$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5072 -86.9558
Area served
Cozumel.
Nearby airports
International Airport of Cozumel.
Area description
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is located 2.5 miles from the International Airport of Cozumel and approximate driving time is 7 minutes from the airport. Driving directions from Cozumel International Airport: Take right on airport Blvd. Turn left on Ocean Side street Rafael E. Melgar and you will find the Vista del Mar Hotel 12 blocks south.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCUBA Diver andSailer
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 27, 2012

Still a great value.

This is my 10th or 11th time staying at the Vista Del Mar. If you want to stay in San Miguel, Cozumel the Vista Del Mar is a great value. The rooms are relatively large and the view from the balconie nice. Word of warning, the Vista Del Mar was updated about 8 years ago and everything looked like the online picutes then. The bed linens, towels, and other furnishings have not changed since and are starting to get pretty well worn. In spite of that, this is still a nice clean, safe, place to lay your head at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Costa Brava is nice easy walk for lunch or dinner. Walk around the block counter clockwise it is roughly 1/4 the way around the block on your left. If you like lime and cilantro, give the fish ceveche a try.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaDiver
Texas
Sep 26, 2011

Great low-cost downtown hotel

This hotel is great for the money! The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We are divers, so needed breakfast by 7am, which is when the staff get in. They were very good about delivering a nice continental breakfast of fresh rolls and juice (we are not coffee drinkers). Room was very clean and nicely made up each day. Small pool was very refreshing, and in the shade part of the afternoon. Walking distance to great food and shops. They did not have a phone in the room, but said they were working on it. Wifi worked great in the room and in the sitting area on our floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked Kinta on Ave 5 between Calle 2&4. Great cilantro rice and sauce with their fish of the day. Sorrissi's for italian (brick oven, great ambiance and food) and La Chef (try the brie or a baguette sandwich). La Choza is also a good choice for mexican as well as Casa Denis off the square.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doxsin
Galveston, TX
Jul 31, 2011

2nd stay was as good as the 1st

This was our 2nd time to stay at Vista Del Mar and it was just as we remembered. All of the hotel staff remembered us as we walked in. It felt like returning home. If you want to be in town, this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doxsin
Galveston, TX
Jul 31, 2011

2nd stay was as good as the 1st

This was our 2nd time to stay at Vista Del Mar and it was just as we remembered. All of the hotel staff remembered us as we walked in. It felt like returning home. If you want to be in town, this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 21, 2011

Great stay - great price

Hotel is across the street from the water located down town. Great View and good for people watching too. Inside, rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a small pool on one of the roofs that is very clean and nice to cool off. Comes with continental breakfast each am. Not on beach, no bells and whistles...but right for the price. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's for great fun and drinks...and Especias for a wonderful meal.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 21, 2011

Great stay - great price

Hotel is across the street from the water located down town. Great View and good for people watching too. Inside, rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a small pool on one of the roofs that is very clean and nice to cool off. Comes with continental breakfast each am. Not on beach, no bells and whistles...but right for the price. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's for great fun and drinks...and Especias for a wonderful meal.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tykris
Chicago
Apr 14, 2011

Nice clean and convenient Hotel

Greeted with a nice smile and a refreshing cocktail and off to the room I travel once per year without my wife to scuba dive the incredible reefs right off of Cozumel The room was comfortable and every thing worked perfectly - The maid did an incredible job cleaning the room each day and I booked to ocean view so that was excellent as well Convenient to nearly everything - Ill stay her again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tykris
Chicago
Apr 14, 2011

Nice clean and convenient Hotel

Greeted with a nice smile and a refreshing cocktail and off to the room I travel once per year without my wife to scuba dive the incredible reefs right off of Cozumel The room was comfortable and every thing worked perfectly - The maid did an incredible job cleaning the room each day and I booked to ocean view so that was excellent as well Convenient to nearly everything - Ill stay her again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Mar 18, 2011

Basic but nice

This hotel shows it's age, but the bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. No drawers in our room, so we stored clothing in suitcases and on shelves, not a big problem, but took some getting used to no storage. Our first night it was hard to sleep as the metal shutters whistled in the strong wind and we had to adjust the mini split a/c, but the following nights were very comfortable. The mosquito netting slowed the a/c from blowing straight in my face, and overall after a learning curve we were quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, though the coffee could be hotter and the pastries fresher. We liked the in room mini fridge. No ice machine on site. Free wireless tended to go in and out, but seemed to work OK in the lobby. The pool was nice, though we didn't use it. There is a tiny safe in the room. Shower is big, we did lose warm water temporarily due to a boiler problem but it got fixed. I would compare it to Suites Colonial in town, but with an ocean view and a pool. A nice, basic reasonably priced hotel. We usually stay at Casa Mexicana next door, but the savings were worth venturing out. We will consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El mercado serves delicious, cheap breakfasts and lunches!

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Mar 18, 2011

Basic but nice

This hotel shows it's age, but the bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. No drawers in our room, so we stored clothing in suitcases and on shelves, not a big problem, but took some getting used to no storage. Our first night it was hard to sleep as the metal shutters whistled in the strong wind and we had to adjust the mini split a/c, but the following nights were very comfortable. The mosquito netting slowed the a/c from blowing straight in my face, and overall after a learning curve we were quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, though the coffee could be hotter and the pastries fresher. We liked the in room mini fridge. No ice machine on site. Free wireless tended to go in and out, but seemed to work OK in the lobby. The pool was nice, though we didn't use it. There is a tiny safe in the room. Shower is big, we did lose warm water temporarily due to a boiler problem but it got fixed. I would compare it to Suites Colonial in town, but with an ocean view and a pool. A nice, basic reasonably priced hotel. We usually stay at Casa Mexicana next door, but the savings were worth venturing out. We will consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El mercado serves delicious, cheap breakfasts and lunches!

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Feb 17, 2011

Love Vista Del Mar

This was our 3rd stay @ VDM, and we loved it. The staff is wonderful and helpful. It isn't fancy, but very clean, love the location, and the ocean view from our balcony. We stayed for 10 nights and I could have stayed another 10!! We ate at a different restaurant every day and always had good food. We will definitely stay @ VDM next time to Cozumel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top