$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

3 stars
First Street, Ensenada, 22800
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
24 reviews
Enjoyable weekend!!

Walking distance to downtown and also to the port. Great staff. Very attentive. Great pool area.... See full review

  • Gabriellinni
  • Mar 31, 2014
nice trip

The facilities were great, love the swimming pool. The casino experience was great and the hotel is... See full review

  • Mr.Tony
  • Oct 20, 2014
The San Nicolas Resort Hotel is located just two blocks from Todos Santos Bay, and is within walking distance of shopping, dining and the Riviera del Pacifico Cultural Center.

Enjoy a meal at the Bambu Poolside Restaurant and Bar or any one of the great amenities you have come to expect from a resort hotel. Room service, in-room coffee, beauty salon, in-house tour booking service, wedding planning and more!

If you are in the mood for gaming, place a bet at the Caliente Race & Sports Book before going out for a night on the town.

The San Nicolas Resort Hotel is the perfect spot for fun and excitement in the heart of Ensenada. Experience the true meaning of hospitality. Relax and enjoy yourself in our full size hotel with an Olympic style swimming pool and large jacuzzi surrounded by a collection of beautiful palm trees in a tropical atmosphere. The interior of the hotel shares a unique design motif of ancient Mexico featuring replications of Aztec and Maya art with beautiful paintings decorating the halls and stairways.

Hotel Map

31.8585 -116.6163
Area served
Ensenada
Nearby airports
ESE
Area description
Ensenada is located in Baja California on the longest peninsula in the world boasting 2,000 miles of nice relaxing beaches for all sports. Ensenada known as the "Cinderella of the Pacific" is the 3rd largest city in the state of Baja California located 60 miles south of San Diego - Tijuana International border crossing. Only a 1 hour drive, on one of the most beautifully viewed coastline highways in the world.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Nicolas Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King room offers 1 king bed with Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization. Includes: One King Bed, Color Cable Television, In-Room Telephone, free wireless internet, Air Conditioning, & Coffee Maker.
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard queen room offers Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization. Includes: Two Queen Beds, Color Cable Television, In-Room Telephone, free wireless internet, Air Conditioning, & Coffee Maker.
STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior suites are also nicely decorated like the master suites with king sized bed, Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization, television, free wireless internet, spacious showers and a sofa bed as part of the living room and have connecting doors to the Master suite.
STANDARD - SUITE
Master Suites are beautifully decorated honeymoon suites with the amenities of a large living room, Free wireless internet, two televisions, a bar, refrigerator and a relaxing 450 gal. Jacuzzi. Room decorated 150 rooms are decorated in a Mexican modern colonial style with Aztec and Maya original handcrafted paintings that depict the history and culture of Mexico's early civilization.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Caliente Casino, Race and Sports Book
Sit back and enjoy a drink while watching a variety of sports and race tracks on the TV monitors. The Sports Book is located down the hall next to our lobby. The San Nicolas Hotel is the only hotel in Ensenada with in-house sports betting and 250 Las Vegas style latest gaming machines. The Casino is open every day from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Bambu Poolside Lounge and Bar
The Bambu Restaurant Bar is a social indoor/outdoor tropical venue overlooking the Olympic style swimming pool and offering a unique experience for all ages. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, awaiting your arrival. Restaurant is open every day at 7:00 a.m. Satisfy your taste buds by trying a variety of outstanding Mexican/Californian cuisine. Our restaurant is known for the outstanding Puerto Nuevo Lobster, and our delicious Cilantro Salad as an appetizer before the main course, the Carne Asada, Filet Mignon or delicious unique Mexican combination plate.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soccer mom of OC
Business
Orange County California
Sep 7, 2014

Overnight Stay

The hotel rooms are old and filthy dirty. Was afraid to walk on carpet without sandals. Bathroom shower covered in mold. Bedding and towels old with holes and dirty. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Way over priced .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Herbalife Guy
Business
California
May 5, 2014

A good Old movie Hotel

People are very friendly , the entrance spectacular, pool great , bar ok BUT the rooms are too old and make it look dirty, Carpet in bad shape and the furniture remain me my Grandma house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kenny II
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 26, 2013

Weekend in Ensenada

Nice, clean hotel. Hotel staff couldn't find my prepaid reservation at check in and charged me again for the room. They refunded my payment the next day when my reservation was found. The bed and box springs were wrapped in thick plastic, which made for a very unpleasant night's sleep. The room seemed a little pricey compared to alternative pricing advertised by other nearby hotels. Thin walls, guests next door had an extended fight which I unfortunately had to share. "First Street" address is not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CyberDivan
Business
Durham, NC
Dec 6, 2009

San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

San Nicolas is in a great location in Ensenada, just a few blocks from the harbor and shopping. The rooms were quaint with lots of hand carved wood, beamed ceilings, and even a wet bar. Our room had a terrace overlooking a very spacious pool. If the review ended here, it would have gotten a much higher rating. The problem was with the noise barriers in the room. Next door to us was a party with the music and loud voices creeping over the walls, through the walls, keeping us up to 5:30 am. Since we started our trip from the east coast at 4 am the morning earlier, we were exhausted. We called down several times complaining about the noise. It was not till after the fourth call that things quieted down. The next night was only slightly better when a bus load of kids and parents arrived. The kids were running up and down the halls and it sounded like a tank was rolling by your room. The noise from the pool area was also funneling into our room. Things did quiet down after 9pm and we were able to get some sleep. If you gamble all night or stay out all night and want to sleep during the day, then the San Nicholas is the place for you. If not, you had better bring some serious earplugs so you can sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sheeraz
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 23, 2014

Nice enough location, all else needs improvement

Important: google map told us that the hotel is far up north, this was wrong. The hotel is somewhat south on the main street (First street), and just about a 5 min walk from points of interest like Riviera Culture Center, or a 10-15 min walk from famous bars like Hussong's or Papas and Beer. Besides the fair location, we were not at all impressed with the hotel. Here are the issues: - Inefficient staff, except for one person who was quite helpful. We had to wait a long time for anything that required talking to a staff member like check-in, *getting a towel*, getting a safety box, etc. - Musty smell all around. - NO wi-fi in the room. When we complained and asked to switch rooms, we were told it's bad everywhere except for the lobby and pool area, which itself was barely working, and disconnected often. - You need to deposit $10 as security to get a towel for the pool. Really? They return the money, but it's such a hassle to wait to get a towel. You are not allowed to take room towels out to the pool either. - Safety boxes are tiny (can only hold watches, jewellery, etc.), and when we told them we wanted to leave our tablets, they were puzzled, and in the end we just decided to risk leaving them in the room. - They gave us these paper bracelets that we were supposed to wear all weekend as a proof that we are the customers. Again, really? It's not fun to shower or meet people with a hotel bracelet around your wrist. In essence, if we go to Ensenada again, we will choose a different hotel, that's even closer to the heart of the city, and knows how to take care of the customers better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go to La Bufadora, you don't have to shell out $60 as the hotel staff might tell you. We walked around Plaza Marina and got a round trip for $15 per person, so look around before settling on an alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Max and friends
Business
Yorba Linda
Feb 18, 2014

nice getaway

For sure showers need to be replaced. And please more hot water. Great staff and manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish market & close by area. Beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing Soldier
Business
Ca
Jun 25, 2009

Good point and bad points

Good things friendly staff and easy check-in and out. Not a bad location but poor directions on how to get there. The hotel was under construction and we were not informed of such prior to our visit. Nor were there any apologies for the mess. The restruant staff was friendly but look like they did not care about there appearance. The food was bad I would not eat there again. And they should have detailed maps to beaches and surrounding attractions. We would get directions from the front desk and we would still need to stop and ask the locals for better directions. I should not have to pay that much for a hotel that in under construction. I would not mind going there again when there is no construction. I feel that the courtesy of the staff warrants a second chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the " El Rey Sol" ave lopez mateos no 1000 the flambe drinks are made at you table and are worth the price. It is a delight to watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gleng1
Business
Narrowsburg, NY
Apr 23, 2010

Fine Old-Style Hotel

Located near the tourist area. Great helpful staff. Lovely pool. Rooms are fine but ordinary. Water in hotel never got hotter than lukewarm. TV was funky -- standard channels came in fine; cable channels full of snow. Free parking. Casino in property -- we did not visit it so can't comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manzanilla restauran

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kokis
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 5, 2010

Clean but a bit outdated

Good location with plenty of free parking. Walls were thin. Rooms and hotel a bit outdated but clean. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frappee
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 23, 2014

nice cheap hotel

nice little hotel if you need a room in Ensenda. had a great pool and helpful staff. little far away from the main downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top