$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Suites Colonial

2 stars
View map of 5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
28 reviews
Great value

Excellent value. Street construction in front , but no big deal. Super included breakfast. See full review

  • gf.603
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great location

It was very quiet yet you are in the heart of downtown San Miguel. Very clean hotel. Just wished... See full review

  • Ednalyn S.
  • Apr 7, 2015
Downtown Cozumel hotel close to dancing, nightlife with free breakfast
Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. A continental breakfast is served daily at the Suites Colonial and free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Rooms
Wood-paneled walls and colorful bedspreads make the 28 rooms in the sun-drenched Suites Colonial hotel pop. Choose from 12 studios with a double and twin bed or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Features
Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Suites Colonial Rooms

Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.
Studio with Refrigerator
12 charming roomswith one double bed and a single bed with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV. Refrigerator, bathroom with shower, and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 28
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ednalyn S.
Business
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Great location

It was very quiet yet you are in the heart of downtown San Miguel. Very clean hotel. Just wished the air conditioning unit is quieter. Other than that it was an excellent experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slyfox29
Business
wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

center of town

Nice clean hotel in the center of town. Easy access to everything. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisGi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 16, 2013

Perfect for the price. Nothing negative to say.

It was a great hotel. It was in a busy part of town. It is NOT on a road. You have to walk into the square to get to it. There isn't parking in the area but they let you park about 4 blocks away which isn't a huge deal. They let you eat breakfast at their sister hotel, casa mexican, and it is amazing. Eggs to order, waffles and pancakes made right in front of you. There was nothing special about the hotel room but everything was clean and in working order. There is a refrigerator and television. We mostly used our tablet to access their wireless internet to watch movies which was very convenient. I think it was the cheapest hotel that the web site had to offer and it was well beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside of the hotel entrance is a dive shop called Pro Dive. It was our first time diving and the owner named Eduardo Rodriguez took us. We met him at Chankanaab Park the next morning and our experience couldn't have been better. He is incredibly nice, inexpensive, intelligent, and easy to understand. We would highly recommend him. Also, there is a restaurant called Del Sur which is on the end of the next block (walking from the hotel toward the Oxxo) which is great and cheap. We went there twice in the 5 days we were there. Try the Bananna and Chocolate empanadas. In fact, all of the empanadas were great and they were only about $2 (US) each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artgirl24
Business
missouri
Aug 4, 2012

12 days

My review isn't different than most people about this hotel. It is basic, but clean. Highlights: comfy pillows and bed, fridge and tv for rainy days, very nice hard working maids.. please tip them well. Low points: mosquitos everywhere in the room, had to buy skeeter bombs and light them several times, bathroom drain stunk.. no trap, room dark.. not much light, some outlets didn't work, desk staff never gave us our emergency messages from home.. THAT was a BIG problem. Overall we spent most of our time outside, so the questionable issues weren't a big deal to us except the moscas and no messages. Breakfast at the sister hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the east side of the island. Buy a cheap cooler at the store and fill it with ice and drinks, snacks and get over there and unplug. One of the best and cheapest ways to spend a day or 1/2 day on Cozumel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob.s
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 20, 2012

overnight

A very nice hotel that is kept up and clean. Excellent location for carnaval as is downtown. Great breakfast buffet at sister hotel. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a rtn ferry ticket at playa so you won"t have to stand in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMB
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2011

Convenient and cheap!

We didnt spend much time at the hotel since we just wanted to dive and do other things outside.. For the price it cant get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMB
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2011

Convenient and cheap!

We didnt spend much time at the hotel since we just wanted to dive and do other things outside.. For the price it cant get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beloit,Oh
Apr 25, 2011

Cheap and clean!

this is the perfect place if you are traveling back and forth to cancun, etc. and not concerned with having an ocean front hotel. we flew into cozumel and rented a car to tour the island and took the car ferry the next day to cancun. we also stayed here when we came back the day before our flight. so once again we were busy touring the island beach bars so the fact that it isnt ocean front was of no concern to us. if the fact that it is right in the center of town near the food and nightlife and that it is a clean place to lay your head is all that matters, then this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mescal
Business
Chicago
Apr 21, 2011

Cozumel

Nice hotel. The staff was amazing. The rooms had a local feel to them and were cleaned everyday. Breakfast was provided and was extremely nice. Watch out for the locals they are pushy and will rip you off on merchandise and with your change. The people are nice ,however, and they are fun to be around. Good location. Piratas across the street is a place to avoid... The whole rip off thing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful or you will go broke on the first day. Cuban cigars do not cost 60 dollars American.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 3, 2009

Suites Bahia

I had reserved a room at the Suites Colonial but when we arrived they relocated us down the street to their sister hotel, Suites Bahia. I think that might have been better because this hotel was right on the main drag across from the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top