$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel De Mendoza

3 stars
View map of Venustiano Carranza No.16, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel De Mendoza

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L Bravo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Perfect place for location and value

I love the historical small quaint feel to this hotel. And it's the best located hotel in the historical district. Besides the historical building it's in, it's not fancy like chain hotels are but you get all the necessities and for a very good value. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap Shopping- Mercado San Juan de Dios; Historical- Palacio de Gobierno; Cathedral; Relax- various Plazas with seating areas for people watching, vendors, flag ceremony every sun down, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turbobore
Business
San Antonio
Feb 25, 2013

Good choice for downtown.

I travel to GDL on a regular basis and stay in different central hotels each time and I enjoyed the Mendoza. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The room and public areas were very clean. The bathroom tub and sink had great water pressure and hot water was hot. The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was a bit to firm for me. Of course I have pillow top mattress at home and am used to that. We the complementary breakfast special with our deal and it was excellent. The Mexicana breakfast is great and included robust coffee. a plate of fresh and delicious fruit and a plate of beans Mexican eggs and chilikilis. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cnazta
Business
gdl mex
Feb 20, 2013

breakfast included but no big bed

booked for a queen size bed and had 2 small ones no good 4 us being a couple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara Guy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2013

New Year's in Guadalajara!

Overall the hotel was a really nice hotel to stay in. The only negative I would have is that the staff is not very friendly or helpful (but not mean) and there were really tiny ants crawling in the bathroom. Luckily I had mosquito spray that quickly eradicated that problem?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L Bravo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect location, good amenities

Small quaint hotel in excellent location. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Well worth the cost and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard J
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Location Is It's Biggest Assset

The Hotel de Mendoza couldn't be better located in the heart of the city's historic district. The hotel itself is average. The room I stayed in was spacious even if the bad was too small for me to sleep comfortably in. It was freshly repainted which was obvious from the smell when I checked in. The air conditioning did not work well, but luckily the nights well cool. The worst part of the room was the shower: there was absolutely no water pressure - I could have had a better shower using the sink. The staff is friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you the best they can. I have stayed here before and did not have these problems, so I wouldn't say they're indicative of the hotel in general - I may have perhaps been given a faulty room. I would consider staying here again, but I would insist on checking the AC and water pressure first next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gringo in Mexico
Business
Wheaton, Il
Jun 7, 2012

Old World Ambience, Perfect Location

The Mendoza is steps away from the Teatro Dellagato and all of the downtown plazas and sites. There is an old world charm that is a bit dated, but fits perfectly in the Gualalajara surroundings. The staff were friendly and accomodating. My window looked out on the dome of the adjacent church, adding another feature to the stay. I didn't eat at the Mendoza, as there are many nearby street food and restaurants that are too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take s short walk down the pedestrian pathway toward the Institutio Cultural Cubanes, and veer right into the large and somewhat confusing Mercato Liberdad. Find your way to the food stalls and look for La Torta Loca. Eat the best (and largest) pork torta you will ever have, and you will take in a ton of Mexican market culture while getting there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ericc
Business
Mexique
Apr 22, 2012

family getaway

very well located hotel. close to the main downtown places. Rooms were clean but the hotel was a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebadiya
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great location and thats about it....

Great central location to the GDL Centro but the rooms decor was aged and the beds were hard and i couldnt sleep....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel De Mendoza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riccan
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Fantastic

I had a wonderful time in my vacation and Hotel De Mendoza was a big part of my enjoyment in Guadalajara, good service and cofort are part of the everyday life in that great Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top