Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.5072 -86.9558
Area served
Cozumel.
Nearby airports
International Airport of Cozumel.
Area description
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is located 2.5 miles from the International Airport of Cozumel and approximate driving time is 7 minutes from the airport. Driving directions from Cozumel International Airport: Take right on airport Blvd. Turn left on Ocean Side street Rafael E. Melgar and you will find the Vista del Mar Hotel 12 blocks south.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 14, 2010

Great location

This was our 5th trip to Cozumel and first time to this property. The location in town and across from the ocean were it's best assets. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and the little breakfast snack delivered each morning were great. There were not a lot of frills, but for the money it was a great base for us to do our daily activities. If you are looking to stay in town I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 11, 2010

Clean, great view, affordable

We enjoyed our stay at the Vista del Mar Hotel, although this is not the place to stay if you are looking to hang out at the hotel beach or pool for tanning. We went to Cozumel to scuba dive. What you will find is a reasonably priced hotel with large, clean, air conditioned rooms, conveniently located to the dive shop (we dove with Aqua Safari) many restaurants, and a beautiful ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was a good size with a large shower and plenty of hot water. The continental breakfast included coffee, juice and assorted Mexican rolls. The hotel is on a busy street but we found that the sliding glass doors did a very good job of keeping the noise level to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
still loving cozumel
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 27, 2010

Unbeatable value!

The hotel was quite pleasant. Martin greeted us with a glass of juice and sat us down to explain the island. He said at this hotel they treat their guests as family, which I believe they proved to be true. Everyday we'd come home to a smile and they'd ask what we did that day. Breakfast is delivered to the room promptly at the time you request it. The hotel is on the water but it is by no means near the beach. We were lucky and had a rented a car so we drove to many of the beaches around the island. The free horseback riding at Mr. Sanchos beach is great. The "cowboy" leads you around through a trail and onto the beach for a good half hour (valued at $30 per person). The only downside to our stay was that our room was on the first floor near the front desk so it was noisy when people would come check in early in the am. Also, we were on the market side. The market shuts down at 6pm so it is very quiet, but we had the AC generator right next to our balcony, not so quiet. Our room was supposed to be the standard room but it was huge! A king bed and a double bed and a balcony with a table. The hotel is close to all the shopping and dining, the grocery store is 3 blocks away, there's a mini fridge in your room, and they give you access to the water cooler to fill up your bottles as much as you want. Overall it was very clean, very safe, and quite convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hints: rent a car and drive around the island to all the beaches! You can probably make the complete circle in an hour so take your time and make a day of it. Once your on the other side of the island it is much less touristy. I particularly loved Playa Bonita. Another hint: bring your snorkel gear for Chakanaab National Park. And one more: dine at Casa Mission and make sure to order a "sexy coffee" its quite the experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doxsin
Business
TX
Mar 29, 2010

We Shall Return

The Staff and location of this hotel can't be beat. If you enjoy peoplewatching this is the place to be..Oceanview rooms with balconies overlook the main street and have a gorgeous view of the ocean and sunsets. The other rooms have a view of the small market and pool in the back. If you get an oceanview room, close the shutters at night, to block out any light or noise from the main street..it works.....We had a great time and will return to Vista Del Mar...the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Awesome!

Employees were VERY friendly, HELPFUL and caring!!! The room was beautiful. Breakfast was very simple but I cant complain. I love how we get free horse back riding at [...] cus we stay at this hotel. It is in the perfect location in downtown but may be a little far from the beach but it works out just fine for us since we took a ferry to the mainland, rented a jeep and scooter. Fun fun fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo ny
Mar 8, 2010

boutique hotel

this hotel location is perfect if you enjoy walking as you are right in the center of san miguel. It is only a 5 minute walk to a large super market so it was easy to buy food and take back to the hotel. Staff extremely friendly. The ocean view was terrific and it was fun watching the tourists coming to town every day. There was street noise at night but if you close the shutter on the porch it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Padillo Mission restaurant is on 35th avenue, about a 20 minute walk but authentic mexican. No one spoke much english but we stuffed ourselves and had a couple of beers for under $20.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gunny, CO
Feb 16, 2010

A lot of street noise.

I had to have the TV on and the AC going all night to block out the street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kamloops, B.C.
Feb 15, 2010

good for the price

The staff was very courteous,I especially like "M". Although noisy if oceanfront, don't be stupid like me our first night, close the security doors! it makes a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine just around the corner at La Mission

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hinesville, Georgia
Dec 23, 2009

Great location for walking about town

This was my first trip outside the US. The people were extremely friendly. It was clean. The location was very convenient for walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to go past the main strip to sample the food. The local people are wonderful and quite an experience for the newcomer. Just be careful not to drink the water or ice if your not sure it is purified.And be prepared for hard beds but that is pretty common were ever you go. And most of all, you have to snorkel if you don't dive. I could have spent all my time in the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Dec 17, 2009

Nice Hotel

We mostly hung out around town and Vista del Mar was in a super location. We had the balcony room over looking the ocean. The room was very clean, nothing fancy but a good value. Continental breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some great in town restaurants are Kinta (very good higher end). La Mission (for a decent steak and lobster tail $16) Del Sur (for great empanadas) Camillos (for great shrimp tacos) Albino's (for good fish) El Foco, Los Seras or El Pique for good tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top