$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
371 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (371)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 371
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cousins on Vacation
Topeka, Kansas
May 21, 2014

Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and the water clear. You could watch fish swim while sitting on the dock. We met the most wonderful people at the resort. The staff were incredibly friendly. I have been to other resorts and this one by far had the most genuine and caring staff. The resort had good food and some fun entertainment. One night we had dance lessons and watched a fire show. Loved that! The staff work such long days and yet you wouldn't know it by their enthusiasm. They keep it up all day with a smile on their face. We are already starting to think about another trip here next year and bringing our spouses with us. Thank you Occidental Grand Cozumel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry and Sherry
Dowling, Michigan
May 10, 2014

Occidental Grand is grand except --

Just returned from our tenth trip to Cozumel and our fifth stay at the Grand. For scuba divers and beach walkers, this place is great, there is also reasonable snorkeling off the beach. For an all inclusive, the food is always good. Unfortunately, the air conditioning system has been declining over the last three years and this year our room and the restaurants were only a few degrees below outside temps so when it was 90+ outside, our room was only 85 and almost unbearable. You also had to leave the bathroom door shut just to get some cooling in the living area. Management said they are working on a solution. In our opinion, this is the best place to stay on the island so I will be sending this to corporate at the Occidental and plead with them to correct this problem. Below, I will note that I cannot recommend this hotel to a friend for this reason. If you don't need AC, this is still the best place to stay if you are a diver. We told them we would not return until this is fixed, but we will probably return again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coconuts on the West side of the island and have fish tacos and a Margarita. Hire a taxi for the trip. They will let you stop anywhere including down town. Trip will take 4-5 hours and should cost about $100 for 2-4 people. We always buy the driver lunch at Coconuts and they are very grateful.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sagitarious
Chino,CA
Apr 13, 2014

Good Family Environment

The location is perfect.The staff is friendly,they really take care of the guests.The food can have a little of an upgrade.The room is comfortable but the A/C is old and needs better maintenance.I've been there twice.In general,i liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Punta Sur Natural Park

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina beach bum
Saunderstown, RI
Feb 23, 2014

Paradise in an island!

Our stay at the Occidental Grand couldn't have been more perfect. The staff were all pleasant and extremely attentive. Only one person was rude and that was a female at the front desk. I would recommend this resort to everyone, families as well as couples. The wide variety of food and activities pleased our every desire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother eating anywhere else, the food is more than acceptable it was delectable!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S R Dive
Houston, TX
Aug 12, 2013

Just ok

There are several positives to this resort, including the beach, the rooms (and cleaning services) and the drinks made by the bar staff (not watered down). In addition, the beach front lunch buffett was quite good and the resort is fairly quiet, even by the main pool during the day - many resorts have blaring music but the Occidental did not. The other great part is Alberto's, a beach front restaurant a short walk down the beach (not part of the resort). The main negative is the service and temperature of the main buffett. In short, both were terrible. It took unbelievably long just to get table settings and drinks. We had to grab our own silverware/napkins and started getting our own drinks in the main bar area and brining them back b/c it was faster. Unless you are just there to dive, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lifeisbutadream
Bowling Green, KY
Jul 21, 2013

Family Vacation, July 13-20, 2013

The site was about 20 minutes from Cozmul and located in a mangrove. It was a very well kept but uniquely interesting location. Each night, there was family oriented entertainment in the main plaza as well as events throughout the day at the pool and beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The "vacation club" timeshare people were aggressive but kept to the 90 minutes they said it would take. The main dining room was not airconditioned and hot. The room airconditioner was loud but still left the room humid. The food was good. The dive operation was great! We rented a rickety Jeep and went around the island and really liked the beaches on the east side - beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mega Mart in downtown Cozumel was like a Mexican "Walmart" with good prices on items you would find at the street vendors. Prices at the vendors dropped after the cruise ships lift.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr.Dean
USA
Jun 7, 2013

Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!. The Hotel staff is very attentive to the guests needs. Giving you the best service while staying there. Whether you relax by the one of the pools or the beach you are assured a nice relaxing experience. There is no skimping on the quality of food or liquor for an all inclusive resort. You have a very wide selection of meals to choose. There are other restaurants on the property which caters to specific cuisines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

venders come on to property on certain night time performances. You will not have to leave the property for suveniers.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aral
Boston
Dec 30, 2012

Good place for diving

Great for diving and snorkeling. No intertainment to speak of. Food is average in the buffet, good in the Mexican restaurant and pretty bad in the Los Olivos. No free Internet like in most others. Otherwise it is a good place to stay and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good for diving

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g. reid
prtsmouth,va
Nov 29, 2012

excellant for family and dive location

the people and all the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to help its guest.. my daughter got married on the beach and the staff really went all out to pull off the perfect wedding... it was beautiful... the dive masters were very helpful. and taught things that i didnt really know as a new diver...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a vehicle from hotel travel around the south end of the island up the caribean side of the island to a restraunt called coconuts its on a cliff overlooking the sea....

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorimac
Fresno, California
Jul 31, 2012

Cozumel July 2012

Traveled as single parent of 2 teenagers (14 and 17), value not good value for teens who did not like the food and do not drink alcohol with limited activities for teens. They did use the kayaks on one day but other than that there wasn't anything on the resort for them to do. Most resorts now have Kids programs however are lacking activities for teens. There was nothing to do at night for my teens and they couldnt even watch TV as the programing and TV were in bad condition. We went off the resort most days to participate in our own planned activities and thus did not really utilize the all inclusive features of this resort very much. The food at night was terrible, there was a theme each nigh for the buffet (which is your ONLY option for food if not utilziing one of your reservations at the alacarte restaurants, which we got 3 of for a week stay). The food seemed to look very much the same no matter what the theme was and the kids did not like the food. When we tried to get them something to eat we were told there isn't anything else or we could order room service. We thought this was a good answer but when we called room service we had a choice of a cheeseburger or ham and cheese sandwhich. Needless to say the kids did not get to eat that night. When I pay this much for an all inclusive resort I want to sit down and be waited on at dinner,not buffet only. I do not like cleaniliness of buffet restaurants, especially at dinner. The beach side restaurant, only open for lunch, had the best buffet, but only open for lunch. Overall the resort is beautiful, rooms average, housekeepng excellent, bar tenders excellent. Food..not so good. I did read the reviews which stated this but did not really understand that you only had one place eat, buffet, every night. not really what I expect from an all inclusive reosrt of this price. Cancun probably better choice for families with teens....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chanakaaab Park..swim with the dolphins a must!! Money bar for snorkeling, had our own equipment and rented a car and drove ourselves, free to snorkel or can rent gear there.

Back to menu Return to top