distance. It is very traditional and cozy. The pool is lovely and refreshing after a hot day in Guadalajara. The food in the restaurant was also lovely with great presentation and attentive staff. We would definitely recommend to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is limited fine dining in old town but we found a lovely gem called La Chata restaurant and it is wonderful and cheap. It generally has a line up but the food is traditional Mexican. We had 4 glasses of wine and two entrées for less than 400.00 pesos (40.00 Canadian Dollars).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torremolinos, Spain
Dec 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Excellent location in downtown Guadalajara. To be appreciated: Free Hi-Fi in the room. I missed a minibar in the room. It is a pity the hotel has no bar in the lobby. You can have a drink all right in the lobby and in the restaurant but it makes it less cozy. Service is friendly but a bit slow. There is a pool but it never gets sunshine!So, don´t go there for the pool... Neverthless,I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the bar this hotel is missing at nearby Hotel Francés. It is set in a colonial patio. There were even some musicians when I was there and the adjoining restaurant is just as good or better than De Mendoza´s.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mercado R
Business
Las Vegas nv
Nov 1, 2010

unbeatable location & price!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great Hotel,service and great location for sites of interest!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top