$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 19, 2015 Check-out: Mar 22, 2015

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
236 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Relaxing Vacation

I visited this hotel twice over the last 4 years and both times it was a great experience. It is a... See full review

  • JamieOH
  • Dec 19, 2014
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience
Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm
La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sdsd
Business
Central, NJ
Jul 9, 2014

Not for the seasoned travel

I've been to much nicer hotels. The buffet food here isn't very good. The ground level rooms smell moldy and I heard the third level rooms are too hot. The front desk wasn't very helpful or accommodating for their resort's shortfalls and that's unacceptable. Book your activities outside of this resort on your own if you can, they charged us 10% above the normal rate on the activities they book for you on-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I heard the best attraction on the island other than ocean/diving/snorkling was the cave snorkling/diving offered. Wish I had a chance to check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigBenTexas
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 6, 2014

Great location, hotel staff needs to do better

If you love the ocean, you will love Cozumel and the beach at this hotel. This is the third I have stayed at this hotel and my experience this time was much worse than before. I still love the location but the rooms were not clean and the staff did not seem to care enough. They could also do with more variety in the food area. Considering I had bought their Royal Club package, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troy who needs internet
Business
austin, texas
Sep 25, 2014

Great Place to stay BUT!

it is a shame as this was a great hotel the people were nice the food was great the rooms were spectacular the location was perfect in every aspect it was amazing, BUT, they charged 26 bucks a day for HORRIBLE internet service. I work an hour in the morning and an hour at night and that is the only way I can afford to take a week long trip away from my job and I will not go back until the internet issue is corrected. I just can't afford it. If internet is not a big deal for your vacation I HIGHLY recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos restaurant is a short walk and well worth it if you like amazing SeaFood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrendaLC
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 17, 2014

Nice Room; Food Average

We usually stay at the Allegro Cozumel and the only difference we saw between the 2 resorts is the room. Food is pretty much the same. The rooms are very nice at the Occidental Grand. We had a relaxing and nice time. The only minor complaints we had is there is no breeze around the resort since you are surrounded by so much jungle; no pool bar; pool could have been cleaner; and no front desk. We are going back to the Allegro since it is more open and homier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's was excellent - just be ready for mosquitos at dusk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jon.489
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Satisfactory trip.

The hotel grounds are absolutely gorgeous with lush greenery all over, very well maintained. The hotel itself is dated and in need of some renovation. While we were there for 9 nights, the faucet for the hot water couldn't be turned off. The handle on the toilet broke, and when I looked in the water tank the plastic line to the flapper had busted loose. Previously, someone had used electrical tape to attach the line to the bar extension on the handle, rather than replace the whole unit. This time, with the new break at the flapper, they had to replace the whole unit. There was a leak in the room the couple we were with was in, apparently caused by a leak in the upstairs unit bathroom. They did fix the leak, and patched the hole in the ceiling. The public bathrooms were always very clean. The negative part is that you weren't supposed to throw toilet tissue in the toilet after use. There was a trash can next to the toilet for the used tissue. Similar to time shares, the Occidental sells weeks to use at any Occidental. The sales people are all over the grounds. If you aren't interested in listening, just let them know that you are here to relax and don't want to purchase the weeks. The staff in the restaurants and bars were all excellent servers. We had not 1 complaint the whole time. They worked extremely hard and did just as good a job as servers/bartenders at a 5 star hotel. Kudos to the Occidental Management Staff that provides the training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to reserve at least 2 nights dining at Los Olivos, the Mediterranean Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Romantic get-away

The Occidental Grand Cozumel was an okay resort. It's located right on the beach- Playa de San Francisco. When my husband and I arrived we were greeted with champange which was very nice, but we had to wait about 30 min to check in b/c there were many people arriving and only 2 people working at the front desk. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The food was not good. My husband says it was disgusting, but I would say we did not go hungry, b/c there was a large selection but not quality at all. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The spa was very expensive but they offer you 10-15% off different services each day, so you feel like you're getting a deal. The gym is not really worth anything- it's almost a closet with a staionary bike and one weight machine. The pool areas are great and the beach is wonderful. Plenty to drink and servers everywhere. In general, we had a fun time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 7, 2009

A Great Place to Spend a Vacation

I came mostly for the diving. We went with Dive with Martin and they did a great job. The resort staff was friendly and helpful. The buffets were very good. The beach area was awesome. The grounds were well kept and everything was clean. I had a great time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The two restaurants were very good. They are part of the inclusive meals but reservations are required. And if you are late, you'll lose your table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Everything very good, the wine -not good

Everything was good but the wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 13, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

Our experience at the hotel was good. The different restaurants were good. The people were friendly. The beach and the pools were enjoyable. I had an opportunity to book a spa treatment which was great. Overall, we had a good time at the hotel. The only improvement that I would recommend is the welcome. The lines were long and the reception was not memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nunya1961
Business
Midland Tx
Apr 18, 2011

Nice quite resort

The grounds were very well kept. and the beach was large and nice. Food was to be expected at a all inclusive. Good but not great. Lucnch leave a little to be desired as it is mainly leftovers. Room are large and clean. We plan on going back in a few months

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoide Piazza it is not worth the reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top