Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

2 stars
Avenida Rafael E. Melgar # 443 entre 5 y 7 Sur, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My best friend and I decided to do a last minute trip to Cozumel and decided to stay here. The... See full review

  • Brooklyn NY Travelers
  • Dec 29, 2013
Well located on the waterfront

I would have stayed a third night but they were full. Really nice room with balcony overlooking the... See full review

  • Wandering Guy
  • Dec 15, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel surrounded by restaurants and entertainment
For a tropical island vacation with a little bit of city living (i.e., walking the street and choosing what to eat or do), the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel’s location is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Cozumel, surrounded by charming markets, eclectic restaurants and an array of dive shops.
Highlights
  • In central downtown Cozumel, close to the main square and ferries to Playa Del Carmen
  • Surrounded by restaurants, markets and dive shops
  • Ocean views
  • Complimentary continental breakfast, served in-room on request
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The 20 guest rooms of the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel have been decorated in a cozy, well-textured Mexican style with wood and shell accents. Fabric is used as a design element: mosquito netting wraps the bed, draped in textured, natural material. Everything is brown and buttery-colored, except for the blue ocean views (make sure you ask; another set of rooms overlook the colorful plaza).

All guest rooms offer a king or two double beds with air-conditioning, mini-fridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes and amenities, purified bottled water and a private balcony.
Features
While dive and honeymoon packages are available, the Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is not inclusive, nor does it have a beachfront (the bay across the street offers stunning views, but guests must go down the street and pop in at a beach club to swim in the Caribbean). A continental breakfast is included and is delivered via room service when requested. An outdoor swimming pool has a swim-up bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel lets guests stay connected.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.5 mi/3km)
Attractions
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • BLUE Project - Dive Shop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel Rooms

Ocean View Room with Private Balcony
The ocean view room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with air-conditioning, minifridge, cable TV, private bath, phone in room, room safe, robes & amenities, purified bottled water, night courtesy with mosquito netting over bed and a private balcony.
Plaza View Standard Room
The standard room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds with refrigerator, phone and safety deposit box in the room, coffeemaker, cable TV with remote control, heat/air controls, purified bottle water, bathroom amenities, bathrobe, and private bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.5072 -86.9558
Area served
Cozumel.
Nearby airports
International Airport of Cozumel.
Area description
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel is located 2.5 miles from the International Airport of Cozumel and approximate driving time is 7 minutes from the airport. Driving directions from Cozumel International Airport: Take right on airport Blvd. Turn left on Ocean Side street Rafael E. Melgar and you will find the Vista del Mar Hotel 12 blocks south.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCUBA Diver andSailer
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 27, 2012

Still a great value.

This is my 10th or 11th time staying at the Vista Del Mar. If you want to stay in San Miguel, Cozumel the Vista Del Mar is a great value. The rooms are relatively large and the view from the balconie nice. Word of warning, the Vista Del Mar was updated about 8 years ago and everything looked like the online picutes then. The bed linens, towels, and other furnishings have not changed since and are starting to get pretty well worn. In spite of that, this is still a nice clean, safe, place to lay your head at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Costa Brava is nice easy walk for lunch or dinner. Walk around the block counter clockwise it is roughly 1/4 the way around the block on your left. If you like lime and cilantro, give the fish ceveche a try.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late in life traveler
Spiro, Oklahoma
Jul 19, 2012

Great Location

The view out the balcony area can not be beat. The simple breakfast was pleasent and a nice touch. The mornings combined the too, with a great view while eating breakfast before starting the day. I missed not getting english channels on the tv, but it was good to have this problem. I mean without tv it made me enjoy more of what i was there for in the first place. I thought the rooms were very clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The plaza area is a few blocks north from the hotel. I quickly caught on to have two days in one. Enjoy the morning while it is somewhate cool (not heat of the day), have a break during the heat of the day, (good siesta time) then around 6:00pm or so go to the plaza and enjoy the sights, sounds and company of very hospitable people. (good time for helado).

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolomite
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jun 6, 2012

My second stay at this great little down town hotel

The front desk staff were great as always. The maids do an amazing job making the place look great (remember to tip your maids!). The WiFi worked fine, the hot water and water pressure in general was good. The fridge and the TV were a little dated, but both worked, and the air conditioning was more than adequate. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best scuba operation on the island, Aldora Divers, is right around the corner.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBad Girl
Carlsbad, California
May 20, 2012

Ocean View was awesome!!!

This hotel sits right across the street from the ocean. It's an older hotel but they have kept it up pretty well. The staff was very nice. In the morning they bring breakfast to your room. They bring coffee, juice and pastries. It was nice to enjoy breakfast on our balcony. The beds are old spring mattresses but I still slept. overall it was a great place. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In Cozumel it is all touristy. The restaurants are all really expensive. If you ask some locals there are some yummy local restaurants out of the tourist seen. Cozumel was ok, I think staying one night or taking a day trip is plenty.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BTS79
Illinois
May 14, 2012

Comfortable

We loved our stay at Vista Del Mar. The beds were comfortable and the room was very cute and right on the ocean. Plus it is close to the square. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Wet Wendy's Restaurant and Bar! Great food and the best margarita's on the planet!!!!

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimed
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Good place, great location, and great staff

My wife and I stayed one week here and the staff was very helpful. They always tried to answer any questions we had and made sure we were comfortable. The room was quite good for the money and the location is great, if you want to be in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Especias is a great restaurant for dinner. Wet Wendy's is a great place for great margaritas, regular and flavored. Don't miss Wet Wendy's.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Short Dive Trip
Utah, USA
Jan 17, 2012

No Refunds

I tried to change my reservation within 1 minute of making it. I made it for 2 days by mistake and only wanted 1 day. Even though I wanted to cancel the 2nd night 2 days away. I got the shaft! I talked to the hotel staff when I got there and although they were polite there was no way I was going to get any refund. The pool was too cold to get in, there was no veranda, the free horseback riding was a 15 to 20 minute taxi ride away. It's a good location for scuba diving, (access to the boat dock is close). The window in our room was directly over an open market. I won't stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I recomend "Deep Blue" for SCUBA Diving.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimbo11
Milton Keynes, UK
Dec 19, 2011

Nice hotel in great proximity to dock, bars, restaurants and shops

Nice hotel in good proximity to boat dock, shops and restaurants. Staff told us all we needed to know about the area and where to hire bikes, cars etc. Rooms were large with nice finishing touches. Needs more lighting as very dark once curtains closed. Also has a tiny safe which you pay a deposit for. Handy for passports but not big enough for much more. Breakfast was included but poor. Coffee, juice and pastries with jam. This is brought to your room at your chosen time. Nice touch but could be a lot better. Purified water available all the time to refill bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In mega shopping centre on the ground floor is a lovely noodle bar called rock and java. Great for a quick tasty lunch

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolomite
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 20, 2011

A great place for a quick scuba getaway

This is a really nice little hotel just a few blocks from the ferry terminal. It's entrance is just inside the Vista del Mar shopping plaza, so when there's a cruise ship in port, you will find yourself fully ensconced in the economic process of seperating money from cruise ship passengers. Once the cruise ships depart for the night, things quiet down considerably. The hotel staff were simply the best. Very friendly and hard working folks. The rooms were clean and brightly decorated. The water pressure out of the shower was fine and so was the temperature of the hot water. If I had to come up with something critical to say, it would be that my refrigerator was a little noisy at night. The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade, but the rooms with a plaza view are also cool since they have decent sized balconies over looking all the hub bub down in the shopping plaza. I was looking for a reasonably priced place near the downtown piers - with an ocean view. While there are several places that would fit my needs - the Vista del Mar Boutique will be the one I'll be going back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to anything you need or want (banks, ATMs, OXXO, dozens of places to eat, MEGA mart) within ten minutes.

Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaDiver
Texas
Sep 26, 2011

Great low-cost downtown hotel

This hotel is great for the money! The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We are divers, so needed breakfast by 7am, which is when the staff get in. They were very good about delivering a nice continental breakfast of fresh rolls and juice (we are not coffee drinkers). Room was very clean and nicely made up each day. Small pool was very refreshing, and in the shade part of the afternoon. Walking distance to great food and shops. They did not have a phone in the room, but said they were working on it. Wifi worked great in the room and in the sitting area on our floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked Kinta on Ave 5 between Calle 2&4. Great cilantro rice and sauce with their fish of the day. Sorrissi's for italian (brick oven, great ambiance and food) and La Chef (try the brie or a baguette sandwich). La Choza is also a good choice for mexican as well as Casa Denis off the square.

Back to menu Return to top