$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Suites Colonial

2 stars
5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
35 reviews
Moved me without apology, but it went ok

I booked the hotel on Monday for $44. When I arrived on Tuesday, I was told the room wasn't... See full review

  • fdkahfkd
  • Jun 19, 2013
Perfect for the price. Nothing negative to say.

It was a great hotel. It was in a busy part of town. It is NOT on a road. You have to walk into the... See full review

  • ChrisGi
  • May 16, 2013
Downtown Cozumel hotel close to dancing, nightlife with free breakfast
Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. A continental breakfast is served daily at the Suites Colonial and free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Rooms
Wood-paneled walls and colorful bedspreads make the 28 rooms in the sun-drenched Suites Colonial hotel pop. Choose from 12 studios with a double and twin bed or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Features
Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Suites Colonial Rooms

Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.
Studio with Refrigerator
12 charming roomswith one double bed and a single bed with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV. Refrigerator, bathroom with shower, and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5104 -86.95
Area served
Located in the heart of downtown Cozumel just a few steps from the main square on a pedestrian street and surrounded by restaurants, boutiques, dive shops and local entertainment.
Nearby airports
Cozumel International
Area description
Nearby Airport

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob.s
Ontario, Canada
Feb 20, 2012

overnight

A very nice hotel that is kept up and clean. Excellent location for carnaval as is downtown. Great breakfast buffet at sister hotel. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a rtn ferry ticket at playa so you won"t have to stand in line.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMB
Puerto Rico
Jul 19, 2011

Convenient and cheap!

We didnt spend much time at the hotel since we just wanted to dive and do other things outside.. For the price it cant get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beloit,Oh
Apr 25, 2011

Cheap and clean!

this is the perfect place if you are traveling back and forth to cancun, etc. and not concerned with having an ocean front hotel. we flew into cozumel and rented a car to tour the island and took the car ferry the next day to cancun. we also stayed here when we came back the day before our flight. so once again we were busy touring the island beach bars so the fact that it isnt ocean front was of no concern to us. if the fact that it is right in the center of town near the food and nightlife and that it is a clean place to lay your head is all that matters, then this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beloit,Oh
Apr 25, 2011

Cheap and clean!

this is the perfect place if you are traveling back and forth to cancun, etc. and not concerned with having an ocean front hotel. we flew into cozumel and rented a car to tour the island and took the car ferry the next day to cancun. we also stayed here when we came back the day before our flight. so once again we were busy touring the island beach bars so the fact that it isnt ocean front was of no concern to us. if the fact that it is right in the center of town near the food and nightlife and that it is a clean place to lay your head is all that matters, then this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mescal
Chicago
Apr 21, 2011

Cozumel

Nice hotel. The staff was amazing. The rooms had a local feel to them and were cleaned everyday. Breakfast was provided and was extremely nice. Watch out for the locals they are pushy and will rip you off on merchandise and with your change. The people are nice ,however, and they are fun to be around. Good location. Piratas across the street is a place to avoid... The whole rip off thing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful or you will go broke on the first day. Cuban cigars do not cost 60 dollars American.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mescal
Chicago
Apr 21, 2011

Cozumel

Nice hotel. The staff was amazing. The rooms had a local feel to them and were cleaned everyday. Breakfast was provided and was extremely nice. Watch out for the locals they are pushy and will rip you off on merchandise and with your change. The people are nice ,however, and they are fun to be around. Good location. Piratas across the street is a place to avoid... The whole rip off thing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful or you will go broke on the first day. Cuban cigars do not cost 60 dollars American.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njones259
new jersey
Mar 31, 2011

Good Except On Some Nights

Rooms are nice and big with a single and double bed.Full size frig and good air conditioning.Pleanty of water pressure,hot water and location is great.The only negative is on thurs,fri and sat night a band plays so loudly across the street you can't sleep between midnight and 3am and I am not a light sleeper.They also have a great breakfast buffet at casa mexicana that is included in room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njones259
new jersey
Mar 31, 2011

Good Except On Some Nights

Rooms are nice and big with a single and double bed.Full size frig and good air conditioning.Pleanty of water pressure,hot water and location is great.The only negative is on thurs,fri and sat night a band plays so loudly across the street you can't sleep between midnight and 3am and I am not a light sleeper.They also have a great breakfast buffet at casa mexicana that is included in room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 9, 2011

Inexpensive and central location

Inexpensive and located by the square in San Miguel. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems and great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent scooters(mopeds) from a place directly across from the hotel. $30 a day and very convienent for travelers that want to go around the island and see a lot!

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 9, 2011

Inexpensive and central location

Inexpensive and located by the square in San Miguel. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems and great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent scooters(mopeds) from a place directly across from the hotel. $30 a day and very convienent for travelers that want to go around the island and see a lot!

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler wanting to cook
Colorado
Feb 27, 2010

Perfect for what we wanted!

We just go down to hit the beaches and relax and maybe do some dancing at night, and the location was perfect for walking to the local nightspots. Parking was a bit of a problem with the rental car, but if you don't mind walking 3-4 blocks, you can always find a place. The biggest drawback was that the elevator was not working and we were on the 4th floor with a LOT of luggage (due to the fact that we brought a bunch of kitchen stuff with us -- see below), but the exercise was good for us :). The in-lobby internet was down frequently as well, but we were able to use the internet at a sister hotel free of charge, so it was not a big deal. As for the positives: the room was large and quiet, the bathroom was spacious and well lit, and the kitchenette was very handy with a large refrigerator. Note that there were only a couple of glasses, plates and pots/pans provided. We read about this on another travel review site and brought our own utensils, spices, blender, storage containers, scrubby sponge, etc. The breakfast was not a continental breakfast in the lobby that was advertised but rather was a full breakfast buffet at the sister hotel (Casa Mexicana). It was fantastic! What a nice bonus that we were not expecting. Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel and will gladly stay there again. It's not fancy, but it is clean, spacious, quiet, and has a great in-town location. The staff members were helpful and very nice, too. It's a great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top