$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

3 stars
First Street, Ensenada, 22800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Enjoyable weekend!!

Walking distance to downtown and also to the port. Great staff. Very attentive. Great pool area.... See full review

  • Gabriellinni
  • Mar 31, 2014
A Day in Ensanada

It was a great location and a good price. The only complaint was the noise in the room below us... See full review

  • 99 9
  • Jun 1, 2014
The San Nicolas Resort Hotel is located just two blocks from Todos Santos Bay, and is within walking distance of shopping, dining and the Riviera del Pacifico Cultural Center.

Enjoy a meal at the Bambu Poolside Restaurant and Bar or any one of the great amenities you have come to expect from a resort hotel. Room service, in-room coffee, beauty salon, in-house tour booking service, wedding planning and more!

If you are in the mood for gaming, place a bet at the Caliente Race & Sports Book before going out for a night on the town.

The San Nicolas Resort Hotel is the perfect spot for fun and excitement in the heart of Ensenada. Experience the true meaning of hospitality. Relax and enjoy yourself in our full size hotel with an Olympic style swimming pool and large jacuzzi surrounded by a collection of beautiful palm trees in a tropical atmosphere. The interior of the hotel shares a unique design motif of ancient Mexico featuring replications of Aztec and Maya art with beautiful paintings decorating the halls and stairways.

Hotel Map

31.8585 -116.6163
Area served
Ensenada
Nearby airports
ESE
Area description
Ensenada is located in Baja California on the longest peninsula in the world boasting 2,000 miles of nice relaxing beaches for all sports. Ensenada known as the "Cinderella of the Pacific" is the 3rd largest city in the state of Baja California located 60 miles south of San Diego - Tijuana International border crossing. Only a 1 hour drive, on one of the most beautifully viewed coastline highways in the world.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Nicolas Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King room offers 1 king bed with Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization. Includes: One King Bed, Color Cable Television, In-Room Telephone, free wireless internet, Air Conditioning, & Coffee Maker.
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard queen room offers Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization. Includes: Two Queen Beds, Color Cable Television, In-Room Telephone, free wireless internet, Air Conditioning, & Coffee Maker.
STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior suites are also nicely decorated like the master suites with king sized bed, Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization, television, free wireless internet, spacious showers and a sofa bed as part of the living room and have connecting doors to the Master suite.
STANDARD - SUITE
Master Suites are beautifully decorated honeymoon suites with the amenities of a large living room, Free wireless internet, two televisions, a bar, refrigerator and a relaxing 450 gal. Jacuzzi. Room decorated 150 rooms are decorated in a Mexican modern colonial style with Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Caliente Casino, Race and Sports Book
Sit back and enjoy a drink while watching a variety of sports and race tracks on the TV monitors. The Sports Book is located down the hall next to our lobby. The San Nicolas Hotel is the only hotel in Ensenada with in-house sports betting and 250 Las Vegas style latest gaming machines. The Casino is open every day from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Bambu Poolside Lounge and Bar
The Bambu Restaurant Bar is a social indoor/outdoor tropical venue overlooking the Olympic style swimming pool and offering a unique experience for all ages. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, awaiting your arrival. Restaurant is open every day at 7:00 a.m. Satisfy your taste buds by trying a variety of outstanding Mexican/Californian cuisine. Our restaurant is known for the outstanding Puerto Nuevo Lobster, and our delicious Cilantro Salad as an appetizer before the main course, the Carne Asada, Filet Mignon or delicious unique Mexican combination plate.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 21
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sheeraz
San Diego, California
Jun 23, 2014

Nice enough location, all else needs improvement

Important: google map told us that the hotel is far up north, this was wrong. The hotel is somewhat south on the main street (First street), and just about a 5 min walk from points of interest like Riviera Culture Center, or a 10-15 min walk from famous bars like Hussong's or Papas and Beer. Besides the fair location, we were not at all impressed with the hotel. Here are the issues: - Inefficient staff, except for one person who was quite helpful. We had to wait a long time for anything that required talking to a staff member like check-in, *getting a towel*, getting a safety box, etc. - Musty smell all around. - NO wi-fi in the room. When we complained and asked to switch rooms, we were told it's bad everywhere except for the lobby and pool area, which itself was barely working, and disconnected often. - You need to deposit $10 as security to get a towel for the pool. Really? They return the money, but it's such a hassle to wait to get a towel. You are not allowed to take room towels out to the pool either. - Safety boxes are tiny (can only hold watches, jewellery, etc.), and when we told them we wanted to leave our tablets, they were puzzled, and in the end we just decided to risk leaving them in the room. - They gave us these paper bracelets that we were supposed to wear all weekend as a proof that we are the customers. Again, really? It's not fun to shower or meet people with a hotel bracelet around your wrist. In essence, if we go to Ensenada again, we will choose a different hotel, that's even closer to the heart of the city, and knows how to take care of the customers better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go to La Bufadora, you don't have to shell out $60 as the hotel staff might tell you. We walked around Plaza Marina and got a round trip for $15 per person, so look around before settling on an alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriellinni
San Fernando, Ca
Mar 31, 2014

Enjoyable weekend!!

Walking distance to downtown and also to the port. Great staff. Very attentive. Great pool area. Buffet is unbeatable for the price. Casino on the premises is a plus. Guarded parking area was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet. $9.99. Unbeatable. Menu is limited, but has all the selections to make it gratifying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citi786
Orange County, Ca
Jun 25, 2013

A very memorable time! (Family Friendly)

My wife and I tried this hotel after readin a lot of mixed reviews. For the money it's an okay place but then you are in Mexico and not paying 4 or 5 star hotel price either. It's pretty close to the action, a 3 or 4 dollar taxi ride. We preferred walkin and felt pretty safe. The breakfast brunch is awesome, first person is 120 & second person for 95 pesos which comes under 20 bucks. Staff is awesome. Icing on the cake, you get a fast pass which let's you cross the border within 20 minutes. My personal advise to my fellow Americans, when you write bad review about any hotel, please remember that you are NOT in US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

All the bars & clubs are about 10 short blocks or a 3 to 4 dollars taxi ride. Takes less than five minutes. Casino at the hotel is not bad either. Infact my 20 bucks lasted me for about 2 hours of slot machine play.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Great Experience

This hotel feels like it is from a different age. Remember how you used to go places because they were all you could afford? This place has that feel. You would go to this hotel to remember to good old days (even if they weren't so good). The decor is old and a bit run down. The walls are thin. The pool with the water fall really need to be cleaned up. The hot water in the shower is only warm. They give you casino credit of 100 pesos, but you can only cash out at $1500 pesos. The room AC is new, and it really pumps out the cold air. It is strange, give the place a chance and it will grow on you. It is a bargain compared to anything in the US. It has a prime location. I think it is the only Hotel/Casino combo in the whole city. It is not crowded, so the thin walls don't matter. And the rooms and hallways have a weird 70s vibe to them. Like I said, it just has that "remember the good old days" feel about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just outside of the edge of the shopping/tourist district. It is a pleasant walk over a bridge to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kokis
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 5, 2010

Clean but a bit outdated

Good location with plenty of free parking. Walls were thin. Rooms and hotel a bit outdated but clean. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Bert
Somerton, AZ
Jan 4, 2010

San Nicolas

It is not in the center of the main street but its only few blocks away. For those that like casinos this hotel has one the main floor and the staff was great they. We got the service of an expensive hotel without having to pay the high end price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CyberDivan
Durham, NC
Dec 6, 2009

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

San Nicolas is in a great location in Ensenada, just a few blocks from the harbor and shopping. The rooms were quaint with lots of hand carved wood, beamed ceilings, and even a wet bar. Our room had a terrace overlooking a very spacious pool. If the review ended here, it would have gotten a much higher rating. The problem was with the noise barriers in the room. Next door to us was a party with the music and loud voices creeping over the walls, through the walls, keeping us up to 5:30 am. Since we started our trip from the east coast at 4 am the morning earlier, we were exhausted. We called down several times complaining about the noise. It was not till after the fourth call that things quieted down. The next night was only slightly better when a bus load of kids and parents arrived. The kids were running up and down the halls and it sounded like a tank was rolling by your room. The noise from the pool area was also funneling into our room. Things did quiet down after 9pm and we were able to get some sleep. If you gamble all night or stay out all night and want to sleep during the day, then the San Nicholas is the place for you. If not, you had better bring some serious earplugs so you can sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryC.
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Ensenada get away

Difficult time trying to find this place initially, once located, it was easily accessible to beaches, food, shopping. Staff helpful, friendly, bilingual. rooms clean, comfortable, air condiioned, and quiet. Secure, guarded parking area. The disappointing issue was having to change rooms on the last night because of early morning work being done on the floor where the room was. I'm sure this is an unusual request, I would not hesitate to stay here again because of this. I felt safe staying here. great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of walk up Mexican eateries that have excellent food. The best I've ever had, I would go back just for the food! Beaches were uncrowded, water warm, surf not rough.Alot of new construction going on so I expect more from Ensenada in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing Soldier
Ca
Jun 25, 2009

Good point and bad points

Good things friendly staff and easy check-in and out. Not a bad location but poor directions on how to get there. The hotel was under construction and we were not informed of such prior to our visit. Nor were there any apologies for the mess. The restruant staff was friendly but look like they did not care about there appearance. The food was bad I would not eat there again. And they should have detailed maps to beaches and surrounding attractions. We would get directions from the front desk and we would still need to stop and ask the locals for better directions. I should not have to pay that much for a hotel that in under construction. I would not mind going there again when there is no construction. I feel that the courtesy of the staff warrants a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the " El Rey Sol" ave lopez mateos no 1000 the flambe drinks are made at you table and are worth the price. It is a delight to watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search