$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 49
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 17, 2011

Love Vista Del Mar

This was our 3rd stay @ VDM, and we loved it. The staff is wonderful and helpful. It isn't fancy, but very clean, love the location, and the ocean view from our balcony. We stayed for 10 nights and I could have stayed another 10!! We ate at a different restaurant every day and always had good food. We will definitely stay @ VDM next time to Cozumel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Astoria
Dec 18, 2008

Vista Del Mar December 2008

The Vista Del Mar is a boutique hotel right in the middle of downtown and about 3 blocks from the main square. Very close to shopping and dining. There were always taxis out front and the hotel is about two blocks from a new shopping mall which is connected to where the cruise ships dock when they arrive. The hotel is also close to beaches, maybe a 10/15 minute cab ride, and there was also a large supermarket within walking distance The rooms were decent sized and clean and had cute decor. Since it is a boutique hotel don't expect room service or an iron, blow dryer etc. but for the price it's great. They also provide bottles of bottled water. The pool is a little small and the jacuzzi was more of just a pool with jets (we didn't get to try it). The breakfast consisted of sweet rolls, coffe and juice. The front desk was very helpful with car rental and snorkel gear rental. Our room was the ocean view with balcony but we never had a problem with noise. There's also a mosquito net provided but I imagine that comes more in use during the summer months. If you're looking for a clean, safe, reasonalbly priced hotel in the middle of everything I recommend the Vista Del Mar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mr. Sancho's Beach Club, Chankanaab National Park, San Gervasio Ruins, Beaches on Eastern Side of Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doxsin
Business
Galveston, TX
Jul 31, 2011

2nd stay was as good as the 1st

This was our 2nd time to stay at Vista Del Mar and it was just as we remembered. All of the hotel staff remembered us as we walked in. It felt like returning home. If you want to be in town, this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 9, 2008

Great small hotel right in town

My husband and I stayed at Vista Del Mar Boutique Hotel in Cozumel the beginning of Feb and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! The hotel is located right on the main drive in the mix of everything. It is surrounded by shopping and resturants. The room was immense with a beautiful balcony overlooking the back market. It was extremely clean and the staff were fantastic. I have read reviews about the front balcony rooms overlooking the road are a bit noisy but do not know. Our room and balcony were extremely quiet. We awoke to the sound of church bells and roosters crowing in the distance. The pool is small and pretty cold but with the beach so close we didn't use it and didn't see anyone else using it. All in all we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay away from the giant all-inclusives! We are definitely going back with our young daughter. If you are high-maintenance and need your blowdryer and full breakfast then this won't suit you well but if you enjoy simple, clean and friendly then you will love this hotel too! Can't say enough good things about this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So many dining options available - make sure you go a few blocks back where there are some great cheap eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo ny
Mar 8, 2010

boutique hotel

this hotel location is perfect if you enjoy walking as you are right in the center of san miguel. It is only a 5 minute walk to a large super market so it was easy to buy food and take back to the hotel. Staff extremely friendly. The ocean view was terrific and it was fun watching the tourists coming to town every day. There was street noise at night but if you close the shutter on the porch it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Padillo Mission restaurant is on 35th avenue, about a 20 minute walk but authentic mexican. No one spoke much english but we stuffed ourselves and had a couple of beers for under $20.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Awesome!

Employees were VERY friendly, HELPFUL and caring!!! The room was beautiful. Breakfast was very simple but I cant complain. I love how we get free horse back riding at [...] cus we stay at this hotel. It is in the perfect location in downtown but may be a little far from the beach but it works out just fine for us since we took a ferry to the mainland, rented a jeep and scooter. Fun fun fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
May 5, 2009

yet another great stay at Vista

This was our second stay at Vista del Mar. We love this nice, Mexican style hotel. Location can’t get any better - only steps away from shopping and dining. We had an ocean view room (paid a little extra) with a balcony and loved eating our free breakfast and drinking coffee while overlooking the ocean. The biggest pros about this place are that is it clean, in town, small, no kids, and provides very personal service. The only cons are that it has no elevator and the town is very loud. We don’t really mind the lack of elevator since the place only has 3 floors but it could be a problem for some. This is not an AI with all the amenities; rather it’s a very homey, quaint little place. We love staying here. We also love that it’s an adult clientele. No partiers, no loud music, and no screaming kids. Yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want to find deals, do not buy anything near the hotel or the town square area. Walk a few blocks instead and find the little shops that are off the beaten path, you'll find that the proprietors are much more willing to negotiate and you'll get great deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
still loving cozumel
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 27, 2010

Unbeatable value!

The hotel was quite pleasant. Martin greeted us with a glass of juice and sat us down to explain the island. He said at this hotel they treat their guests as family, which I believe they proved to be true. Everyday we'd come home to a smile and they'd ask what we did that day. Breakfast is delivered to the room promptly at the time you request it. The hotel is on the water but it is by no means near the beach. We were lucky and had a rented a car so we drove to many of the beaches around the island. The free horseback riding at Mr. Sanchos beach is great. The "cowboy" leads you around through a trail and onto the beach for a good half hour (valued at $30 per person). The only downside to our stay was that our room was on the first floor near the front desk so it was noisy when people would come check in early in the am. Also, we were on the market side. The market shuts down at 6pm so it is very quiet, but we had the AC generator right next to our balcony, not so quiet. Our room was supposed to be the standard room but it was huge! A king bed and a double bed and a balcony with a table. The hotel is close to all the shopping and dining, the grocery store is 3 blocks away, there's a mini fridge in your room, and they give you access to the water cooler to fill up your bottles as much as you want. Overall it was very clean, very safe, and quite convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hints: rent a car and drive around the island to all the beaches! You can probably make the complete circle in an hour so take your time and make a day of it. Once your on the other side of the island it is much less touristy. I particularly loved Playa Bonita. Another hint: bring your snorkel gear for Chakanaab National Park. And one more: dine at Casa Mission and make sure to order a "sexy coffee" its quite the experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimbo11
Business
Milton Keynes, UK
Dec 19, 2011

Nice hotel in great proximity to dock, bars, restaurants and shops

Nice hotel in good proximity to boat dock, shops and restaurants. Staff told us all we needed to know about the area and where to hire bikes, cars etc. Rooms were large with nice finishing touches. Needs more lighting as very dark once curtains closed. Also has a tiny safe which you pay a deposit for. Handy for passports but not big enough for much more. Breakfast was included but poor. Coffee, juice and pastries with jam. This is brought to your room at your chosen time. Nice touch but could be a lot better. Purified water available all the time to refill bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In mega shopping centre on the ground floor is a lovely noodle bar called rock and java. Great for a quick tasty lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimed
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Good place, great location, and great staff

My wife and I stayed one week here and the staff was very helpful. They always tried to answer any questions we had and made sure we were comfortable. The room was quite good for the money and the location is great, if you want to be in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Especias is a great restaurant for dinner. Wet Wendy's is a great place for great margaritas, regular and flavored. Don't miss Wet Wendy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top