$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 3, 2015

Suites Colonial

2 stars
View map of 5A Ave. Sur No. 3, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
23 reviews
Great value

Excellent value. Street construction in front , but no big deal. Super included breakfast. See full review

  • gf.603
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great location

It was very quiet yet you are in the heart of downtown San Miguel. Very clean hotel. Just wished... See full review

  • Ednalyn S.
  • Apr 7, 2015

Guests surround themselves in the music and nightlife of downtown San Miguel at this small, polished family-owned gem of a hotel. The paved pedestrian walkway lined with leafy native plants provides quick passage to waiting boutiques, restaurants, live music and dive shops. Free Wi-Fi is provided for guests who want to stay connected.

                                                                                  

Rooms

At Suites Colonial, choose from 12 studios with two double beds or from 16 roomy suites, with one bedroom with two double beds and a kitchenette stocked with refrigerator and utensils. All guest rooms are air conditioned and include a telephone and color TV with cable channels. Bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

 

Property features

Continental breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee are provided in the lobby. A full breakfast buffet is served at the sister hotel, Casa Mexican, down the street. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby. A rotating bookshelf with offerings left from other guests provides quiet entertainment for the beach and a selection of beach clubs are close by. A concierge assists with travel plans including dive excursions, or guest of the Suites Colonial hotel just take a short walk to downtown San Miguel and discover many entertainment and dining options.

 

Highlights
  • Complimentary buffet breakfast served each morning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Steps from San Miguel's vibrant downtown plaza
  • Close to live music, restaurants and bars

 

Nearby attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 100 people
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/2.6km)

 

Policies

Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Suites Colonial also booked these hotels.

★★★
$72
4.4 / 5 181 reviews
★★
$44
4.2 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$42
3.9 / 5 48 reviews
★★
$45
3.8 / 5 68 reviews
★★
$57
3.6 / 5 101 reviews
★★
$44
3.6 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$83
3.7 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$74
4.2 / 5 12 reviews
★★
$66
4.2 / 5 19 reviews

Suites Colonial Rooms

Studio
12 charming rooms with two double beds with air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, bathroom with shower, and amenities.
Suite with Kitchenette, Refrigerator
One private room with two double beds, living and dinning area, air condition, telephone, cable TV, kitchenette and refrigerator, bathroom with shower and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Suites Colonial

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ednalyn S.
Couples
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Great location

It was very quiet yet you are in the heart of downtown San Miguel. Very clean hotel. Just wished the air conditioning unit is quieter. Other than that it was an excellent experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gf.603
Single
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

great value

great value, excellent service, street construction going on in front of hotel. Internet service poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gf.603
Single
glens falls
Jan 15, 2015

Great value

Excellent value. Street construction in front , but no big deal. Super included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fdkahfkd
Single
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2013

Moved me without apology, but it went ok

I booked the hotel on Monday for $44. When I arrived on Tuesday, I was told the room wasn't available and they were moving me to another hotel. They didn't apologize and they didn't give me any assurance that the new room would be comparable to the one promised or in a reasonable location. And the guy who lead me to the new hotel clearly wanted a tip for handling their screwup. I was irritated, but the staff at the other hotel, the Bahia, was nicer and the room they ended up giving me was pretty good. And yes, the breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's lots of restaurants on Cozumel. I quite liked La Casita de Indio--good cooking, good prices, nice people running the place who speak good English. For diving, if you're most concerned about price (as I was), I recommend "Dive with George", which is run by George through one of the hotels on the same street as Indio. He charges $65 for a two-tank dive and $10 for equipment. He's a nice guy, good diver, and perfectly safe, but if you're looking for that full-service feel, probably someone else is better.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisGi
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
May 16, 2013

Perfect for the price. Nothing negative to say.

It was a great hotel. It was in a busy part of town. It is NOT on a road. You have to walk into the square to get to it. There isn't parking in the area but they let you park about 4 blocks away which isn't a huge deal. They let you eat breakfast at their sister hotel, casa mexican, and it is amazing. Eggs to order, waffles and pancakes made right in front of you. There was nothing special about the hotel room but everything was clean and in working order. There is a refrigerator and television. We mostly used our tablet to access their wireless internet to watch movies which was very convenient. I think it was the cheapest hotel that the web site had to offer and it was well beyond our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside of the hotel entrance is a dive shop called Pro Dive. It was our first time diving and the owner named Eduardo Rodriguez took us. We met him at Chankanaab Park the next morning and our experience couldn't have been better. He is incredibly nice, inexpensive, intelligent, and easy to understand. We would highly recommend him. Also, there is a restaurant called Del Sur which is on the end of the next block (walking from the hotel toward the Oxxo) which is great and cheap. We went there twice in the 5 days we were there. Try the Bananna and Chocolate empanadas. In fact, all of the empanadas were great and they were only about $2 (US) each.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett H
Single
Dallas, TX
Feb 19, 2013

Comfortable and Good Location

Simple and no frills. Good value for the money. Clean room, hot water, A/C worked well, though it leaked water into room(used trash can to catch water) and a comfortable bed. Good location near town square and good restaurants. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scubarocko
Family
Conyrts, GA
Dec 31, 2012

Rate

Cannot beat the price we paid. With the included breakfast buffet it is the best deal on the island. the intown location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artgirl24
Couples
missouri
Aug 4, 2012

12 days

My review isn't different than most people about this hotel. It is basic, but clean. Highlights: comfy pillows and bed, fridge and tv for rainy days, very nice hard working maids.. please tip them well. Low points: mosquitos everywhere in the room, had to buy skeeter bombs and light them several times, bathroom drain stunk.. no trap, room dark.. not much light, some outlets didn't work, desk staff never gave us our emergency messages from home.. THAT was a BIG problem. Overall we spent most of our time outside, so the questionable issues weren't a big deal to us except the moscas and no messages. Breakfast at the sister hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the east side of the island. Buy a cheap cooler at the store and fill it with ice and drinks, snacks and get over there and unplug. One of the best and cheapest ways to spend a day or 1/2 day on Cozumel.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob.s
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Feb 20, 2012

overnight

A very nice hotel that is kept up and clean. Excellent location for carnaval as is downtown. Great breakfast buffet at sister hotel. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a rtn ferry ticket at playa so you won"t have to stand in line.

Review of Suites Colonial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsgro
Family
Maple Heights, OH
Dec 29, 2011

Loved Our Stay at Suites Colonial

About my ratings: Amenities 3, because it's a basic no frills place. AC worked well. Location 4, right ont the square. Easy access to restaurants and cabs. Great for our group with people going i different directions. Some might prefer to stay on a beach. Cleanliness 5 Wish my floors at home shined as much! Comfort 4 My ideal room would have more of a lounging area Staff 5 everyone was helpful and frienldly Value 5 can't be beat, especially considering the huge breakfast. We paid $634 pp for a flight from Akron to Cancun and 7 nights hotel. Stayed at Suites Colonial for one week over Christmas with my family of eight (spilt between 4 rooms). It was an ideal budget choice. Easy walking access to shops and restaurants. Walked to breakfast at Casa Mexicana each day and then grabbed acab right outside Casa Mexicana to our beach of choice. About the hotel: rooms were plain, but clean. Mattresses were new. My husband and I stayed in a suite. Bedroom with two beds. Bathroom. Kitchen had fridge, stove top, sink, plates, glasses, silverware and a few pots. Didn't really look cause we only used the fridge. Sitting room had table with four chairs, two seat sofa, and a folding bed. Asked for rooms away from the bar. We were put in 201.Rest of the family was right below us in rooms 104, 105, and 106. Bar noise never bothered us. We brought earplugs, but never used them. Very nice breakfast at Casa Mexicana included. Standards fruit, yogurt, pastry, cereal. Different hot dishes each day, plus cook to order eggs and waffles. Enjoyed access to Wifi. I used it from my room. This was our third trip to Cozumel. Previous trips we've stayed at Suites Bahia and Casa Mexicana. I'd stay at any of them again. A word of caution: the tile hallways, floors, and stairs are very slippery when wet. Pack shoes with good traction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: take a picture of the taxi fares near the ferry. Makes it a lot easier to negotiate with taxi drivers.

Back to menu Return to top