$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
View map of Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Short Dive Trip
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 17, 2012

No Refunds

I tried to change my reservation within 1 minute of making it. I made it for 2 days by mistake and only wanted 1 day. Even though I wanted to cancel the 2nd night 2 days away. I got the shaft! I talked to the hotel staff when I got there and although they were polite there was no way I was going to get any refund. The pool was too cold to get in, there was no veranda, the free horseback riding was a 15 to 20 minute taxi ride away. It's a good location for scuba diving, (access to the boat dock is close). The window in our room was directly over an open market. I won't stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I recomend "Deep Blue" for SCUBA Diving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimbo11
Business
Milton Keynes, UK
Dec 19, 2011

Nice hotel in great proximity to dock, bars, restaurants and shops

Nice hotel in good proximity to boat dock, shops and restaurants. Staff told us all we needed to know about the area and where to hire bikes, cars etc. Rooms were large with nice finishing touches. Needs more lighting as very dark once curtains closed. Also has a tiny safe which you pay a deposit for. Handy for passports but not big enough for much more. Breakfast was included but poor. Coffee, juice and pastries with jam. This is brought to your room at your chosen time. Nice touch but could be a lot better. Purified water available all the time to refill bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In mega shopping centre on the ground floor is a lovely noodle bar called rock and java. Great for a quick tasty lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolomite
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 20, 2011

A great place for a quick scuba getaway

This is a really nice little hotel just a few blocks from the ferry terminal. It's entrance is just inside the Vista del Mar shopping plaza, so when there's a cruise ship in port, you will find yourself fully ensconced in the economic process of seperating money from cruise ship passengers. Once the cruise ships depart for the night, things quiet down considerably. The hotel staff were simply the best. Very friendly and hard working folks. The rooms were clean and brightly decorated. The water pressure out of the shower was fine and so was the temperature of the hot water. If I had to come up with something critical to say, it would be that my refrigerator was a little noisy at night. The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade, but the rooms with a plaza view are also cool since they have decent sized balconies over looking all the hub bub down in the shopping plaza. I was looking for a reasonably priced place near the downtown piers - with an ocean view. While there are several places that would fit my needs - the Vista del Mar Boutique will be the one I'll be going back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to anything you need or want (banks, ATMs, OXXO, dozens of places to eat, MEGA mart) within ten minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaDiver
Business
Texas
Sep 26, 2011

Great low-cost downtown hotel

This hotel is great for the money! The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We are divers, so needed breakfast by 7am, which is when the staff get in. They were very good about delivering a nice continental breakfast of fresh rolls and juice (we are not coffee drinkers). Room was very clean and nicely made up each day. Small pool was very refreshing, and in the shade part of the afternoon. Walking distance to great food and shops. They did not have a phone in the room, but said they were working on it. Wifi worked great in the room and in the sitting area on our floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked Kinta on Ave 5 between Calle 2&4. Great cilantro rice and sauce with their fish of the day. Sorrissi's for italian (brick oven, great ambiance and food) and La Chef (try the brie or a baguette sandwich). La Choza is also a good choice for mexican as well as Casa Denis off the square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doxsin
Business
Galveston, TX
Jul 31, 2011

2nd stay was as good as the 1st

This was our 2nd time to stay at Vista Del Mar and it was just as we remembered. All of the hotel staff remembered us as we walked in. It felt like returning home. If you want to be in town, this is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 21, 2011

Great stay - great price

Hotel is across the street from the water located down town. Great View and good for people watching too. Inside, rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a small pool on one of the roofs that is very clean and nice to cool off. Comes with continental breakfast each am. Not on beach, no bells and whistles...but right for the price. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's for great fun and drinks...and Especias for a wonderful meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tykris
Business
Chicago
Apr 14, 2011

Nice clean and convenient Hotel

Greeted with a nice smile and a refreshing cocktail and off to the room I travel once per year without my wife to scuba dive the incredible reefs right off of Cozumel The room was comfortable and every thing worked perfectly - The maid did an incredible job cleaning the room each day and I booked to ocean view so that was excellent as well Convenient to nearly everything - Ill stay her again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Mar 18, 2011

Basic but nice

This hotel shows it's age, but the bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. No drawers in our room, so we stored clothing in suitcases and on shelves, not a big problem, but took some getting used to no storage. Our first night it was hard to sleep as the metal shutters whistled in the strong wind and we had to adjust the mini split a/c, but the following nights were very comfortable. The mosquito netting slowed the a/c from blowing straight in my face, and overall after a learning curve we were quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, though the coffee could be hotter and the pastries fresher. We liked the in room mini fridge. No ice machine on site. Free wireless tended to go in and out, but seemed to work OK in the lobby. The pool was nice, though we didn't use it. There is a tiny safe in the room. Shower is big, we did lose warm water temporarily due to a boiler problem but it got fixed. I would compare it to Suites Colonial in town, but with an ocean view and a pool. A nice, basic reasonably priced hotel. We usually stay at Casa Mexicana next door, but the savings were worth venturing out. We will consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El mercado serves delicious, cheap breakfasts and lunches!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 17, 2011

Love Vista Del Mar

This was our 3rd stay @ VDM, and we loved it. The staff is wonderful and helpful. It isn't fancy, but very clean, love the location, and the ocean view from our balcony. We stayed for 10 nights and I could have stayed another 10!! We ate at a different restaurant every day and always had good food. We will definitely stay @ VDM next time to Cozumel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver,City, Ia
Nov 29, 2010

Love Vista Del Mar!

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed @ VDM, and we have a 10 night stay booked for February! We love the location, the quaintness, the ocean view room, and all of the staff. We used to stay @ Sol Cabanes del Caribe until Wima ruined it in 2005, then we started staying at the AI resorts. The AI resorts are nice, but my husband was getting bored with the same food and drinks, etc. Now we go out to eat & have drinks at many different places(most in walking distance), and try lots of little bars and beach areas. We also enjoy going to Mega and picking up plenty of cerveza & lime and snacks we can keep in our refrig. @ VDM. There's also a breakfast of good coffee, OJ and rolls delivered to our room in the morning. We love Cozumel and also Vista del Mar--can't wait til February

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Mission, Guidos and Los Dorados are all great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top