$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
218 reviews
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
excellant for family and dive location

the people and all the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to help its guest.. my daughter... See full review

  • g. reid
  • Nov 29, 2012
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Romantic get-away

The Occidental Grand Cozumel was an okay resort. It's located right on the beach- Playa de San Francisco. When my husband and I arrived we were greeted with champange which was very nice, but we had to wait about 30 min to check in b/c there were many people arriving and only 2 people working at the front desk. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The food was not good. My husband says it was disgusting, but I would say we did not go hungry, b/c there was a large selection but not quality at all. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The spa was very expensive but they offer you 10-15% off different services each day, so you feel like you're getting a deal. The gym is not really worth anything- it's almost a closet with a staionary bike and one weight machine. The pool areas are great and the beach is wonderful. Plenty to drink and servers everywhere. In general, we had a fun time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Amanda and Charlie
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2012

Gettaway luxury and idependence!

My bf and 2 other friends stayed here from 7/26-30. I miss it already! First let me point out I have been to many resorts around the carribean and cant stress how amazing Cozumel is! This resort is 4stars, room was good very clean beds not too comfy but just ok, food was great, outside room feels like your in a mini jungle, beach is amazing, staff is great, pool bar is awesome, club disco was also great for a late night entertainment! Lets start with the staff. The staff is great, they are willing to help with any accomadations. We got there at 2pm and were welcomed with champagne, to my surprise I had no idea we actually booked at the Royal Club, I was excited but then realized it isnt any different from the regular resort. Check in wasnt til 3, they held on to our bags while we went to the pool bar for a drink until the rooms were ready. Again our room looked the same as my friends room who stayed on the regular non "royal" side. Both rooms had AC and a fan, beatiful bathroom. Our royal room had a view of the pool on the balcony but we never even opened the curtains since we barely stayed in our room, we explored the city and the beach...go EXPLORE! Cozumel is a safe small island! Dinning, the food was great not sure why people are saying is not good. We stayed for 5days, they did inform us while reserving that we were only allowed to reserve for 2dinners (the front desk guy was rude but the only rude staff we encountered there, we didnt let him get to us). (Dont loose or forget your ticket receipt after reserving for dinners, you will need it when signing in for dinner). The first night we ate at La Sonora-I got a chicken dish which was really good, my bf got the fish which he enjoyed and my friend got the steak which was tender and great! The second night we ate at Los Olivios which was also great-get the Chili Soup and chicken I heard the fajitas are good too but didnt get to try it. The rest of the nights we ate at La Posada which was open to everyone (no reservations needed) Buffet style dinning one night was mexican night the other asian night, both nights were good had everything from veggies, soup, all meats, rice even lo mein and all sorts of desserts. Also at the Posada restaurant turns into La Piazza a pizza dinner from 9:30pm-1:30 the pizza was great too. We went there after the dancing at the disco. During the day we ate at the snack bar which was ok, def a place to fill your belly but not the best. I made myself chips with salsa and gauc (gauc was good but you could tell it came from a bag, not fresh). We didnt encounter any time share sellers as the other reviews stated, however the staff themselves asked several times if we wanted excursion deals, we did get the scotter package for $45/24hrs. I recommend doing this we got to explore the other beaches, and San miguel the city. At San Miguel we snorkeled and dived (on different days) for way cheaper. They do have scotters in the city you can rent for cheaper $25 but we didnt know until later. The whole town is safe and soo much to explore. We went snorkeling one day and scuba diving the next, scuba in the town is soo much cheaper and easier to do than at the resort, we spent $65 per person at the resort its $130 and you have to take an all day class. The city prices on food is the same as the US since it is a touristy part of town. Also if you are buying presents such as tshirts and clay art dont feel shy to haggle with their prices they will lower them. I will def recommend Occidental to everyone! I want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Albertos Restaurant walking distance, take a left a the beach resort and keep walking for 5mins. Rent Scooters from resort $45 for 24hrs Go DIVING in San Miguel 2nd most beautiful coral reefs in the world! (20min drive to dwntown)!!!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 29, 2009

An Honest review for the Average Joe

OK, here is an honest review of this hotel, and one the "Average Joe" like me needed to read. This was my second trip to Mexico and the first to Cozumel. The things to do like snorkeling, dolphin swim, restaurants, etc were all great. The hotel was as described. I would, however, throw out the "very bad" reviews and the "Awesome" reviews. The room and grounds were very nice and clean, but the beds sucked. I thought the food was good, and much better than my last "all inclusive" in Playa Del Carmen. The fire show was great; the music and dance floor at the club were OK, but not spectacular. The free use of the water sports equipment was also very nice to have on the beach, and it was in good shape and plentyful. All in all, I liked this place. My ONLY gripe was the none stop barrage of the hotel "Concierge" trying to get you signed up to buy a time share in the hotel. In fact, the concierge was not helpful at all, and everything they tried to help you with was only a means to get you into a time share. Only the front desk people seemed to be of any help. I would definitely stay here again, but now I know to tell the concierge to get lost!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget the prepaid aitport shuttle becasue it's a hastle. When you get there, just get a taxi. The morning you leave, just give yourself an hour and a half before your flight and call a taxi again. It will cost you no more this way.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 13, 2010

Great all-inclusive package

This is a great hotel in a location that is simply excellent for a scuba diving vacation. The service was excellent throughout, the location is excellent in terms of being near dive sites. It is 20 minutes out of town (good for peace and quiet, inconvenient for shopping). The meals were mainly buffet-style with so-so food quality, but this could have been because the hotel was largely empty so the restaurants were rotated. Having all the food, drinks and tips included was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Very conveneient fro scuba diving. the dive shop at the hotel is excellent.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Philadelphia
May 13, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

Our experience at the hotel was good. The different restaurants were good. The people were friendly. The beach and the pools were enjoyable. I had an opportunity to book a spa treatment which was great. Overall, we had a good time at the hotel. The only improvement that I would recommend is the welcome. The lines were long and the reception was not memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver, co
Jul 14, 2009

Nice place!

The hotel rooms were clean and pleasant. It was nice that there was another pool for relaxation other than the noisy activities pool. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Buffet were extensive but after a few days it seemed that all the dishes seemed to taste the same. The food in their mediterranean restaurant was wonderful. The food at the sonora grill was awful. The night time "entertainment" looked like a middle school play. Would recommend going into town if you are looking for nightlife. Since when eating at the restaurant rather than buffet reservations are mandatory and fill up fast perhaps this could be arranged before you get there. Make sure you take a trip to the deserted side of the island. The beaches were beautiful and untouched. Alcohol beverages were probably overly generous if anything Skip the ruins on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Relaxing Vacation

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Occidental Grand during the month of June. I have the following comments: -the beach is fantastic (the sand is clean, white and soft; there are no unpleasant rocks unlike the the hotel to the south) -from the beach you can arrange snorkeling and dive tours, wave runner rental, and parasailing among other activities -the snorkeling tour was reasonable at about $30 a person and we enjoyed it so much we went a second time -the garden and landscaping is impressive; it feels like a tropical paradise; there are a number of iguanas and birds on the property -the food is average; we enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most (good selection of fruit and great scrambled eggs), followed by the dinner buffet and lastly the lunch buffet -the staff is friendly and welcoming -the rooms are clean and spacious -the bartenders are excellent and fast -the pool volleyball organized by the staff is fun I don't have any negative comments about our stay with one exception. The day we arrived, we were offered an opportunity to have breakfast with a sales person to receive "information" in exchange for a discount on a snorkeling tour or something or the other. I didn't want to waiste my time listening to a timeshare pitch. I thought the representative was a little pushy and sensed a change in his friendly demeanor after I turned down his invitation. He conclued by saying that my wife really needed to be there to make the decision. That was irritating but humorous at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a vehicle for a day and tour the east side of the island. Visit Cocunuts restaurant and the Playa Bonita beach.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Haleybird
Baton Rouge, La
May 11, 2011

Dive Vacation

Diving was great with Dive Palancar. The lobster cruse was a lot of fun. The resort is well maintained and the staff are very nice. My only complaint is the food quality. EX:pre- processed quacamole. Coffee was very watered down and the ice tea is not drinkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lobster Cruise is very entertaining.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
nunya1961
Midland Tx
Apr 18, 2011

Nice quite resort

The grounds were very well kept. and the beach was large and nice. Food was to be expected at a all inclusive. Good but not great. Lucnch leave a little to be desired as it is mainly leftovers. Room are large and clean. We plan on going back in a few months

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoide Piazza it is not worth the reservations

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
buffalo, ny
Mar 26, 2011

Great resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go downtown to save money

Back to menu Return to top