$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
View map of Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 14, 2010

Great location

This was our 5th trip to Cozumel and first time to this property. The location in town and across from the ocean were it's best assets. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and the little breakfast snack delivered each morning were great. There were not a lot of frills, but for the money it was a great base for us to do our daily activities. If you are looking to stay in town I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 11, 2010

Clean, great view, affordable

We enjoyed our stay at the Vista del Mar Hotel, although this is not the place to stay if you are looking to hang out at the hotel beach or pool for tanning. We went to Cozumel to scuba dive. What you will find is a reasonably priced hotel with large, clean, air conditioned rooms, conveniently located to the dive shop (we dove with Aqua Safari) many restaurants, and a beautiful ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was a good size with a large shower and plenty of hot water. The continental breakfast included coffee, juice and assorted Mexican rolls. The hotel is on a busy street but we found that the sliding glass doors did a very good job of keeping the noise level to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
still loving cozumel
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 27, 2010

Unbeatable value!

The hotel was quite pleasant. Martin greeted us with a glass of juice and sat us down to explain the island. He said at this hotel they treat their guests as family, which I believe they proved to be true. Everyday we'd come home to a smile and they'd ask what we did that day. Breakfast is delivered to the room promptly at the time you request it. The hotel is on the water but it is by no means near the beach. We were lucky and had a rented a car so we drove to many of the beaches around the island. The free horseback riding at Mr. Sanchos beach is great. The "cowboy" leads you around through a trail and onto the beach for a good half hour (valued at $30 per person). The only downside to our stay was that our room was on the first floor near the front desk so it was noisy when people would come check in early in the am. Also, we were on the market side. The market shuts down at 6pm so it is very quiet, but we had the AC generator right next to our balcony, not so quiet. Our room was supposed to be the standard room but it was huge! A king bed and a double bed and a balcony with a table. The hotel is close to all the shopping and dining, the grocery store is 3 blocks away, there's a mini fridge in your room, and they give you access to the water cooler to fill up your bottles as much as you want. Overall it was very clean, very safe, and quite convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful hints: rent a car and drive around the island to all the beaches! You can probably make the complete circle in an hour so take your time and make a day of it. Once your on the other side of the island it is much less touristy. I particularly loved Playa Bonita. Another hint: bring your snorkel gear for Chakanaab National Park. And one more: dine at Casa Mission and make sure to order a "sexy coffee" its quite the experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doxsin
Business
TX
Mar 29, 2010

We Shall Return

The Staff and location of this hotel can't be beat. If you enjoy peoplewatching this is the place to be..Oceanview rooms with balconies overlook the main street and have a gorgeous view of the ocean and sunsets. The other rooms have a view of the small market and pool in the back. If you get an oceanview room, close the shutters at night, to block out any light or noise from the main street..it works.....We had a great time and will return to Vista Del Mar...the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Awesome!

Employees were VERY friendly, HELPFUL and caring!!! The room was beautiful. Breakfast was very simple but I cant complain. I love how we get free horse back riding at [...] cus we stay at this hotel. It is in the perfect location in downtown but may be a little far from the beach but it works out just fine for us since we took a ferry to the mainland, rented a jeep and scooter. Fun fun fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo ny
Mar 8, 2010

boutique hotel

this hotel location is perfect if you enjoy walking as you are right in the center of san miguel. It is only a 5 minute walk to a large super market so it was easy to buy food and take back to the hotel. Staff extremely friendly. The ocean view was terrific and it was fun watching the tourists coming to town every day. There was street noise at night but if you close the shutter on the porch it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Padillo Mission restaurant is on 35th avenue, about a 20 minute walk but authentic mexican. No one spoke much english but we stuffed ourselves and had a couple of beers for under $20.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gunny, CO
Feb 16, 2010

A lot of street noise.

I had to have the TV on and the AC going all night to block out the street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kamloops, B.C.
Feb 15, 2010

good for the price

The staff was very courteous,I especially like "M". Although noisy if oceanfront, don't be stupid like me our first night, close the security doors! it makes a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine just around the corner at La Mission

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hinesville, Georgia
Dec 23, 2009

Great location for walking about town

This was my first trip outside the US. The people were extremely friendly. It was clean. The location was very convenient for walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to go past the main strip to sample the food. The local people are wonderful and quite an experience for the newcomer. Just be careful not to drink the water or ice if your not sure it is purified.And be prepared for hard beds but that is pretty common were ever you go. And most of all, you have to snorkel if you don't dive. I could have spent all my time in the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Dec 17, 2009

Nice Hotel

We mostly hung out around town and Vista del Mar was in a super location. We had the balcony room over looking the ocean. The room was very clean, nothing fancy but a good value. Continental breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some great in town restaurants are Kinta (very good higher end). La Mission (for a decent steak and lobster tail $16) Del Sur (for great empanadas) Camillos (for great shrimp tacos) Albino's (for good fish) El Foco, Los Seras or El Pique for good tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top