$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Suites Colonial

2 stars
5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Best Bargain in Town

Good basic hotel for very cheap. Flat screen TV, wifi, ac. See full review

  • Albietaco
  • Jul 30, 2014
Rate

Cannot beat the price we paid. With the included breakfast buffet it is the best deal on the... See full review

  • scubarocko
  • Dec 31, 2012
Downtown Cozumel hotel close to dancing, nightlife with free breakfast
Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. A continental breakfast is served daily at the Suites Colonial and free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Rooms
Wood-paneled walls and colorful bedspreads make the 28 rooms in the sun-drenched Suites Colonial hotel pop. Choose from 12 studios with a double and twin bed or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Features
Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Suites Colonial Rooms

Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.
Studio with Refrigerator
12 charming roomswith one double bed and a single bed with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV. Refrigerator, bathroom with shower, and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 24
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albietaco
Business
boulder, co
Jul 30, 2014

Best Bargain in Town

Good basic hotel for very cheap. Flat screen TV, wifi, ac.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fdkahfkd
Business
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2013

Moved me without apology, but it went ok

I booked the hotel on Monday for $44. When I arrived on Tuesday, I was told the room wasn't available and they were moving me to another hotel. They didn't apologize and they didn't give me any assurance that the new room would be comparable to the one promised or in a reasonable location. And the guy who lead me to the new hotel clearly wanted a tip for handling their screwup. I was irritated, but the staff at the other hotel, the Bahia, was nicer and the room they ended up giving me was pretty good. And yes, the breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots of restaurants on Cozumel. I quite liked La Casita de Indio--good cooking, good prices, nice people running the place who speak good English. For diving, if you're most concerned about price (as I was), I recommend "Dive with George", which is run by George through one of the hotels on the same street as Indio. He charges $65 for a two-tank dive and $10 for equipment. He's a nice guy, good diver, and perfectly safe, but if you're looking for that full-service feel, probably someone else is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett H
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 19, 2013

Comfortable and Good Location

Simple and no frills. Good value for the money. Clean room, hot water, A/C worked well, though it leaked water into room(used trash can to catch water) and a comfortable bed. Good location near town square and good restaurants. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironman Keith
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

DO NOT stay here if you're doing the Ironman

Last time I stayed in Cozumel for the Ironman, I stayed at an all inclusive, which was nice, but I tended to stay there and didn't get out and enjoy as much of the local fare as I'd liked, which is why I decided to go with the Suites Colonial this year. The place is adorable. The rooms are very clean and are more than adequate for $48 a night. There is fresh coffee in the lobby every morning and the breakfast provided by their sister hotel is just a quick five minute walk and is very good. There are a few barkers from the shops close by that you have to deal with when you leave/arrive, but you have to deal with that pretty much anywhere in Cozumel, so it's not that big of a deal. My two main complaints: 1) No parking! I rented a scooter and while I could park it in the lobby overnight, I couldn't park there during the day, so I had to park it in a garage two blocks away. Not a huge deal, but something to consider if you're renting a vehicle. 2) The live music from the bar next door on Fri/Sat nights. Yes, the a/c somewhat drowns them out, but you can still hear them and they play until the wee hours of the morning. I normally wouldn't care, but I had to get up at 4am for an Ironman race on Sunday and the band played until 3am Sunday morning, which did NOT make for a good night's rest. My overall opinion? Great place to stay on the cheap if you just want a basic hotel and are easy going. If you like fancy schmancy or are doing the Ironman, go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the El Foco " restaurant one block over. They're reasonable, you can write your name on the walls, they have an AMAZING conch ceviche and they're open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njones259
Business
new jersey
Mar 31, 2011

Good Except On Some Nights

Rooms are nice and big with a single and double bed.Full size frig and good air conditioning.Pleanty of water pressure,hot water and location is great.The only negative is on thurs,fri and sat night a band plays so loudly across the street you can't sleep between midnight and 3am and I am not a light sleeper.They also have a great breakfast buffet at casa mexicana that is included in room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 9, 2011

Inexpensive and central location

Inexpensive and located by the square in San Miguel. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems and great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent scooters(mopeds) from a place directly across from the hotel. $30 a day and very convienent for travelers that want to go around the island and see a lot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalItalian
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 5, 2009

Cozumel

Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrAAveler
Business
Centerton, Arkansas
May 2, 2009

A wonderful stay that I'd go again

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The elevator was OTS but walking up three floors is good exercise. Breakfast was off site but, again, walking is good for the body. I love the fact that the room was more like a studio apartment complete with a kitchenette, living room and dining area. It was awesome that each unit had its own water heater. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a short walk to the main street where most of the action is. All around you there's something to do and see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Good value for money

The hotel was well located, very near the central plaza of San Miguel. It was clean. the water was hot at all times; the maid was friendly and efficient; the manager was pleasant and efficient. The main problem was that the air conditioner was located only in the sleeping area of the suite and it was super loud and not very cooling. When you opened the doors and the windows of the suite to take advantage of the cool ocean breezes, the noise from the nearby cafes and bars was pretty overpowering and sleep was impossible until about four a.m. when things settled down outside. The hotel did not offer meals, except for the continental breakfast, which was rather poor: tired fruit, semi-stale rolls. But the coffee and juice was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like lots of loud nightlife, this is a good place to stay. If you want peace and quite, get farther away from the plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 22, 2007

Close to the Square

Colonial Suites is one half block off the old square. Great for that location, IF that is the what is important. It is not on the water, no pool, not fancy, etc. BUT close to the square and very reasonable. Has lots of room, bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bath. But only A/C, window type unit, was in bedroom, so if warm, the living room etc was not comfortable. TV was in bedroom. Not a resort type hotel, but a good place to stay right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is right downtown, i.e. shopping, dinner, everything. Prima's very good Italian less than one minute walk. La Choza just up the street, again about one minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top