$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Short Dive Trip
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 17, 2012

No Refunds

I tried to change my reservation within 1 minute of making it. I made it for 2 days by mistake and only wanted 1 day. Even though I wanted to cancel the 2nd night 2 days away. I got the shaft! I talked to the hotel staff when I got there and although they were polite there was no way I was going to get any refund. The pool was too cold to get in, there was no veranda, the free horseback riding was a 15 to 20 minute taxi ride away. It's a good location for scuba diving, (access to the boat dock is close). The window in our room was directly over an open market. I won't stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I recomend "Deep Blue" for SCUBA Diving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Jul 5, 2009

so so...

The staff and especially the girl was nice and helpful. The location is good, but no access to the beach. I found all the trip (hotel, snorkeling, taxis, ferry...) awfully expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

it was a small Mexican restaurant but very far from the hotel. Fortunately I found a bus that cutt off the distance, I couldn't afford to take so many taxis, but you have to ask insistently to the locals about the buses. The food was great and copious, the staff very friendly and the ambience warm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hinesville, Georgia
Dec 23, 2009

Great location for walking about town

This was my first trip outside the US. The people were extremely friendly. It was clean. The location was very convenient for walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to go past the main strip to sample the food. The local people are wonderful and quite an experience for the newcomer. Just be careful not to drink the water or ice if your not sure it is purified.And be prepared for hard beds but that is pretty common were ever you go. And most of all, you have to snorkel if you don't dive. I could have spent all my time in the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTS79
Business
Illinois
May 14, 2012

Comfortable

We loved our stay at Vista Del Mar. The beds were comfortable and the room was very cute and right on the ocean. Plus it is close to the square. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's Restaurant and Bar! Great food and the best margarita's on the planet!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBad Girl
Business
Carlsbad, California
May 20, 2012

Ocean View was awesome!!!

This hotel sits right across the street from the ocean. It's an older hotel but they have kept it up pretty well. The staff was very nice. In the morning they bring breakfast to your room. They bring coffee, juice and pastries. It was nice to enjoy breakfast on our balcony. The beds are old spring mattresses but I still slept. overall it was a great place. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In Cozumel it is all touristy. The restaurants are all really expensive. If you ask some locals there are some yummy local restaurants out of the tourist seen. Cozumel was ok, I think staying one night or taking a day trip is plenty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late in life traveler
Business
Spiro, Oklahoma
Jul 19, 2012

Great Location

The view out the balcony area can not be beat. The simple breakfast was pleasent and a nice touch. The mornings combined the too, with a great view while eating breakfast before starting the day. I missed not getting english channels on the tv, but it was good to have this problem. I mean without tv it made me enjoy more of what i was there for in the first place. I thought the rooms were very clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The plaza area is a few blocks north from the hotel. I quickly caught on to have two days in one. Enjoy the morning while it is somewhate cool (not heat of the day), have a break during the heat of the day, (good siesta time) then around 6:00pm or so go to the plaza and enjoy the sights, sounds and company of very hospitable people. (good time for helado).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merucca
Business
Spring, TX
Oct 13, 2013

Nice clean room

The room was clean and hotel very close to the center square market. In a central location. The staff was nice. The breakfast included was pan dulce (Mexican sweet bread) with coffee and or orange juice...The only down fall for us was that we has rented a car and the hotel has no parking lot, we had to park at a public parking lot around the corner about a block and a half away. The internet was slow so we couldn't upload our vacation pictures to facebook.. Overall it's a good budget hotel just to come and sleep after a long day of fun in the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scubaboy412
Business
Lexington, KY
Feb 24, 2014

Basic Accomodations

My wife and I stayed here for eight days and were satisfied with the experience. If you are looking for a basic hotel room downtown, this works well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gone diving
Business
Middletown, NY
Apr 22, 2009

expectations are everything

The hotel is small and the lobby furniture could use some repair. There are lots of stairs and that could limit the accessibility for some. The rooms in the back of the hotel are much quieter but the rooms in the front have a great view. If you go for the view, ask for the fourth floor, away from the street noise a little. The staff have great recommendations for places to eat so make sure you ask. Not a luxury hotel but overall a very clean and convenient place to stay. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a small open air restaurant on fifteenth street and 2-3 block down toward the square. The staff spoke limited English but the food was good and very inexpensive. The second place was the sports bar on fifth street. They have a daily lunch special for five US dollars. It changes daily and the portions are generous. The owner and his wife are very personable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Mar 18, 2011

Basic but nice

This hotel shows it's age, but the bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. No drawers in our room, so we stored clothing in suitcases and on shelves, not a big problem, but took some getting used to no storage. Our first night it was hard to sleep as the metal shutters whistled in the strong wind and we had to adjust the mini split a/c, but the following nights were very comfortable. The mosquito netting slowed the a/c from blowing straight in my face, and overall after a learning curve we were quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, though the coffee could be hotter and the pastries fresher. We liked the in room mini fridge. No ice machine on site. Free wireless tended to go in and out, but seemed to work OK in the lobby. The pool was nice, though we didn't use it. There is a tiny safe in the room. Shower is big, we did lose warm water temporarily due to a boiler problem but it got fixed. I would compare it to Suites Colonial in town, but with an ocean view and a pool. A nice, basic reasonably priced hotel. We usually stay at Casa Mexicana next door, but the savings were worth venturing out. We will consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El mercado serves delicious, cheap breakfasts and lunches!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top