$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Suites Colonial

2 stars
5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Best Bargain in Town

Good basic hotel for very cheap. Flat screen TV, wifi, ac. See full review

  • Albietaco
  • Jul 30, 2014
Moved me without apology, but it went ok

I booked the hotel on Monday for $44. When I arrived on Tuesday, I was told the room wasn't... See full review

  • fdkahfkd
  • Jun 19, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel close to dancing, nightlife with free breakfast
Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. A continental breakfast is served daily at the Suites Colonial and free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Rooms
Wood-paneled walls and colorful bedspreads make the 28 rooms in the sun-drenched Suites Colonial hotel pop. Choose from 12 studios with a double and twin bed or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Features
Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5104 -86.95
Area served
Located in the heart of downtown Cozumel just a few steps from the main square on a pedestrian street and surrounded by restaurants, boutiques, dive shops and local entertainment.
Nearby airports
Cozumel International
Area description
Nearby Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Suites Colonial Rooms

Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.
Studio with Refrigerator
12 charming roomswith one double bed and a single bed with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV. Refrigerator, bathroom with shower, and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ne illinois
Mar 2, 2009

close to the noise

hotel great location except very noisy bar across street plays bad music till 3a.m. no way to block out noise. elevator out of serice entire week no one working on it staff had no clue when it would be fixed. no water twice during week but was fixed farily quick. noise from bar makes me want to look for a different hotel. first part of week we had breakfast then had to walk 5 blocks to owners other hotel for breakfast I guess it was to save money to fix elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slyfox29
Business
wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

center of town

Nice clean hotel in the center of town. Easy access to everything. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
conchgirl
Business
Key West, FL 33040, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Good for the price

comfortable and affordabel. Not many english channels on the tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artgirl24
Business
missouri
Aug 4, 2012

12 days

My review isn't different than most people about this hotel. It is basic, but clean. Highlights: comfy pillows and bed, fridge and tv for rainy days, very nice hard working maids.. please tip them well. Low points: mosquitos everywhere in the room, had to buy skeeter bombs and light them several times, bathroom drain stunk.. no trap, room dark.. not much light, some outlets didn't work, desk staff never gave us our emergency messages from home.. THAT was a BIG problem. Overall we spent most of our time outside, so the questionable issues weren't a big deal to us except the moscas and no messages. Breakfast at the sister hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the east side of the island. Buy a cheap cooler at the store and fill it with ice and drinks, snacks and get over there and unplug. One of the best and cheapest ways to spend a day or 1/2 day on Cozumel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njones259
Business
new jersey
Mar 31, 2011

Good Except On Some Nights

Rooms are nice and big with a single and double bed.Full size frig and good air conditioning.Pleanty of water pressure,hot water and location is great.The only negative is on thurs,fri and sat night a band plays so loudly across the street you can't sleep between midnight and 3am and I am not a light sleeper.They also have a great breakfast buffet at casa mexicana that is included in room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 9, 2011

Inexpensive and central location

Inexpensive and located by the square in San Miguel. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems and great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent scooters(mopeds) from a place directly across from the hotel. $30 a day and very convienent for travelers that want to go around the island and see a lot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 3, 2009

Suites Bahia

I had reserved a room at the Suites Colonial but when we arrived they relocated us down the street to their sister hotel, Suites Bahia. I think that might have been better because this hotel was right on the main drag across from the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalItalian
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 5, 2009

Cozumel

Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMB
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2011

Convenient and cheap!

We didnt spend much time at the hotel since we just wanted to dive and do other things outside.. For the price it cant get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironman Keith
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

DO NOT stay here if you're doing the Ironman

Last time I stayed in Cozumel for the Ironman, I stayed at an all inclusive, which was nice, but I tended to stay there and didn't get out and enjoy as much of the local fare as I'd liked, which is why I decided to go with the Suites Colonial this year. The place is adorable. The rooms are very clean and are more than adequate for $48 a night. There is fresh coffee in the lobby every morning and the breakfast provided by their sister hotel is just a quick five minute walk and is very good. There are a few barkers from the shops close by that you have to deal with when you leave/arrive, but you have to deal with that pretty much anywhere in Cozumel, so it's not that big of a deal. My two main complaints: 1) No parking! I rented a scooter and while I could park it in the lobby overnight, I couldn't park there during the day, so I had to park it in a garage two blocks away. Not a huge deal, but something to consider if you're renting a vehicle. 2) The live music from the bar next door on Fri/Sat nights. Yes, the a/c somewhat drowns them out, but you can still hear them and they play until the wee hours of the morning. I normally wouldn't care, but I had to get up at 4am for an Ironman race on Sunday and the band played until 3am Sunday morning, which did NOT make for a good night's rest. My overall opinion? Great place to stay on the cheap if you just want a basic hotel and are easy going. If you like fancy schmancy or are doing the Ironman, go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the El Foco " restaurant one block over. They're reasonable, you can write your name on the walls, they have an AMAZING conch ceviche and they're open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top