$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
229 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Nov 26, 2010

Mixed

People were nice but not helpful at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Favre Foe
Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2009

Anniversary celebration

My wife and I stayed here to celebtate our silver anniversary. We were given a room with 2 double beds and when we asked to change to a room with a king bed, we were told we had to wait 2 days. We were also told a bottle of champaigne would be delivered to our room after we checked in. What we got instead was someone trying to get us to sit through a 2 1/2 hour presentation on buying into a timeshare the next morning with the promise of discounts on some activities (snorkeling, etc). We never did get the champaigne (probably because we said we weren't interesed in the presentation). For the next four days, basically every time we walked through the lobby, we were asked what activity we were going to do and told how we could get discount tickets. It got to the point where we tried to avoid going through the lobby to get to the front desk, shop, or lobby bar. We felt almost harassed. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. I also thought the food was very good. Our room was okay except for the tarantula on the patio door. I would also say the beach was okay. Overall the staff was very friendly. Some of the bartenders would get a little cranky I thought and would not mix the drinks very well leaving lots of chunks of ice in the drinks (even after leaving a buck or two). I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 13, 2009

Won't be back

We went diving. The hotel is right at the reef so it is the perfect location. We won't be back to the Occidental. We experienced a 45 minute delay in getting our baggage delivered to the room and had to go back to the office and complain to finally get the bags delivered. The lunch selection was really bad .The room was as expected. We go to Cozumel every year. Next time we decide to use an all inclusive it will be the Aura. Regular resort will be the Intercontinental. Big no to the Occidental Not So Grand as they are not competitve

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go into Cozumel for dinner. Pepe's is real good. The hotel food is a joke.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigJer
Denver, CO
Nov 9, 2009

Not so Grand..........

This was my wife's and mine first real vacation in 20 years. While we had never gone to an all exclusive resort before, with the price we paid we did have some expectations. None of those were even remotely met. About the only thing we were really impressed with was the landscaping of the grounds. It was really beautiful and well kept up. The 6 Restaurants that are listed on their website were non-existent. There were 2 Ala Carte that you had to make reservations for, and 2 buffets. I am not to sure if this was because of the economy or not but I am willing to give them the benefit of the doubt on that. In addition, at their buffets, we saw plenty of foods were recycled between buffets for lunch and dinner. To top that off, who serves hot dogs, just plain hotdogs heated and cut up as a choice from a buffet, not to mention they made pizza with hot dogs on it. Most of the food was very dry and if you wanted to get any decent dessert you had to be one of the first ones in for lunch or dinner. The buffet options were often empty and very slow to be refilled. The rooms, at least ours, smelt of mildew. Once again, I can understand the climate being damp but the rooms in my opinion should not smell. The beds... we expected a king and received two fulls, were put on a list to get into a King room but never received a call, were hard as rocks. My wife and I will be going back to Cozumel again, however, we will not be staying at the Occidental Grand Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JonJack
GA
Jun 15, 2014

Mosquitos!!

The greatest issue I had with the trip is the location of this resort (20 min. away from town and over marsh land) and the fact that you had to wear "Off" mosquito repellant almost constantly because of the mosquito problem. The beds are also extremely firm, so if you have problems sleeping on these types of mattresses, bring extra support. The food was slightly better than average. The service was awesome and the staff was extremely attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brits Abroad
Superior, CO, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

Well, we booked this hotel for 5 nights over Thanksgiving break. We picked it deliberately because it has the only real sandy beach in the area- all the others have sand on the beach section where you sit, but as soon as you hit the water you are directly onto rock and coral reef- not fun on the feet at all! So we were definitely disappointed when on arrival we were told that they were having maintenance issues and could not accommodate us, so they put us in the hotel next door- which was the Iberostar- it was a nice hotel, but the rocks in the ocean really spoiled it for us. Also, we had booked a Grand Concierge option at the Occidental, which they did not offer at the Iberostar, so we felt we had been cheated out of our money for that. They told us to contact our travel agent for a refund for that part- surely they should given us some kind of credit instead- it isn't the fault of the travel agent. Any way- we still had a nice time. The guy at reception was nice enough and very apologetic. The location was peaceful. For the other parts of the rating I put average, as I did not get a chance to experience them so I just went with neutral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Awesome beach and diving opportunities. Very peaceful. Best for families or middle aged couples. Not great for singles hoping to have a Spring Break type vibe- thank goodness!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JonPenny
St. Louis
Jul 1, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel

We have been to this resort a few times and we mainly go to Scuba Dive. The place has gone down hill since our first visit. For Scuba Divers: We use to enjoy Palancar Divers and got to know quite a few of the Mexican dive masters over the years and could cut a deal on reduced price dives (as low as $26 a tank) depending on how many divers we were with. Palancar Divers has been replaced with an outfit staffed with Europeans and the lowest price you can get is $37 if you do 10 or more dives. Luckily the brother-in-law found a former Palancar dive master we knew that went independent (Pingo's Dive Center) and we basically ended up with private dives picked up at the resort pier for $29 a tank. If you need/want to dive in a large group and be led around like children and come up when to first person is low on air for more $ go with the current operator. Other wise, I would recommend finding one of the other operators (Dive Palancar still operates a good fleet of boats and will come to the pier and should still have a website). Also, I like to sail and the new outfit (Pro Dive) only had one Hobie Wave and it was broke for most of the stay. The other resort down the beach (Iberostar - where we have stayed before and may go back to) had three Hobies out every day. The food is just so-so and has lost quality. The fish for lunch was one of my favorites but this year it was served luke-warm to cold - not the way to go with grilled or breaded fish. Also, Ice-cream was no longer put out at the evening buffet. After this experience, we are going to consider the Occidental Allegro (we've been there too - larger with swim up bar, larger and more pools and larger beach) or the Iberostar (we've been to it also, beach is not as good as it has a lot of coral) We've stayed at several Iberostars and the quality always seemed good and consistent and they have a good prier to get picked up on and more Hobies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Apr 18, 2010

Occidental Grand Cozumel

First time at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel, but not the first time in Cozumel. The hotel layout was nice, the pools were nice, rooms were large. However there are a lot of sales people at the hotel due to half the hotel are time-shares. We had to find ways around the hotel to avoid sales people. The buffet selection was not as good as other hotels in the same class and after six days of eating the same breakfast and lunch, it tired very quickly. We are also big Coca Cola drinkers, and they only offered Pepsi products, mainly diet Pepsi. I do not plan on staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sdsd
Central, NJ
Jul 9, 2014

Not for the seasoned travel

I've been to much nicer hotels. The buffet food here isn't very good. The ground level rooms smell moldy and I heard the third level rooms are too hot. The front desk wasn't very helpful or accommodating for their resort's shortfalls and that's unacceptable. Book your activities outside of this resort on your own if you can, they charged us 10% above the normal rate on the activities they book for you on-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I heard the best attraction on the island other than ocean/diving/snorkling was the cave snorkling/diving offered. Wish I had a chance to check it out.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
Feb 19, 2010

occidental grand cozumel

Poor food, small room with uncomfortable beds. Room not cleaned every day. Very small tv-no cable so no channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search