$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5072 -86.9558
Area served
Cozumel.
Nearby airports
International Airport of Cozumel.
Area description
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is located 2.5 miles from the International Airport of Cozumel and approximate driving time is 7 minutes from the airport. Driving directions from Cozumel International Airport: Take right on airport Blvd. Turn left on Ocean Side street Rafael E. Melgar and you will find the Vista del Mar Hotel 12 blocks south.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 46
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Short Dive Trip
Utah, USA
Jan 17, 2012

No Refunds

I tried to change my reservation within 1 minute of making it. I made it for 2 days by mistake and only wanted 1 day. Even though I wanted to cancel the 2nd night 2 days away. I got the shaft! I talked to the hotel staff when I got there and although they were polite there was no way I was going to get any refund. The pool was too cold to get in, there was no veranda, the free horseback riding was a 15 to 20 minute taxi ride away. It's a good location for scuba diving, (access to the boat dock is close). The window in our room was directly over an open market. I won't stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I recomend "Deep Blue" for SCUBA Diving.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scubaboy412
Lexington, KY
Feb 24, 2014

Basic Accomodations

My wife and I stayed here for eight days and were satisfied with the experience. If you are looking for a basic hotel room downtown, this works well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTS79
Illinois
May 14, 2012

Comfortable

We loved our stay at Vista Del Mar. The beds were comfortable and the room was very cute and right on the ocean. Plus it is close to the square. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's Restaurant and Bar! Great food and the best margarita's on the planet!!!!

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBad Girl
Carlsbad, California
May 20, 2012

Ocean View was awesome!!!

This hotel sits right across the street from the ocean. It's an older hotel but they have kept it up pretty well. The staff was very nice. In the morning they bring breakfast to your room. They bring coffee, juice and pastries. It was nice to enjoy breakfast on our balcony. The beds are old spring mattresses but I still slept. overall it was a great place. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In Cozumel it is all touristy. The restaurants are all really expensive. If you ask some locals there are some yummy local restaurants out of the tourist seen. Cozumel was ok, I think staying one night or taking a day trip is plenty.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late in life traveler
Spiro, Oklahoma
Jul 19, 2012

Great Location

The view out the balcony area can not be beat. The simple breakfast was pleasent and a nice touch. The mornings combined the too, with a great view while eating breakfast before starting the day. I missed not getting english channels on the tv, but it was good to have this problem. I mean without tv it made me enjoy more of what i was there for in the first place. I thought the rooms were very clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The plaza area is a few blocks north from the hotel. I quickly caught on to have two days in one. Enjoy the morning while it is somewhate cool (not heat of the day), have a break during the heat of the day, (good siesta time) then around 6:00pm or so go to the plaza and enjoy the sights, sounds and company of very hospitable people. (good time for helado).

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gone diving
Middletown, NY
Apr 22, 2009

expectations are everything

The hotel is small and the lobby furniture could use some repair. There are lots of stairs and that could limit the accessibility for some. The rooms in the back of the hotel are much quieter but the rooms in the front have a great view. If you go for the view, ask for the fourth floor, away from the street noise a little. The staff have great recommendations for places to eat so make sure you ask. Not a luxury hotel but overall a very clean and convenient place to stay. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a small open air restaurant on fifteenth street and 2-3 block down toward the square. The staff spoke limited English but the food was good and very inexpensive. The second place was the sports bar on fifth street. They have a daily lunch special for five US dollars. It changes daily and the portions are generous. The owner and his wife are very personable.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Mar 18, 2011

Basic but nice

This hotel shows it's age, but the bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. No drawers in our room, so we stored clothing in suitcases and on shelves, not a big problem, but took some getting used to no storage. Our first night it was hard to sleep as the metal shutters whistled in the strong wind and we had to adjust the mini split a/c, but the following nights were very comfortable. The mosquito netting slowed the a/c from blowing straight in my face, and overall after a learning curve we were quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, though the coffee could be hotter and the pastries fresher. We liked the in room mini fridge. No ice machine on site. Free wireless tended to go in and out, but seemed to work OK in the lobby. The pool was nice, though we didn't use it. There is a tiny safe in the room. Shower is big, we did lose warm water temporarily due to a boiler problem but it got fixed. I would compare it to Suites Colonial in town, but with an ocean view and a pool. A nice, basic reasonably priced hotel. We usually stay at Casa Mexicana next door, but the savings were worth venturing out. We will consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El mercado serves delicious, cheap breakfasts and lunches!

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scubadiver
Leoti, Ks
Apr 27, 2014

Long Time in coming vacation

We really like Vista del Mar, it's close to the square and close to the water. The staff are really friendly and try hard to please. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
May 5, 2009

yet another great stay at Vista

This was our second stay at Vista del Mar. We love this nice, Mexican style hotel. Location can’t get any better - only steps away from shopping and dining. We had an ocean view room (paid a little extra) with a balcony and loved eating our free breakfast and drinking coffee while overlooking the ocean. The biggest pros about this place are that is it clean, in town, small, no kids, and provides very personal service. The only cons are that it has no elevator and the town is very loud. We don’t really mind the lack of elevator since the place only has 3 floors but it could be a problem for some. This is not an AI with all the amenities; rather it’s a very homey, quaint little place. We love staying here. We also love that it’s an adult clientele. No partiers, no loud music, and no screaming kids. Yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want to find deals, do not buy anything near the hotel or the town square area. Walk a few blocks instead and find the little shops that are off the beaten path, you'll find that the proprietors are much more willing to negotiate and you'll get great deals.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
still loving cozumel
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 27, 2010

Unbeatable value!

The hotel was quite pleasant. Martin greeted us with a glass of juice and sat us down to explain the island. He said at this hotel they treat their guests as family, which I believe they proved to be true. Everyday we'd come home to a smile and they'd ask what we did that day. Breakfast is delivered to the room promptly at the time you request it. The hotel is on the water but it is by no means near the beach. We were lucky and had a rented a car so we drove to many of the beaches around the island. The free horseback riding at Mr. Sanchos beach is great. The "cowboy" leads you around through a trail and onto the beach for a good half hour (valued at $30 per person). The only downside to our stay was that our room was on the first floor near the front desk so it was noisy when people would come check in early in the am. Also, we were on the market side. The market shuts down at 6pm so it is very quiet, but we had the AC generator right next to our balcony, not so quiet. Our room was supposed to be the standard room but it was huge! A king bed and a double bed and a balcony with a table. The hotel is close to all the shopping and dining, the grocery store is 3 blocks away, there's a mini fridge in your room, and they give you access to the water cooler to fill up your bottles as much as you want. Overall it was very clean, very safe, and quite convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hints: rent a car and drive around the island to all the beaches! You can probably make the complete circle in an hour so take your time and make a day of it. Once your on the other side of the island it is much less touristy. I particularly loved Playa Bonita. Another hint: bring your snorkel gear for Chakanaab National Park. And one more: dine at Casa Mission and make sure to order a "sexy coffee" its quite the experience!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search