$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Suites Colonial

2 stars
5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Great value

Excellent value. Street construction in front , but no big deal. Super included breakfast. See full review

  • gf.603
  • Jan 15, 2015
great value

great value, excellent service, street construction going on in front of hotel. Internet service poor. See full review

  • gf.603
  • Jan 15, 2015
Downtown Cozumel hotel close to dancing, nightlife with free breakfast
Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. A continental breakfast is served daily at the Suites Colonial and free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Rooms
Wood-paneled walls and colorful bedspreads make the 28 rooms in the sun-drenched Suites Colonial hotel pop. Choose from 12 studios with a double and twin bed or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Features
Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Suites Colonial Rooms

Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.
Studio with Refrigerator
12 charming roomswith one double bed and a single bed with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV. Refrigerator, bathroom with shower, and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob.s
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 20, 2012

overnight

A very nice hotel that is kept up and clean. Excellent location for carnaval as is downtown. Great breakfast buffet at sister hotel. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a rtn ferry ticket at playa so you won"t have to stand in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scubarocko
Business
Conyrts, GA
Dec 31, 2012

Rate

Cannot beat the price we paid. With the included breakfast buffet it is the best deal on the island. the intown location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 2, 2008

great downtown location

The colonial suites hotel is very claen, The maids change sheets daily, mop floors, ect..The bathroom is older but big and claen. Beds are firm and comfortable. Kitchen and dining are old furniture that is clean and it worked for our needs. We went to the grocery store by cab so we had water, pop, beer, cereal for morn. and snacks. Coffee wasn't ready till about 7:30 which I found was my biggest complaint. Great restaurants at very reasonable prices, Casa Denis, Primos, La Mission are a few. All in all a great time for your for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bargains, you have to shop around and be willing to walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gf.603
Business
glens falls
Jan 15, 2015

Great value

Excellent value. Street construction in front , but no big deal. Super included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMB
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2011

Convenient and cheap!

We didnt spend much time at the hotel since we just wanted to dive and do other things outside.. For the price it cant get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironman Keith
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

DO NOT stay here if you're doing the Ironman

Last time I stayed in Cozumel for the Ironman, I stayed at an all inclusive, which was nice, but I tended to stay there and didn't get out and enjoy as much of the local fare as I'd liked, which is why I decided to go with the Suites Colonial this year. The place is adorable. The rooms are very clean and are more than adequate for $48 a night. There is fresh coffee in the lobby every morning and the breakfast provided by their sister hotel is just a quick five minute walk and is very good. There are a few barkers from the shops close by that you have to deal with when you leave/arrive, but you have to deal with that pretty much anywhere in Cozumel, so it's not that big of a deal. My two main complaints: 1) No parking! I rented a scooter and while I could park it in the lobby overnight, I couldn't park there during the day, so I had to park it in a garage two blocks away. Not a huge deal, but something to consider if you're renting a vehicle. 2) The live music from the bar next door on Fri/Sat nights. Yes, the a/c somewhat drowns them out, but you can still hear them and they play until the wee hours of the morning. I normally wouldn't care, but I had to get up at 4am for an Ironman race on Sunday and the band played until 3am Sunday morning, which did NOT make for a good night's rest. My overall opinion? Great place to stay on the cheap if you just want a basic hotel and are easy going. If you like fancy schmancy or are doing the Ironman, go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the El Foco " restaurant one block over. They're reasonable, you can write your name on the walls, they have an AMAZING conch ceviche and they're open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Dec 29, 2011

Loved Our Stay at Suites Colonial

About my ratings: Amenities 3, because it's a basic no frills place. AC worked well. Location 4, right ont the square. Easy access to restaurants and cabs. Great for our group with people going i different directions. Some might prefer to stay on a beach. Cleanliness 5 Wish my floors at home shined as much! Comfort 4 My ideal room would have more of a lounging area Staff 5 everyone was helpful and frienldly Value 5 can't be beat, especially considering the huge breakfast. We paid $634 pp for a flight from Akron to Cancun and 7 nights hotel. Stayed at Suites Colonial for one week over Christmas with my family of eight (spilt between 4 rooms). It was an ideal budget choice. Easy walking access to shops and restaurants. Walked to breakfast at Casa Mexicana each day and then grabbed acab right outside Casa Mexicana to our beach of choice. About the hotel: rooms were plain, but clean. Mattresses were new. My husband and I stayed in a suite. Bedroom with two beds. Bathroom. Kitchen had fridge, stove top, sink, plates, glasses, silverware and a few pots. Didn't really look cause we only used the fridge. Sitting room had table with four chairs, two seat sofa, and a folding bed. Asked for rooms away from the bar. We were put in 201.Rest of the family was right below us in rooms 104, 105, and 106. Bar noise never bothered us. We brought earplugs, but never used them. Very nice breakfast at Casa Mexicana included. Standards fruit, yogurt, pastry, cereal. Different hot dishes each day, plus cook to order eggs and waffles. Enjoyed access to Wifi. I used it from my room. This was our third trip to Cozumel. Previous trips we've stayed at Suites Bahia and Casa Mexicana. I'd stay at any of them again. A word of caution: the tile hallways, floors, and stairs are very slippery when wet. Pack shoes with good traction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: take a picture of the taxi fares near the ferry. Makes it a lot easier to negotiate with taxi drivers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett H
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 19, 2013

Comfortable and Good Location

Simple and no frills. Good value for the money. Clean room, hot water, A/C worked well, though it leaked water into room(used trash can to catch water) and a comfortable bed. Good location near town square and good restaurants. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisGi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 16, 2013

Perfect for the price. Nothing negative to say.

It was a great hotel. It was in a busy part of town. It is NOT on a road. You have to walk into the square to get to it. There isn't parking in the area but they let you park about 4 blocks away which isn't a huge deal. They let you eat breakfast at their sister hotel, casa mexican, and it is amazing. Eggs to order, waffles and pancakes made right in front of you. There was nothing special about the hotel room but everything was clean and in working order. There is a refrigerator and television. We mostly used our tablet to access their wireless internet to watch movies which was very convenient. I think it was the cheapest hotel that the web site had to offer and it was well beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside of the hotel entrance is a dive shop called Pro Dive. It was our first time diving and the owner named Eduardo Rodriguez took us. We met him at Chankanaab Park the next morning and our experience couldn't have been better. He is incredibly nice, inexpensive, intelligent, and easy to understand. We would highly recommend him. Also, there is a restaurant called Del Sur which is on the end of the next block (walking from the hotel toward the Oxxo) which is great and cheap. We went there twice in the 5 days we were there. Try the Bananna and Chocolate empanadas. In fact, all of the empanadas were great and they were only about $2 (US) each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fdkahfkd
Business
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2013

Moved me without apology, but it went ok

I booked the hotel on Monday for $44. When I arrived on Tuesday, I was told the room wasn't available and they were moving me to another hotel. They didn't apologize and they didn't give me any assurance that the new room would be comparable to the one promised or in a reasonable location. And the guy who lead me to the new hotel clearly wanted a tip for handling their screwup. I was irritated, but the staff at the other hotel, the Bahia, was nicer and the room they ended up giving me was pretty good. And yes, the breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots of restaurants on Cozumel. I quite liked La Casita de Indio--good cooking, good prices, nice people running the place who speak good English. For diving, if you're most concerned about price (as I was), I recommend "Dive with George", which is run by George through one of the hotels on the same street as Indio. He charges $65 for a two-tank dive and $10 for equipment. He's a nice guy, good diver, and perfectly safe, but if you're looking for that full-service feel, probably someone else is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top