$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
46 reviews
Great place to stay

We enjoyed our 2 nights at Hotel Mendoza. It was very comfortable, staff was helpful, and the... See full review

  • JKSB
  • Jul 26, 2014
In the heart of Guadalajara

The best hotel located in the heart if Guadalajara, surrounded by many historica buildings and... See full review

  • workingbee
  • Apr 20, 2014
This beautiful hotel of colonial architecture is located in an area from the 16th century, just where the city was founded. This Hotel has become a reference place in historical downtown.

The Mendoza Hotel was built where the old convent of the nuns of Santo Domingo, was located, beside the church of Santa Maria de Gracia (1542), it was the first metropolitan cathedral.

86 rooms and 18 elegant suites with living room, beautifully decorated with colonial style furniture, they take you back to the past.

Amenities & Facilities:

- Business Center
- Wireless Internet
- Restaurant bar
- Swimming pool, relaxing whirlpool and Gym
- Terrace solarium
- Underground Parking
- Room Service
- Laundry
- Gym

The hotel is just a few steps from Degollado Theater, Catedral and Hospicio Cabanas (Human Heritage) and only 25 minutes from International Airport and 20 minutes from Expo Guadalajara.

Hotel Map

20.6781 -103.3443
Area served
Guadalajara.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla International Airport.
Area description
Considered as the most colonial hotel in downtown, De Mendoza is walking distance to Degollado Theater, Cathedral, Government Palace, Cabanas Institute (Human Heritage), City Hall, Liberty Market and Jewelry Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel De Mendoza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel De Mendoza Rooms

Standard
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, pool view, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with two twin bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Superior
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, small living room, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room with two queen bed includes private bathroom with shower and tub, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.
Standard
Room with one queen bed includes private bathroom with shower, hair dryer, air conditioned, T.V. with cable channels, telephone, alarm clock, executive desk, electronic key, safe, closet and wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service restaurant and bar, features an exquisite blend of international and the best of Mexican cuisine. Provides relaxed casual atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 meeting rooms for capacity up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
blofimbres
san diego, california
Apr 2, 2013

Best hotel in downtown guadalajara

Best hotel experiance. The staff was friendly and very attentive, they did everything with a smile and were accomidating. The hotel is beautiful, nice pool area and the restaurant is amazingly beautiful and delicious. The rooms are spacious, especialy the restrooms. Our room had a big sliding doors leading to a small balcony with view of the pool courtyard. Everything was very clean and the rooms were cleaned and restocked everyday. It is also within walking distance of all tourist points. Also provides wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara Guy
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2013

New Year's in Guadalajara!

Overall the hotel was a really nice hotel to stay in. The only negative I would have is that the staff is not very friendly or helpful (but not mean) and there were really tiny ants crawling in the bathroom. Luckily I had mosquito spray that quickly eradicated that problem?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L Bravo
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect location, good amenities

Small quaint hotel in excellent location. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Well worth the cost and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard J
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Location Is It's Biggest Assset

The Hotel de Mendoza couldn't be better located in the heart of the city's historic district. The hotel itself is average. The room I stayed in was spacious even if the bad was too small for me to sleep comfortably in. It was freshly repainted which was obvious from the smell when I checked in. The air conditioning did not work well, but luckily the nights well cool. The worst part of the room was the shower: there was absolutely no water pressure - I could have had a better shower using the sink. The staff is friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you the best they can. I have stayed here before and did not have these problems, so I wouldn't say they're indicative of the hotel in general - I may have perhaps been given a faulty room. I would consider staying here again, but I would insist on checking the AC and water pressure first next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ericc
Mexique
Apr 22, 2012

family getaway

very well located hotel. close to the main downtown places. Rooms were clean but the hotel was a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebadiya
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great location and thats about it....

Great central location to the GDL Centro but the rooms decor was aged and the beds were hard and i couldnt sleep....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riccan
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Fantastic

I had a wonderful time in my vacation and Hotel De Mendoza was a big part of my enjoyment in Guadalajara, good service and cofort are part of the everyday life in that great Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mps242
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2011

Perfect Location

Best location in the city, right next to the theater, a block from the cathedral, and a couple of blocks from the cultural center and market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great sit down meal hit Chata. For a phenomenal pork sandwich that's around $3 hit Lonches Amparit on the pedestrian walkway between the theater and cutural center. It's a small window on a side street that's easy to miss except for the line of locals forming up.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP Mtz Aranda
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Sep 19, 2011

Hotel de Mendoza

It seems that all rooms are being reconditioned. I had the bad luck of staying in an old room. The bed was very hard, and didnt like the rug but service was excellent, location perfect and the breakfast was really good. Price was very good for what we got. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit el Santo Coyote. Lerdo de Tejada #3239. Great internet site, but the place is great in deed, and dining is delicious and great service too.

Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 2, 2011

Very Nice

Room was clean, bed was comfortable and had a nice TV. It is conveniently located, has a beautiful look and feel, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The wifi could have been better, or this review would be a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search