$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
233 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shmorty
Business
Chicago iL
Sep 13, 2010

So So Senior

Overall, pretty dissapointed. Booked through [...]and scheduled two rooms with king sized beds and when checking in was informed only twin beds were available. Was also informed by[...] we would recieve some type of upgrade when we arrived since it was our 30th anniversary...recieved nothing. The hotel was loaded with misquitos and rooms were very hot...poor air conditioning overall. We were lied to by the front desk the first day informing us the air was being worked on and would be functioning properly within 1 hour...never happenned 8 days later. Concierge worried mostly about tips and if you didn't use them were pretty rude...was told the fishing was great spent $300.00 and didn't get a bite. Was later informed by a different Concierge that we should have used his guy like he suggested the day before ha ha....later found out September is the worst month to fish there. No Swim up pool bars and not very good service for drinks from the pool unless you were willing to tip well. Had to make long walk for drinks from pool. Were not informed until we checked in there the only two upscale restaurants would only be open every other night. On the upside, the food was good overall. The waitors and houskeepers were excellent. The coctails were great and made with good quality alcohol. The rooms were very spacious and great shower pressure. Great service and friendliness from [...]...the best of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When you arrive with 4 people it is cheaper to take a normal cab $25.00 no stops, rather than the Shuttles $41.00 and stops at other hotels...the sales reps push the shuttle service hard as soon as you leave the baggage station. Always ask the price of the taxi service before getting into the car...prices really vary. The price of Alcohol and Cigarettes in the local town is about the same as purchasing from the No Duty Facilities at the Airport, therefore, no sense dragging heavy bottles around the town if you plan to bring back goods to your country. Also, when purchasing gifts in town, the vendors will go for the throat typically asking 50 to 60% more than you actually end up paying. You must negotiate original offerred prices. It is better to shop the side streets rather than the main street....much cheaper prices...same for food and drinks as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 26, 2010

The Grand is Less than Grand

My husband and I travel to Cozumel to dive twice yearly and decided to try a different resort on the trip this March. Oops! Clearly, the location of The Grand is great. Beautiful beach that is accessible with clear blue water. The other guest must go the beach after closing down the Disco or get up by 4am to "save" lounge chairs on the beach. Not just prime seats, but ALL of the chairs and the three beach beds are covered with Occidental towels by 6am each morning, even though there's no one in the seats until 9 or 10am. The moment that you walk onto the grounds, you are attacked by the time share sales people desperate to make a sale. And they don't stop there, no, they continue to stalk you. My hustand grew up in El Paso Texas and is no stranger on how to send a message that you aren't buying to someone trying to make a hard sale, but these people are relentless. It certainly put a damper on our vacation, having to repeatedly say no and eventually, just rudely ignore these people. We were very hesitent to speak to anyone Mexican on the grounds as it is very hard to differentiate which are timeshare salespeople, and which are Grand employees. The food is absolutely the worst that we have ever had at a resort and we've been to Couples, Riu, Iberostar, El Cozumeleno. Leftover food would be combined and reserved later in the day, or the next day. The selection on the buffet was limited to say the least. We both had two days of diarrhea. Did I mention that the wifi charge is $26 a day? The Dive Operation, Dive Palancar is a real "Maw and Paw" operation...very disorganized and poorly managed. They cancelled several of our dives as two of their three boats were sporadically "broken down". On more than one occasion, they would run out of weights, making it impossible to get the amount of dive weight you needed. Also, the weight has to be picked up by the diver, placed in your BCD or weight belt, then lugged down the pier to the boat. I must be spoiled but weights have always been carried on board the dive boat so that I didn't have to lug them back and forth with all the other stuff that I am already packing (mask, fins, regulator, BCD, etc...). Each of my dives lasted a whopping 30-40 minutes and I surfaced with 1200-1500 lbs of air left as the divemaster would end the dive. I really felt that I didn't get any bang for my buck with this dive op or this resort. I paid what I consider a premium price to stay at the Grand however, if you are not in the Royal Club Section of the resort, you are segregated and treated as a second class guest. They make it very difficult to schedule the "specialty" restaraunts as you can only schedule one at a time. The grounds are lush and well-kept. We noted that in the late evenings, the water springers would be on and they used what must have been sewage water as it stunk to high heaven. There was one poor fellow working the pool bar and the line was at least 10 persons deep at any given time. I was sorely disappointed in the lack of quality and hospitality at Occidental Grand Cozumel and would not recommend a stay there to any of my family, friends, or aquaintainces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

To get relief from the horrible food at The Grand, do yourself a favor and go into town and eat at Casa Denis or Pancho's Backyard. Linger after 6pm when all of the cruise ships have left port and drink a few good margaritas and enjoy the ambiance of San Miguel. It's enchanting. Town is a $16-$18 cab ride from The Grand, or you can spend $35 a day to rent a bug from Margarita at Rentadora Isis...then the island is your oyster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 13, 2009

Won't be back

We went diving. The hotel is right at the reef so it is the perfect location. We won't be back to the Occidental. We experienced a 45 minute delay in getting our baggage delivered to the room and had to go back to the office and complain to finally get the bags delivered. The lunch selection was really bad .The room was as expected. We go to Cozumel every year. Next time we decide to use an all inclusive it will be the Aura. Regular resort will be the Intercontinental. Big no to the Occidental Not So Grand as they are not competitve

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go into Cozumel for dinner. Pepe's is real good. The hotel food is a joke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigJer
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 9, 2009

Not so Grand..........

This was my wife's and mine first real vacation in 20 years. While we had never gone to an all exclusive resort before, with the price we paid we did have some expectations. None of those were even remotely met. About the only thing we were really impressed with was the landscaping of the grounds. It was really beautiful and well kept up. The 6 Restaurants that are listed on their website were non-existent. There were 2 Ala Carte that you had to make reservations for, and 2 buffets. I am not to sure if this was because of the economy or not but I am willing to give them the benefit of the doubt on that. In addition, at their buffets, we saw plenty of foods were recycled between buffets for lunch and dinner. To top that off, who serves hot dogs, just plain hotdogs heated and cut up as a choice from a buffet, not to mention they made pizza with hot dogs on it. Most of the food was very dry and if you wanted to get any decent dessert you had to be one of the first ones in for lunch or dinner. The buffet options were often empty and very slow to be refilled. The rooms, at least ours, smelt of mildew. Once again, I can understand the climate being damp but the rooms in my opinion should not smell. The beds... we expected a king and received two fulls, were put on a list to get into a King room but never received a call, were hard as rocks. My wife and I will be going back to Cozumel again, however, we will not be staying at the Occidental Grand Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boudreaux's Mom
Business
Cedar Park, TX
Jul 14, 2010

So So

The grounds are stunning. Lush, tropical, lots of wildlife. Perfect location for snorkeling and diving since there is an on-site dive shop. The beachside restaurant is closed for breakfast and dinner. The rooms are sparse and the beds are uncomfortable, but the water pressure in the showers is great! There are no rooms on the beach and very few with a view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep since it is cheaper than taking a taxi downtown. The cab fare is about $16 each way. We went downtown several times to shop and eat because the food was much better and the shops are 1/2 the price of the same items you can buy at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Nov 26, 2010

Mixed

People were nice but not helpful at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 28, 2009

disappointed

Great dive location, great dive shop. Being unfamiliar with the way their restaurants require reservations, which you can only make between certain hours, we ended up eating at the buffet 2 of 2 nights. Not what I expected. The buffet was good, but it was a buffet. Breakfast and lunch were excellent. the room's air conditioning barely worked. The cable system was terrible; the 20" TV made it worse. The room always smelled faintly of urine; never figured out why as it appeared clean. Not much to do in the evening. La Posada staff was great. Check-in, check out people a little aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be ready to make your dinner reservation early or else eat at the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MARCHELLO
Business
N.Y.
Jan 27, 2010

MY STAF AND CR.CARD.NAMB.STOL.AIRCOND...

N.COMPARE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

_+++.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATLANTA GA
Jun 20, 2011

GOOD LOCATION

BEAUTIFUL LOCATION BEDS HARD FOOD AVERAGE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 30, 2009

Beautiful resort, disgusting food...

I went to Cozumel to go diving so I didnt plan on spending too much time doing activities at the resort. When I arrived there were no king size beds available, yet the resort seemed to be empty... The food is not good! I went to the steak restaurant that you have to make reservations for, and I ordered my steak medium... I got seared!! The entire steak was cold and raw, we just got up and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top